We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly and efficent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bourgoensch Hof

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bourgoensch Hof to your Saves list
Hotel Bourgoensch Hof
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wollestraat 39, Bruges 8000, Belgium   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #49 of 101 Hotels in Bruges
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“friendly and efficent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I spent 4 days at the Bourgoensch Hof. Excellent value and friendly, helpful staff. Clean large room and it was perfectly placed to explore the city. Good breakfast in a lovely room overlooking th canal. They organised a trip for us and were always willing to ring for taxis.

Room Tip: We had a superior room - good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    162
    75
    16
    5
See reviews for
49
238
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Recently stayed for 2 nights at the Bourgoensch Hof and had a very good time. The hotel was perfectly situated to explore the city center and had good access to the Markt and canals .Rooms had tea making facilities plus hair dryer.Reception arranged a taxi to transfer us back to the station and staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfasts were a good standard and included cereals,fruit yogurts,cheese,meats,pastries and bread.Our rooms were very clean and beds comfortable.We were on the 3 rd floor which could be accessed by lift or stairs. We were given a map of the city plus money off vouchers for major attractions .The Segway Tour was great fun and would recommend this .The guide for this tour showed us where the "oldest pub" in Bruge was - we went there twice- great beers and quiche. The price of our stay was good value for money and we would be happy to return to this hotel. We had a great time .

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

I had booked two rooms as we were there for my Brothers 50th. We had rooms 301 and 302, both overlooking the canal at sub ground level. Of all the photos you see, these are the windows at the bottom of the building. Also had a single room for the nephew which was on the 3rd floor in a dormer, his view was to the hotel oposit it, but looking to the left he could easily see the canal.
Very easy check in.
The corridor to the rooms smelled a little musty, but given the age of the building and being next to the canal, I guess it was to be expected.
Our rooms were cold to start with, but after finding out how to turn up the radiators and plug in the electric radiator, they soon warmed up.
Lovely to be able to open the windows fully.
The door between the bathroom and bedroom was frosted glass, and the toilet was right by the door. So if you are sharing a room with anyone other than a close friend, be careful.
Decent telly on the wall, not that we watched much.
Free wi-fi which worked very well.
The bed was comfortable and there were enough pillows and an extra blanket for weight.
So out to the city which is on the door step, this hotel is so central for everything.
Breakfast, a typical continental offering, boiled eggs, juices, cheese, meats, pastries, coffee and hot water to make your own tea. Replenished when needed.
Checked out OK, and we left our bags to go shopping, even had a taxi ordered to take us to the station, which we could have walked in 18 minutes.
If we ever go back, this would be the hotel we would go back to.

Room Tip: Overlooking the canal is a must if you want to have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

You will not find a hotel better located within short walking distance of major attractions. The Market is 3 minutes away, the boat tours next door and all good restaurants nearby. We were in room 320 which had canal view at standard price. The view was stunning. The room was quite small, but had separate 'living area' and was clean and cosy. The staff were friendly and helpful, especially the young man on the reception desk. The breakfast buffet had a good selection of meat and cheese, all produce was very fresh. I would definitely recommend this hotel and I would stay there again.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullingar, Ireland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

stayed here for three nights with my wife for our first anniversary, hotel is ideally placed in the centre of bruges close to all attractions , the rooms are extremely small, breakfast was average and bar always empty, a struggle to get information from staff, overall very average hotel, their are nicer hotels for similiar price with same location such as martins.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Reading the room’s welcome pack I was somewhat surprised to learn that there would be a 25 Euro fine per item for any food taken out of the breakfast room. I think this was a first for any hotel I’ve stayed in and if you’re inclined to make up a sandwich for later in the day then this is not the place for you. In actuality, given that in our experience first the French bread and then the next day the croissants ran out by 10.00 despite service until 10.30 I’d suggest that this is more about inadequate supplies for breakfast rather than anything else.

Overall our room was OKish given how much time we were out. But we had very narrow single beds with horrible, rubbery mattress-protectors and the bedroom floor was all bare laminate. Very cold and unpleasant at this time of year. Either rugs or free slippers would improve matters no end!!

Overall, what this hotel has going for it is its location, just a moment or two from the central square, it needs some serious TLC. However, there is no shortage of pleasant- looking accommodation in Bruges and I’d look elsewhere if I returned.

Room Tip: Avoid 311!! It's between the hotel laundry room and a large store cupboard used by the hotel hou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JAllewaert1, Manager at Hotel Bourgoensch Hof, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Dear Tony,

Thank you for your review. We are constantly trying to better anticipate the breakfast needs and have been increasing the amount of breakfast items per guest in order to ensure they last until the end of service. But indeed we do request not to take breakfast items out of the breakfast room, to keep the full variety for the other guests without missing items like you've experienced unfortunately.

The room has hardwood flooring, not laminate, and to be honest nobody else has ever commented on it, on the contrary, most people say this like this feature. But nevertheless I appreciate your comment and will look into your suggestion by perhaps adding some rugs in the room.

Same applies for the rubbery mattress protectors, but perhaps if you would have mentioned this during your four nights' stay we could have found mattress protectors of a different material.

I really appreciate this kind of constructive criticism but I'm saddened that you did not mention this whilst you were here so we could prove our willingness to make your stay more pleasurable.

Let me know when you decide to visit Bruges again and I would love to show you our dedication to improvement ! :)

Kind regards,

Johannes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bourgoensch Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bourgoensch Hof

Address: Wollestraat 39, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#52 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bourgoensch Hof 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Bourgoensch Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bourgoensch Hof Hotel Bruges

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bourgoensch Hof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.