We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, lovely and great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oud Huis de Peellaert

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Oud Huis de Peellaert to your Saves list
Oud Huis de Peellaert
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hoogstraat 20, Bruges 8000, Belgium   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 101 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Convenient, lovely and great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We visited this hotel for 3 nights begining of November and found the reception staff helpful. Arriving on a very wet day, our room was available earlier than expected which was a bonus. The room at the back of the hotel, quiet, comfortable and very warm, underfloor heating wonderful. A very slight complaint was that it was a bit too warm even though we turned heating down, but could open window.
Location was excellent, ideal for market square and comfortable walking distance to anywhere you need to go in Bruges, which is a beautify and friend place.
Lovely breakfast in nice bright room and friendly staff.

Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: If you are concerned about being on a main road ask for room at rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    262
    60
    19
    9
See reviews for
96
438
13
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

At first glance the hotel looked really special and luxurious. The location itself fantastic as it was close to the city centre. But coming to the room I was a bit dissapointed that the room was very small, so you could hardly get your suitcase to the other side of the room. The room itself was rather plain, but cosy enough. The good side was that the bathroom contained nice LOccitane products, but not much more. The breakfast was sufficient, but containing only elementary stuff like eggs (were a bit cold), ham, cheese, different kinds of jams, yogurt etc. Not as exuberant as I expected. Overall nice and cosy but not over the head. OK for a short business stay, where you spend most of your time out of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Beautiful public rooms, very nice room, comfy king bed, nice toiletries, excellent, excellent, excellent breakfast.....let me repeat that. eXCELLENT breakfast. I was sorry we could only spend the night.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Like all of Bruges, this does not come cheap. There may also be much better value banb places if you look for them. That said, this is a comfortable, clean, quiet and very friendly spot at the heart of town. Breakfast is terrific. So too are the roof top views from the upper floors on the south side. At some point this has been an extraordinary private house, and some of the details are amazing. Check out the art nouveau fireplace in the ground floor toilet!! Some good bars only 15 mins walk away, but avoid the ones in the centre. Ludicrous rip off prices. Great beer at half the price if you look.....

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I've been visiting Bruges for over 30 years, enjoying the Flemish cuisine and beer. As you can imagine, I've stayed in a lot of hotels in the city. This is a particularly fine example of some of the top rate hotels available. Well appointed rooms with every convenience. I found the staff conspicuously enthusiastic and helpful. The breakfast was great and in really pleasant surroundings. Well done Oud Huis De Peellaert, and highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kessingland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a short break in Bruges during which we stayed at the excellent Oud Huis de Peellaert, right in the centre of this beautiful city.
We've made several visits to the city over the last decade and have stayed in a fair selection of good class hotels during these visits. This hotel compares very favourably with anywhere else we've stayed and we found it to be on a comparable level with the Hotel Tuilerieen, which remains one of our absolute favourites.
What really made the Hotel de Peellaert stand out over other similar grade hotels was the fact that (booked through Eurostar) it represented exceptional value for money compared to others, which were anything up to 50% more expensive.
Although ultimately there were some issues with our stay, we had nothing but praise for the hotel itself or the levels of service provided.
We booked an executive room (room 207) which was situated at front of the hotel on the second floor. The room was great....Very spacious with good quality furnishings and lovely high ceilings, very comfortable beds, a small seating area with flat screen TV, plenty of storage space, fridge and mini-bar, safety deposit box (with no extra charge), a large French balcony overlooking the street from which, with a bit of neck craning, the bell tower could be seen and a large well equipped and spotless bathroom.
The public areas of the hotel are sumptuously furnished and beautifully decorated in a style befitting the old merchant house from which the hotel has grown.
The breakfast room was a large elegant and airy room opening out onto the courtyard garden at the rear at the rear of the hotel, where and excellent hot and cold buffet was served.
The service in the hotel was excellent. Before we arrived I had read reviews suggesting that the reception staff were a little lacking in politeness and attentiveness. This certainly wasn't our experience and we found the reception staff to be polite, friendly and exceptionally helpful throughout our short stay. It was thanks to them that we had bookings at two excellent restaurants, which otherwise we wouldn't have discovered (and one of which we definitely wouldn't have got a table).
The location of the hotel is very central and excellent for all the main sites.
After all this praise, I should explain why I can only give the hotel 4 stars instead of the five it possibly should deserve.
As several other reviewers have mentioned, there is an issue with noise from the Bar/Youth hostel opposite the hotel. Our room was at the front of the hotel, directly opposite this premises, which is called "Charlie Rockets" and consists of a bar/night club, an Italian restaurant and a youth hostel on the floors over the two. Although we slept well the first night of our stay, on the second we were kept awake on and off until 5am by the noise of people standing outside the front of the bar drinking.
I spoke to the night porter about the noise at 4am. He was sympathetic, saying that the bar was supposed to keep the doors of the premises closed and people inside (which they clearly weren't doing!). He promised to go over the road and speak to the manager but whether or not he did I don't know but the noise continued for another hour after this.
The following morning the reception staff, who I got the impression were used to complaints about this issue, repeated what the night porter had said about the premises but had clearly been fobbed of with an excuse from the bars manager, that the noise had been caused by a group of people arriving late at the bar. This wasn't the case from what we saw.
In some respect it seems harsh to criticise the hotel for something which not directly in their hands as in every other respect the hotel is excellent, however there is nothing like bad nights sleep to spoil a short break like this and the hotel need to focus their attention on resolving this issue otherwise more customers will be put off.
Bruges is generally a quiet city at night, which makes the presence of this bar opposite an otherwise excellent and well placed hotel all the more unfortunate.
On the whole I would have no problem recommending the Oud Huis de Peellaert, which is a very fine and good value hotel, but I would strongly suggest that anyone choosing it avoid getting a hotel at the front of the building.

Room Tip: Avoid a room at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed for a couple of nights at this hotel back in June. We had not planned the trip with much anticipation, so the Oud Huis seemed to be a good choice given the availability at the time.

The good:

- The hotel is just 5 minutes walk from Grote Markt. We went walking from the station upon arrival (not recommended if you carry heavy lugagge, took us ~25 mins). The alternative is to take a bus, which takes about 15 mins and costs 2 euro if bought on the bus.

- Our room was spacious, and overall it was ok. The bathroom seemed to have been renovated recently, and toiletries by L'Occitane were one of the highlights.

- Having read a few reviews in which TA members complained about the noise from the hostel across the road, I was concerned that this might be an issue. However, we got a room in the main building that faced the inner parking lot, and heard no noises at all.

- Breakfast was included in the price that we had paid, and it lived up to our expectations. Variety was good, and everything was fresh.


The not-so-good:

- Safe was not working. I did not complain about this, as we were staying just for a couple of nights, but I don't expect to find this kind of issues in a hotel of this category.

- Wi-fi signal does not reach the rooms with enough strength. There were several times in which I could not find the network with an iphone 5 (iphone 4s seemed to work a bit better in this sense).

- Same as in other hotels that we stayed in in Belgium, sound proofing was quite bad and loud noises from other rooms could be heard.

- Access to our room and to the breakfast area was not step-free. This is a major issue if you are using a wheelchair or a stroller (as it was in our case), because you need to lift it every time that you go through those 3-4 steps.

- Reception staff were cold and mechanical. I was several times near the front desk, and I'm sorry to say that I never saw a smile in the ladies sitting there.

Overall, the hotel seems to be overrated to some extent, but then again everyone is different. I guess that in the end, the price that you manage to get will have a big impact in the overall satisfaction.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Oud Huis de Peellaert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oud Huis de Peellaert

Address: Hoogstraat 20, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Bruges
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#26 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#30 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oud Huis de Peellaert 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Oud Huis de Peellaert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oud Huis De Peellaert Hotel Bruges
Oud Huis De Peellaert Bruges

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oud Huis de Peellaert, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.