We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cordoeanier

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cordoeanier to your Saves list
Hotel Cordoeanier
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cordoeaniersstraat 16 - 18, Bruges B 8000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 101 Hotels in Bruges
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“One night stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night and that was a Sunday so we didn't get the chance to benefit from the cafe rose red which is part of the hotel as it closes early on Sunday.
Overall the hotel is handy for Bruges centre and the staff are polite. The rooms are functional so what more can you ask for.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    439
    112
    22
    9
See reviews for
184
382
34
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aldridge
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

The location of this hotel has to be a major winning point - It is round the corner from one of the best eating and drinking establishments in the city - BierHaus Cambrinus - and a really short walk form the main Burg and square. TO BE FAIR - EVERYTHING IN BRUGES IS WITHIN WALKING DISTANCE!

The desk clerk made me smile, as on arrival I offered to show him all our papers and passports, to which he replied" No worries, we are not the police," indicative of the general laid-back attitude of the Belgian foll we encountered.

The room was adequate for the four of us, beds very extra comfy! As previously stated in some reviews the bathroom is tiny... there is little opportunity for privacy - but we were ok with that - but it would probably put mo off staying there again. Having said that. breakfast was plentiful and offered freshly cooked scrambled egg and bacon as well as the usual continental stuff - fresh coffee was divine!

The added bonus of the lovely Cafe Rose Red next to the lobby is extremely convenient - our kids - aged 16 and 7 - went to bed and we could stay downstairs for a drink! The guy behind the bar is more than happy to offer recommendations dfor you - and the pouring of a drink is a real ceremony - with each drink having its own special glass.

Service was unfailingly friendly - room was clean, comfortable and with very little noise. If you are fine with the size of the bathroom there really are no drawbacks.

As for Bruges itself - we loved it - wide open spaces, fab places to eat -(see other reviews_ and enough attractions to fill 3 days with ease - after all its a holiday - a 2-3 hour lunch - an afternoon coffee and cake - beer before dinner - what's not to like!

The atmosphere of the place is calming and friendly - a great city to simply chill out - eat chocolate and drink beer! we liked it so much we are thinking of going back for the new year celebrations. Total class - from start to finish!

"Die IN Bruges" - in your dreams! ( sorry - you'll only get this if you've seen the film!)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent a very good period in this hotel,
the staff was allways very kind and available.
The breakfast in the morning have allways been very good and abundant in a very confortable hall which is also a cafeterie at night where you can dring bear and hot drinks.
I read lot of review complaning for the room beeing too small but i think that they were big enough for two people and but i don't think this is a big problem since who goes to Brugges doesnt get there to spend the day in the room.
the bed was confortable and the room with a good light and silent.
The toilet was clean and spacius, also the bedroom was clean apart under the bed where i checked the last day to see if i forgot something and there was quite a lot of dust.
Apart from that i would surely suggest this hotel also for the very very central position (3 min from the central square!).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

hotel is at the quite good location. The rooms are quite small without the storage facilities. Bathrooms door was only sliding and there was no privacy. The service was not very nice. We were not very satisfied.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg, IL
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is the second time staying at this hotel- the first time was before the renovations. The Red Rose Cafe is a nice addition and is a great place to end your evening. We stayed in a deluxe triple room on the ground floor and had plenty of space for our luggage and really appreciated the easy access to outlets to recharge our electronics overnight. Breakfast buffet was varied and plentiful no matter what time we ate.

If you are looking for a good value, centrally located hotel this fits the bill. Wouldn't hesitate to stay again. My only complaint is that for 150Eu a night, I didn't really expect to have to provide my own bar of soap in the bathroom.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We had a great fun at Bruges. Our stay at the hotel was simply excellent mostly thanks to the great staff, great pub at the very hotel which at the end we voted for the best in Bruges and absolutely great garden in the sun...The room was spacious and comfy. Location of the hotel is so great just a minute from the main square and half a minute from the Chocolate museum. Breakfast is also OK but then the staff and their kindness to us was unbelievable. On our last night we were checking out as we had to catch early train to Brussels. As they understood that we would leave before breakfast they made as lunch boxes with sandwiches, fruit, juices and cakes to take with us.

Room Tip: Best pub in town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Let's get this out of the way.... This hotel is a "2-star" property, with no elevator, above a bar. Those expecting the Hilton need to move on.

However, if you are looking for a modest room about 1 block off the historic market square of this very historic city, this property is one of the best values in Bruges. A great breakfast buffet in included (though the 8am to 10am hours are a bit tight for those departing early or sleeping late). The hotel staff was very accommodating on helping us find electric adapters (Belgium and France utilize yet a different plug from much of the rest of Europe), borrowing an alarm clock, and evening completing several loads of laundry.

After your day is over, stopping in at the Red Rose pub to sample a few of Belgiums fine beers was a great deal of fun and an opportunity to chat with other tourists and locals, picking up tips for the next day. The bartenders/waiters were great and very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cordoeanier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cordoeanier

Address: Cordoeaniersstraat 16 - 18, Bruges B 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Bruges
#35 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Cordoeanier 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Hotel Cordoeanier is a stunning 2-star hotel located in the heart of the mediaeval town of Bruges." Hotel Cordoeanier is centrally located in a quiet side street close to the market, at the heart of the mediaeval town of Bruges, which is also called the Venice of the North. The homely atmosphere as well as a personal and warm reception heartily welcomes guests to this oasis of rest. The hotel has 22 rooms, including 2 luxury rooms which are on the ground floor. The comfortably furnished rooms can accommodate up to 4 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Cordoeanier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cordoeanier Hotel Bruges

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cordoeanier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.