We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Koen & Annemiene Dieltens

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bruges
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Koen & Annemiene Dieltens
Save
You added Koen & Annemiene Dieltens to your Saves list
Waalsestraat 40, Bruges 8000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 213 Bruges B&B and Inns
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great stat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

A good location away from the main traffic but close enough to walk to all of the major attractions. The house was cozy and quite, and the host very friendly. Highly recommend stating here. Traveling though Europe with our two teenage children, this is just what we were looking for.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
16
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

A beautiful room, gracious hosts and lively (international) conversation around the breakfast table—this is what we found at this delightful B&B. A terrific home base from which to enjoy Bruges, and bike rides through the surrounding area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed at the Dieltiens' B&B for two evenings this past February. It was recommended in the Rick Steves' guidebook, and I was not disappointed! Koen and Annemie are incredibly warm and very helpful! The room was beautifully furnished, clean and cozy - very much like a lovely guest room in a cottage! The breakfast was more than generous, I thought, and it was lovely to be able to enjoy conversation with the hosts, as well as the other guests. The location is within walking distances of all of the major sites, as well as restaurants, etc. A very enjoyable, relaxing stay!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights on a recent weekend. The couple who run this B&B were not in when we arrived but they emailed us detailed instructions beforehand about how to get in and settled in our room which was very easy. The room was lovely and had a lot of character. I admired the beautiful old wood floors and ceiling beams. It was very clean. When we met them in the morning at breakfast, they were both very warm. It is a quick walk to all of the main sites.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We had just come from 5 days at Westviolet Amsterdam (read our review) when we arrived at Dieltens,for 4 nights, so it was natural that comparisons were made. We have to say that comparisons do not favour Dieltens, particularly in respect to breakfasts. The 24/7 food policy and “what can we buy you today” at Westviolet morphed into one roll and one pastry placed on your plate, together with half a small glass of fruit juice. There was also bread and spreads that you could help yourself to as well as muesli and yogurt. On our second morning there was no muesli because “the shop had run out”. Hello is there only one type of muesli or cereal that we are allowed to eat? Breakfast was from 8.15 to 9.30 and outside those hours this room was clearly off limits.
We were met on arrival by Annemie who gave us a quick and efficient introduction. She also checked in at breakfast to make sure everything was okay but this was the limit of the interaction with any from the family.
Dieltens is in a centuries old house that has been well restored. Room service appeared to be somewhat haphazard. Our bathroom was not cleaned and the cups used to make hot drinks in the bedroom remained unwashed for the whole of our stay. The standard of the room was excellent. We had a room overlooking the road, and although a bit noisy during the day, noise was not a problem at nights.
The TV seemed to have cable TV as there was Discovery channel but there were no English speaking news channels such as CNN or BBC. I don’t consider that is too much to expect.
The situation is excellent being close to the old centre of Bruges with many eating places nearby.
If you choose a B & B because you want to try and replicate the experience, of sharing a local home, then maybe Dieltens is not for you.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfred Station, NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

The host and hostess are charming and helpful. The home is furnished with antiques. Breakfast was served around a lovely dining room table and was complete and delicious. Our room was delightfully furnished, of good size and with a lovely view. The location of this B and B makes it possible to walk any place within Bruges and if you arrive by train, you may take a bus from the train station and get off within a 5 minute walk of the house. This is a nice home away from home!

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor - at the top of the stairs to the left --- the room overlooking the cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VICENZA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

This is a charming small bed and breakfast that is conveniently situated in a very quiet setting, however at a less than 10 minutes walking distance from the two major squares of the city.
There is a garage nearby where you can safely park your car (and forget about it for the time of your stay) at a very reasonable day price. The house is beautifully decorated by the owners, a lovely couple, with great taste for art and detail. The atmosphere is that of a Flemish traditional house. Our room was cozy and quiet, overlooking a walled in garden. Owners do speak several languages, and were helpful with hints for things to see and do in the city.
We hope we will be back someday!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Koen & Annemiene Dieltens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koen & Annemiene Dieltens

Address: Waalsestraat 40, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 213 B&Bs / Inns in Bruges
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koen & Annemiene Dieltens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.