We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Patritius

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Patritius to your Saves list
Hotel Patritius
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Riddersstraat 11, Bruges 8000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 101 Hotels in Bruges
Newbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We have just returned from a fabulous few days in Bruges staying at the Patritius hotel. It couldn't have been better, the hotel is very well situated for sightseeing, all within easy walk. The hotel is warm, friendly and very comfortable and the owners and staff couldn't be more helpful. We would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    132
    23
    1
    2
See reviews for
60
248
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sedgefield, County Durham
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Just returned from a three night stay at this hotel with my wife. The hotel is ideally located for the centre of Bruges; about 5 minutes walk. The hotel is a nice change from the chain hotels I have stayed at around the world with high ceilings and individualised rooms. The room we stayed in was spacious although a little tired and could be easily improved with new, more supportive beds and a larger modern TV. The room was however very clean and the bathroom was spotless. The breakfast was ample although lacking in variety. A the price I would recommend this hotel to a friend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This is a small, but beautiful hotel, set in a quiet location within easy access to the city. The owner was very accommodating when we arrived. We were struggling to find the hotel (the satnav was playing up!), but he obliging came and found us, jumped in the car and directed us to the hotel, which we really did appreciate. My husband and I had a lovely room overlooking the hotel garden which was quiet and peaceful. The room had a small minibar, but a wonderful big bath in which to relax after a long day of exploring such a beautiful city. The owners were also very helpful in their recommendations for restaurants and cafes. Should we return to Bruge we would definitely book this hotel again.

Room Tip: Our room overlooking the garden was ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

The hotel is a 16 room b&b in a converted mansion. The rooms are decorated to match the period of the building. The beds were comfy and the bathroom well stocked and clean. The breakfast is included and consists of patries, breads, cold meats and cheeses, fruit salad, cereal and they offer a boiled or scrambled egg each morning. The coffee machine was lovely and the food was a nice extra. The breakfast room was pretty grand with a chandelier. Although was so quiet it felt like you were eating in a library. the guests were of all ages and nationalities when we stayed. The couple who run it are polite and soft spoken. I enjoyed our stay but felt at times like I was staying in someones home and felt I couldnt have the tv on too loud, or chat away through breakfast. Overall I would recommend if you are looking for peace and quiet.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the street but I'm sure the rooms looking over the courtyard in the back wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This is a lovely family-run hotel in a central location.Highly recommendable.If traveling by car familiarise yourself with the one-way system in the area before arriving and book hotel parking as chances to find a spot to park your car near the hotel - even just to unload - are very slim.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This was our second stay at this hotel; the very high standards have remained since last year.
Excellent rooms well decorated and heated, very satisfactory breakfast served in classic dining room.
Very nice touch on New Years Eve was the champagne reception with the other guests in the lounge.
This hotel is highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Don't need too many words to review Patritius - it is simply excellent. Great location, wonderful service and very comfortable and large rooms. The breakfast was superb too. Might be a bit pricey at peak times, but was great value in winter and a short walk to Christmas markets in the centre of town. You won't go wrong here

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Patritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Patritius

Address: Riddersstraat 11, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#15 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Patritius 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Patritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patritius Hotel Bruges

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Patritius, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.