We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quaint Hotel in a central location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of De Castillion Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added De Castillion Hotel to your Saves list
De Castillion Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Heilige Geeststraat 1, Bruges B-8000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 101 Hotels in Bruges
Solihull, UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A quaint Hotel in a central location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

A lovely hotel with an enclosed front courtyard, small reception, bar and sitting room. The breakfast room at the rear was bright and well presented. Breakfast was varied although the cooked food could have benefited from a little more heat.

Our double room was lovely - at the front of the hotel - the building is old and the floors are timber suspended so expect some noise from upstairs occupiers.

Overall a very good central location with some excellent restaurants and bistros nearby.

Room Tip: Upper floor if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    36
    20
    20
    8
See reviews for
18
77
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Whilst the friendliness and service of the front desk was top notch unfortunately the bedrooms let down this well situated hotel. The carpet was dirty (no excuse for this) with hair etc from previous occupier. The bed cover had several stains on it, clearly had not been changed. There was a broken pane of glass in the bedroom window and the lampshades were threadbare. TV was archaic. Sadly this gave the room an air of staying at Granny's house, quaint but not what you would expect from a hotel charging these prices.

The bathroom was of a good standard but you need to spend some money updating the bedrooms.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gent
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I stayed a few days for business reasons. The room was noisy. When another customer went to the bathroom, he seemed to have him in bed. The furnishings look like the ones Grandma's version but poor way. I had to leave the hotel one day before the due and the owner wanted the payment of the total stay (150 EUR) claiming that he had to pay agency fees. Normally leave only the cost to the agency. Certainly not worth the asking price. I can only say that it is not 'the proper way to do business .......... false and courteous.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillensberg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We booked our room "blind" on Hotwire where we specified "city center" and 4-star and only paid $120 per night at the De Castillion in a deluxe room. Once we arrived we saw that the walk-in price for the same room was more than double what we paid. I have stayed in nicer hotels, but for the money we paid this was a good deal. The hotel has been called "dated" in earlier reviews, but it is about perspective... It is a charming hotel with old fittings and furniture that I think are appropriate for the overall ambiance. Our deluxe room (#15) was a walk up 2 floors of spiral staircases (we are young so we didn't mind) The room was spilt level with the large bathroom up 3 steps in the room. Their was no tub, but the fitting were updated and the shower was jetted with about 25 different water nozzles. The toiletries provided were of a premium brand and our dog was allowed in the room with us. The bed in the room was okay, but new a new mattress and updated bedding would greatly improve the overall experience. The walls are pretty thin, so you can hear what going on down the hall, but it was quiet at night and didn't disturb us. The church is steps away, so when the bells start tolling, you can definitely hear it in the room. The breakfast buffet (included in our room price) was delicious and offered plenty of variety. The staff were extremely helpful and even recommended a parking garage around the corner that was only 8 euro a day instead of parking us on the hotel's property for 24 euro per night. The best thing about this hotel is the location... Steps away from the shopping street and the historic centrum we easily navigated the entire city (with the help of a map provided at reception) on the first night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

The hotel is located in a beautiful property and very close to the main attractions of Bruges. I made the booking, but for sure i had no idea how the room was small. It was probably the smallest room i've ever stayed in my life. Furthermore, to reach the room you had to go through a maze of passages and stairs. Surely it was a very odd and funny experience. However, the main problem was the fact that every day, too early, I woke up hearing the bell of several churches frantically ringing in my ears. It was not a good experience at all.
I believe, however, this problem affects many hotels located in the same area. Despite everything, I think it is a good option to stay in Bruges. They have a gentle staff, the rooms have a good bed and the place is quite calm at night.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Good location, only a short walk to main market square and from there to all other sights of interest. Friendly, helpful staff. Clean, good-sized bedroom, excellent bathroom. Good buffet breakfast, plenty of choice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Nice hotel and staff. Very good located. Next to down town Brugge and 10 minutes walking to the train station. Excellent place for having dinner, although expensive. However, rooms are on a very good rate according to the quality offered.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to De Castillion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Castillion Hotel

Address: Heilige Geeststraat 1, Bruges B-8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — De Castillion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your De Castillion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De Castillion
De Castillion Bruges

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Castillion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.