We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable accommodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anselmus Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Anselmus Hotel to your Saves list
Anselmus Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Riddersstraat 15, Bruges 8000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 101 Hotels in Bruges
Hilversum, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Comfortable accommodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for one night only but were very happy with the size and cleanliness of the room, the comfortable beds and free WiFi. Although the bathroom was a good size, a door a bit more solid than the simple folding door and a shower head fixed on the wall would add to the comfort. Although the room had no air-conditioning we didn't suffer too much by opening the windows during the night. The breakfast was very good indeed with choices not normally offered with a continental breakfast. The location of the hotel is excellent with a very short walk away from the very heart of Bruges and also easily reached on foot from the major very reasonably priced parking garages. Although the hotel is well-secured late at night, entry during the day should perhaps be better monitored. All in all, a very pleasant stay and I do not hesitate to recommend this hotel to other visitors to this beautiful city.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    120
    27
    3
    0
See reviews for
89
162
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed in two rooms for a long weekend and were very impressed by the central location and the friendliness of the staff. The rooms were immaculately clean and the breakfast was good, especially the delicious pastries and muffins.

There are a couple of areas for improvement; the shower is not fixed to the wall so you have to hold it over your head, there is no shower screen so it is quite easy to get the bathroom floor really wet and also there is no fan or a/c.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Bruges but if you have any mobility issues ask for a room on the ground floor as the stairs are extremely narrow and steep (which is common for Bruges).

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This is a lovely, immaculately clean, welcoming hotel. The hotel is conveniently located just a few short blocks from the center of town. Its rooms are nicely decorated, exceptionally clean, and extremely comfortable, and the hotel offers a generous buffet breakfast served in a lovely courtyard with an adjoining indoor room. The hotel has the feel of old world splendor, and you note this the moment you arrive there.

As nice as the hotel is, what is most impressive, however, is the kindness and character of the owner. He is a gentleman who will go out of his way to accommodate you and make sure you're happy. My husband, son, and I were there a few days ago, and my son left his wallet on the window sill in our room. We had walked to the bus stop to get the bus to take us to the train station for our return to Brussels. As we were boarding the bus, the owner suddenly appeared, out of breath, after having run from the hotel to catch us: In his hand was my son's wallet. You can't ask for more than that. I highly recommend Anselmus!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed in the hotel as a family of 6 (we had 2 triple rooms) and couldn't have been happier with the hotel and services provided. The rooms were immaculate and comfortable and there was a beautiful courtyard garden in which you could eat breakfast. The breakfast was plentiful, delicious and varied. The owners were welcoming and very helpful. They provided maps with great walking routes of Brugge and other suggestions for places to visit/eat in the city. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend the hotel and had a fantastic break.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Hotel was a good location,basic but very clean bed was comfy and pillows ok ,but there was no air con and it was so hot ,even with the window open you were getting all the noise from the hostel round the corner till late ,we didn't sleep well . We did get a fan from the owner which did help slightly . I wouldn't go back to this hotel , for this reason

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Very nice, clean hotel. Friendly, helpful staff. Generous, tasty included breakfast large generous buffet. Would stay again. Would recommend to others. We had never been in Brugge before, the owners were very helpful in guiding us to sites to visit and restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

A lovely family run business with real attention to customer service. Personable with a capital "P".
Immaculately clean rooms throughout, what you need without unnecessary and unused "frills".
Breakfast is a relaxed and generous joy.
Coming and going when you want is both secure and convenient.
The location is a pleasant and short walk from the hub of the main square.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor, at the front of the hotel, rooms 1 and 2. The windows open onto the str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anselmus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anselmus Hotel

Address: Riddersstraat 15, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Bruges
#25 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Anselmus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Anselmus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anselmus Hotel Bruges

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anselmus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.