We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff & location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anselmus Hotel

Save Saved
You added Anselmus Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Anselmus Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Riddersstraat 15, Bruges 8000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 102 hotels in Bruges
Hermitage
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excellent staff & location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

This is an excellent, family run, three-star hotel. It is 5 minutes walk from the Market and Burg Squares. We were in room 1 on the first floor. The room looked out on the street but because it is a few steps above street level, we could leave the windows open with no problem.

Breakfast was served in a lovely winter garden. The selection was very good.

Free wifi. The rooms are not air conditioned which is typical for a European hotel such as this. I would note that our bathroom had a tub with a hand-held shower.

Ronny, the owner made excellent restaurant recommendations and provided us with a pass that saved money on entry fees to many museums and tours.

I would recommend taking a taxi from the station when you arrive. While Bruges is not large, until you get your bearings, it may be a bit confusing.

We would happily stay here again and recommend to our friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    198
    105
    23
    3
    0
See reviews for
75
147
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

A well located Botique hotel only blocks from the center of town, the Anselmus offers a delightful experience, with comfortable and immaculate rooms. The staircase upstairs is long and narrow, but that was no issue for us, as the staff brought our luggage upstairs, without being asked. We had a wonderful breakfast in a garden-like courtyard in the hotel. The only issue was that there was no AC in the rooms, however, with the fan on we had no problems. There was actually room enough for 4 people in our room(#12). The proprieter was very friendly, and offered us excellent advise on how to tour Bruges, as well as which restaurants to go to.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The owner spoke good English and was very helpful. He arranged a taxi to get us to the station at the end of our stay. He also provided information for eating out and the list he gave was invaluable. We had a room overlooking the courtyard which was lovely. The breakfast was plentiful - though we had the usual hotel problem of the toaster being slow and awkward to use! The stairs are steep but we knew it was an old house so expected that. It is in a good position - only a few minutes from the market square.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Comfortable family run hotel in excellent location. Nice breakfast room with doors to patio area. Our room was extremely hot and we were provided with a fan which resolved the problem. I would recommend air con in and for the proprietor to wear deodorant.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The Anselmus is quite a nice hotel just a few minutes walk from the market square so the location is excellent. The room was comfortable and there was room for my family of 4 to stay in one room. Be prepared to carry your bags up a steep staircase and if you cannot best to request rooms on the ground floor.
The breakfast was very good and the coffee excellent. Bruges is a small city and with the map provided at check in you can walk the entire city in a day or two. The staff was pleasant enough but we didn't really see them very often as you can spend the day just sitting in the cafes of Bruges sipping coffee or beer.
The wifi was fast enough for our uses and the hotel has a cozy, comfortable feel. It was very relaxing to come back and close enough to come and go often.
Two small things: as mentioned previously the shower is really a bath so you need to hold the shower head and manually shower. Also, there is a bar or cafe nearby and people tend to party late and we could hear them until around 2am. In the warm weather you must keep the windows open to keep the room cool so i recommend some earplugs or maybe ask for a fan in the room.
Overall i can highly recommend the Anselmus Hotel just for the location alone but its also comfortable and has alot of charm.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This hotel is very unique and already I wanted to stay here but until recently I did, I booked a room earlier, staff speak good English and German, nice and relaxed at home, I got a really nice room, the food delicious and the price average but not cheap but worth it, I recommend a super nice and friendly place

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilversum, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for one night only but were very happy with the size and cleanliness of the room, the comfortable beds and free WiFi. Although the bathroom was a good size, a door a bit more solid than the simple folding door and a shower head fixed on the wall would add to the comfort. Although the room had no air-conditioning we didn't suffer too much by opening the windows during the night. The breakfast was very good indeed with choices not normally offered with a continental breakfast. The location of the hotel is excellent with a very short walk away from the very heart of Bruges and also easily reached on foot from the major very reasonably priced parking garages. Although the hotel is well-secured late at night, entry during the day should perhaps be better monitored. All in all, a very pleasant stay and I do not hesitate to recommend this hotel to other visitors to this beautiful city.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Anselmus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anselmus Hotel

Also Known As:
Anselmus Hotel Bruges
Address: Riddersstraat 15, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Bruges
#32 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Anselmus Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel and Venere so you can book your Anselmus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anselmus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.