We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Value Stay with 5 Star Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Van Eyck

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Van Eyck to your Saves list
Hotel Van Eyck
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Korte Zilverstraat 7, Bruges 8000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 101 Hotels in Bruges
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Top Value Stay with 5 Star Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Perfectly located, top value economical Hotel, with personality and a 5 star plus Host who loves her job, offering a clean, ample sleeping en-suite accommodation, including a good self-service breakfast spread, in the centre of Brugge or Bruges.

Although street or on-site parking is not available, the hotel can arrange secure underground parking, across the street, nearly opposite the hotel's front door.

Within walking distance of every type of restaurant, tavern, trattoria, as well all the tourist sites.

Room Tip: Top floor room 6 overlooks the beautiful Belfry tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    84
    25
    10
    6
See reviews for
29
82
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Simple, charming hotel with basic private amenities and a few peculiarities typical of an old house. Steep stairs to all rooms. Nice breakfast. Located on a less traveled side street near the main square. An excellent location for visiting the city. Reasonable rates, excellent overall value. Mrs. Rycker, the proprietress-hostess, is a genuinely gracious, helpful, kind person - so kind, I think she just may be an angel, operating this hotel while she does "Earth duty".

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Great location and price. The host was warm and helpful, gave us a lot of useful information. The room was tidy but didn't look very clean probably because of its age. The staircase is a challenge to anyone who might need their big luggage in the room, otherwise it'd be fine to be placed in the luggage room. Not recommended to anyone who have difficulty climbing stairs.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This place may not be 5* or even a 5 excellent score on here but we think it's lovely.

Just the wife and me this time: room 7, so up more of the old stairway to heaven. Room as before a bit dark/dim and with a coloured decor I'd not have chosen for myself (purple mostly). Three more nights booked for December.

Owner and breakfast are the reasons we return and the fact that the price is keener for what you get compared to anywhere else we've stayed in Brugge. We visit Brugge for the bars and walks: the hotel is just a place to shower, sleep and store whatever the wife has bought in the shops, so we don't require a lounge area, writing tables and comfy chairs (good job cos there aren't any). There is a small waiting area by the front door if you must sit in your hotel, but brugges has so much to offer surely no one stays put in the hotel they've booked?

Come and have a look for yourselves.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

My wife and I only stayed for one night on our two day trip to Brugge, but glad we chose to stay at this quaint hotel just minutes from the Markt. Mareille was a lovely hostess, very warm and helpful. Her sightseeing advice and discount card were much appreciated. Good breakfast and she let us keep our bags at the hotel after checkout so we could do more things, and then called a taxi for us and gave us a big hug goodbye! Thank you, Mareille, for making our first trip to Brugge a memorable one!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We really liked the location and the price for this hotel. It is right around the corner from the main shopping streets, and is just a 5-minute walk to the main town square. The breakfast is great, with a variety for every taste, including meats and cheeses, pastries, fresh fruit, yogurt, muesli, cakes, and a slew of teas. And of course coffee for the caffeine addicts.

The hotel is 18th century, and has an impressive wooden spiral staircase leading up to the rooms. This is not a staircase for anyone who has trouble going up and down. The age of the stairs causes them to lean a little, and carrying the bags made the trip up to the second floor (3rd floor, to Americans) a little precarious. The rooms are perfectly serviceable, if not high end. Our room overlooked the bell tower, and had a good bed. The bathroom was small, and the shower was difficult to maneuver due to its size. If you are traveling for business, the rooms are not conducive to working on a computer. The lighting was very dim, with no light on the desk. However, we were there for sightseeing, so this was not a problem for us.

The hotel owner was really charming and helpful. Her personality and service really helped me to overlook some of the drawbacks of the place, mainly that the decor is more shabby than chic (just a little tired and in need of some paint and carpet), and that the rooms are not quite spic and span. The beds, sheets, and towels were certainly clean. It was little things that I noticed: the shower was mildewed around the base of the tile; the moldings around the windows, floor, and doors were dusty; the flush mechanism in the wall was about to break. But despite these things, I tend to look at a hotel as a place to store my luggage and lay my head. It doesn't need to be perfect. In this case, the owner makes up for all this because she is so personable and helpful. She also speaks six languages, so she can carry on a conversation with all her guests.

Room Tip: If traveling for business, do not ask for room 7. It is painted in dark colors and has dim lighting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

The Hotel Van Eyck is in a perfect location. It is on a very quiet street, in between the main shopping street and a wonderful street of restaurants leading into the town square. A good breakfast is served in a lovely breakfast room. Our room was very nice and quiet. The hostess is absolutely lovely, and will help you with anything you need. In addition to all the information she provided us about Bruges, she also stored our luggage for us and arranged a cab for us to the train station.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Van Eyck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Van Eyck

Address: Korte Zilverstraat 7, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 101 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Van Eyck 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Van Eyck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Van Eyck Hotel
Van Eyck Bruges

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Van Eyck, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.