We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent botique hotel in Bruges” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anselmus Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Anselmus Hotel to your Saves list
Anselmus Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Riddersstraat 15, Bruges 8000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 99 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
new york
Level Contributor
117 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“excellent botique hotel in Bruges”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

A well located Botique hotel only blocks from the center of town, the Anselmus offers a delightful experience, with comfortable and immaculate rooms. The staircase upstairs is long and narrow, but that was no issue for us, as the staff brought our luggage upstairs, without being asked. We had a wonderful breakfast in a garden-like courtyard in the hotel. The only issue was that there was no AC in the rooms, however, with the fan on we had no problems. There was actually room enough for 4 people in our room(#12). The proprieter was very friendly, and offered us excellent advise on how to tour Bruges, as well as which restaurants to go to.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tenniseyeguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The owner spoke good English and was very helpful. He arranged a taxi to get us to the station at the end of our stay. He also provided information for eating out and the list he gave was invaluable. We had a room overlooking the courtyard which was lovely. The breakfast was plentiful - though we had the usual hotel problem of the toaster being slow and awkward to use! The stairs are steep but we knew it was an old house so expected that. It is in a good position - only a few minutes from the market square.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beattie2409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Comfortable family run hotel in excellent location. Nice breakfast room with doors to patio area. Our room was extremely hot and we were provided with a fan which resolved the problem. I would recommend air con in and for the proprietor to wear deodorant.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jambo_Jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The Anselmus is quite a nice hotel just a few minutes walk from the market square so the location is excellent. The room was comfortable and there was room for my family of 4 to stay in one room. Be prepared to carry your bags up a steep staircase and if you cannot best to request rooms on the ground floor.
The breakfast was very good and the coffee excellent. Bruges is a small city and with the map provided at check in you can walk the entire city in a day or two. The staff was pleasant enough but we didn't really see them very often as you can spend the day just sitting in the cafes of Bruges sipping coffee or beer.
The wifi was fast enough for our uses and the hotel has a cozy, comfortable feel. It was very relaxing to come back and close enough to come and go often.
Two small things: as mentioned previously the shower is really a bath so you need to hold the shower head and manually shower. Also, there is a bar or cafe nearby and people tend to party late and we could hear them until around 2am. In the warm weather you must keep the windows open to keep the room cool so i recommend some earplugs or maybe ask for a fan in the room.
Overall i can highly recommend the Anselmus Hotel just for the location alone but its also comfortable and has alot of charm.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hushades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
96 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This hotel is very unique and already I wanted to stay here but until recently I did, I booked a room earlier, staff speak good English and German, nice and relaxed at home, I got a really nice room, the food delicious and the price average but not cheap but worth it, I recommend a super nice and friendly place

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oleczek1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilversum, The Netherlands
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for one night only but were very happy with the size and cleanliness of the room, the comfortable beds and free WiFi. Although the bathroom was a good size, a door a bit more solid than the simple folding door and a shower head fixed on the wall would add to the comfort. Although the room had no air-conditioning we didn't suffer too much by opening the windows during the night. The breakfast was very good indeed with choices not normally offered with a continental breakfast. The location of the hotel is excellent with a very short walk away from the very heart of Bruges and also easily reached on foot from the major very reasonably priced parking garages. Although the hotel is well-secured late at night, entry during the day should perhaps be better monitored. All in all, a very pleasant stay and I do not hesitate to recommend this hotel to other visitors to this beautiful city.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anton T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level Contributor
133 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed in two rooms for a long weekend and were very impressed by the central location and the friendliness of the staff. The rooms were immaculately clean and the breakfast was good, especially the delicious pastries and muffins.

There are a couple of areas for improvement; the shower is not fixed to the wall so you have to hold it over your head, there is no shower screen so it is quite easy to get the bathroom floor really wet and also there is no fan or a/c.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Bruges but if you have any mobility issues ask for a room on the ground floor as the stairs are extremely narrow and steep (which is common for Bruges).

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank midlandsgnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#15 of 99 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 stars 1,668 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.4 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#10 of 99 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 stars 699 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jan Brito
Hotel Jan Brito
#31 of 99 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 stars 1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anselmus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anselmus Hotel

Address: Riddersstraat 15, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Bruges
#30 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Anselmus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Anselmus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anselmus Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing