We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant- Really charming, great location, value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nicolas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bruges
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Nicolas
Save
You added Hotel Nicolas to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Niklaas Desparsstraat 9, Bruges 8000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #145 of 213 Bruges B&B and Inns
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Brilliant- Really charming, great location, value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

Really nice little hotel. The location is perfect, its right ontop of the main square, 2 mins walk from some of the main sights!

The family that run it are really friendly and helpful. The rooms are modest but definately nice enough. The price is very good for what you get and its includes a nice breakfast all for 55 euros a night. its a bargain!

With the helpfulness of the staff, the ease of the location, the price and a nice room, just cannot complain. Its not luxury, but its definately worth staying

Room Tip: Family run hotels are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    51
    16
    5
    2
See reviews for
14
49
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

Visited Brugge 6th to 9th May. Hotel meets all of the views expressed in other reviews: clean, staff very helpful and friendly, great location.
We had arranged a day trip to battlefields and so the lady who prepares the breakfast came in 30 mins early so that we could eat before the 'normal' breakfast time. All staff we met were very friendly and interested in helping us.
Room 201 at front was very noisy at night with bars open until 4am or 5am. Lots of noise from street as drinkers shouted on their way home every night.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Setubal, Portugal
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

Internet not available. TV available in 4 rooms, by request and extra 5€ / day. So what??!
In the heart of Bruges, super staff, very decent rooms (apart some noises from the floor) and basic breakfast for that price??! I bet it's the best value you'll ever find in Bruges!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

What more could you ask for? This hotel was a great value. The rooms were clean, although a little bit outdated. I'd rather take the value than have a modern place to sleep. Trust me, there is so much to do in Bruges, that you won't want to just hang out in your hotel.

The staff were just great. In fact the owners live in the hotel with their cute children, so it feels more like a BnB. The included breakfast they put out is just perfect to start the day. We really liked our stay here.

The only downfall if they have one is no free wireless internet. You can pay the expensive hotel next door a few euros for 24 hours of access if you need it though. Very easy to do.

I could have stayed here 4-5 days easily, but we were only in Bruges for a day.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

As we only stayed in Bruges for one night, the location couldn't have been better. Incredibly close to the Centre, just a few minutes walk from the Belfry. Room was basic but very clean and great value for money given the location. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. If you're going by car there is an underground car park just at the end of the street. WiFi internet access is available for a couple of Euros from the bigger hotel next door.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2010

Always our first choice of hotels when visiting Bruges. Lovely hosts, who cannot do more to help you, Clean rooms with en suite, fantastic location right by the main square, and the continental breakfast is more than adequate. Double room for 60 Euros a night with breakfast is a great price and i'm sure you will not find better!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

This is a hotel which makes you feel welcome & comfortable right from the start. And it's right off the main square but in a quiet street so you don't have to worry about noise.
My single room wasn't especially large but exuded well-being. I slept well & was very happy all through my stay.
Bruges has, sadly, sold its soul to the hordes of gawkers who come from all over Europe & the US. The town has lost its ambience but is still beautiful. Everything is super-pricey but remember, like all small towns, it has affordable eateries, grocery stores, and food chains (like Panos). The hotel won't tell you about them. Ask the locals.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Nicolas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nicolas

Address: Niklaas Desparsstraat 9, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #145 of 213 B&Bs / Inns in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Nicolas 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Nicolas Hotel Bruges

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nicolas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.