We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and Friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anselmus Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Anselmus Hotel to your Saves list
Anselmus Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Riddersstraat 15, Bruges 8000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 101 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Warm and Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

This hotel is a wonderful place to stay. It is situated near to the tourist centres but in a less busy street. The rooms are comfortable, well provided with facilities and comfortable beds and the breakfasts are fresh and offer a delicious variety.Some of the best coffee in Bruges? The owner, Ronny is so helpful -he ordered taxis and arranged a battlefield tour with speed and care. He even gave us a lift himself when there was a problem with a taxi! We will definitely return and will recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    128
    28
    3
    0
See reviews for
97
171
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

I stayed here recently for a couple of nights with my two sisters. We had a three bedded room which was spacious and comfortable. Ronnie(?) was a lovely host, good sense of humour. Breakfast was tasty (nice coffee) and the breakfast room/conservatory was nice with a lovely little courtyard garden. We found it to be friendly and relaxed, in a good location, walkable to everything in Bruges. Contrary to what someone said in a previous review, I don't think it could be better! For what we paid/location etc, it was perfect for us and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

They even packed us a breakfast because they knew we had an early morning train to catch. The morning breakfasts were above expectation and the attention to detail was refreshing. Thank for a great stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed for a weekend at the Anselmus Hotel in April. Welcomed by both husband and wife who run the hotel. Great central location with all of Bruges in walking distance. Spotlessly clean room & hotel throughout. Breakfast provided as part of our stay & more than enough choice of continental breakfast available, whilst seated in open and light breakfast room. Booked secure parking with the hotel directly & this was higher than expected at €18 per day. Would say to any further visitors whilst parking is secure it is expensive for the area, with a public car park nearby at approx half the cost. Overall great hotel, welcoming owners, clean facilities & would definitely stay again. Many thanks.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Very clean hotel in a superb position for walking to all the attractionel . We (self & wife) had room 24 which is at the back of the hotel. The room and bathroom are on the large size but to get to the room you have to negotiate a step spiral staircase (very narrow steps) so be aware if you struggle with stairs. Although at the back of the hotel the road can be noisy at night / early hours. No tea or coffee making facilities although we did read in the information pack in the room, on our last day, that we could have request this (it didn't state if this would attract an additional charge). Good breakfast served in nice breakfast room with usual continental choices with orange juice, tea or coffee.

One problem we found was the hand held shower, why they can't position a holder at a height which would allow the shower to be used correctly I don't know.

Bit pricy for what you get but I suppose when you compare with other hotels in Brugge it's fair!

Hope this help with you planning. Enjoy!

Room Tip: If you want tea/coffee making facilities ask for them on arrival!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed for two nights at this gorgeous hotel and were not disappointed whatsoever. Hotel owners are very friendly, helpful and have a good sense of humour. Our room was very spacious with a double plus a single, also with a couple of arm chairs, coffee table and t.v. Bathroom was quite small and offered a bath with a shower handset. So not quite like having a shower, but it was sufficient for the time we were there. Everything was clean and gleaming so no complaints. Breakfast (buffet) can be taken in the breakfast room which extends to a glass conservatory. Garden seating is available also if the weather permits. Good selection on offer and hosts attentive to your tea/coffee needs.What was also great about the Anselmus is it's location. Literally a five minute walk and you are in the square with the Belfry and only minutes from here you can access all the other beautiful sights. You just don't appreciate how small Bruge is until you are actually walking around it and realise that what seems a big distance on a map actually is merely sometimes a few strides along the quaint cobbled streets. Many restaurants on offer, situated along the canal ways or within the many different market squares around. Many shops offering Belgium chocolates and waffles dipped in chocolate are a must! For 39 Euro you can have a horse and carriage ride around Bruge complete with your driver giving a running commentary on the history set before you. This was one magical place we were pleased we have seen and staying at the Anselmus was like the icing on the cake.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

I stayed at the Hotel Anselmus for two nights. The owners were wonderful throughout: very helpful with all of my questions about touring in Bruges, restaurant choices, etc. The room was very clean, quiet, and quite large. Breakfast was served in a charming and sun-lit room with lovely gardens outside. The location is just perfect: close to the Markt and the Burg, but in a quiet residential area away from the tourist destinations. I will be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anselmus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anselmus Hotel

Address: Riddersstraat 15, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Bruges
#29 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Anselmus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Anselmus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anselmus Hotel Bruges

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anselmus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.