We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good Hotel and food in Bruges and what to avoid” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Olympia Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Olympia Hotel to your Saves list
Olympia Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Magdalenastraat 16, Bruges 8200, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #78 of 101 Hotels in Bruges
devon
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A good Hotel and food in Bruges and what to avoid”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2008

The Hotel Olympia was where we stayed, a 3 star, no frills but beautifully clean hotel. It was no more than 10 mins walk from the station and the main market areas in a quiet street. The rooms were cleaned every day and there was tons to eat for breakfast. We ate at Hotel Putje the first night in t,zand which was great value for money, 109 euro for a family of 4, drinks, mains, dessert and coffee. The 2nd night we tried the Markt...beware, these places in the centre are tourist traps and a rip off. Cambrinus we tried for lunch in the Phillipstockstraat and the waitress was unfirendly...an exception we found and the food not as good as expected. Next day we ate lunch in a fantastic Pattisserie in Philipstockstraat, the most amazing cake ever and friendly service.

My advice, get on foot and explore this amazing city on foot and DON'T go for the Christmas market, you will be dissapointed.

Our highlight was the ice sculpture exhibitio by the station.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    76
    47
    16
    6
See reviews for
17
90
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bozhura
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2008

We stayed at the Olympia hotel at a double room and in general, we liked the place. The price was normal, the rooms were very clean and the service was ok. The breakfast was also good. The only problem is that the hotel is not very close to the city and if the weather is not good and you can not walk, you depend either on your car or the bus, which stops nearby. On the other hand, as the hotel is not in the central part, if you come by car, you can leave it for free just outside the hotel and not pay for parking.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, service
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2008

I stayed at the Olympia last week for four nights. The twin beds pushed together with single sheets and blankets are not the most comfortable for a couple. We had no remote for the TV and were told this was "strange" but no remote materialised! We decided to give up on the TV.

We were on the ground floor and really felt like we needed some air so left the window open one night (maybe not a good idea). Mosquitoes got in and bit us. Another person in the group knew about the mozzies in Bruges and had brought an electric mozzie zapper which she plugged in at night.

Talking of plugging in electrics...in the printed information in the hotel room says that it is against fire regulations to use any heating equipment (such as for making cups of tea) in the rooms and that any use of this type of heating equipment will interfere with the electric circuitry of the hotel. I'm not sure how this could really be the case with an electric travel kettle or iron.

The continental breakfast was adequate for a 3 star hotel in Europe. There was no fresh fruit - just a bowl of tinned fruit cocktail - hard boiled eggs, two types of meat and one type of cheese, some breads, rolls and cereal. I was surprised not to find yoghurt or some apples or bananas. However the dining room was pleasant and clean (as was the whole hotel).

We had good weather and the walk into Bruges was pleasant. However you would want to be prepared for this or else book somewhere right in town. The hotel is in a residential area and was extremely quiet.

  • Liked — Quiet
  • Disliked — Told not to use travel kettle or disrupt electricity
  • Stayed August 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2008

Excellent hotel. Spotlessly clean, friendly staff, good breakfast and an easy 15 minutes' stroll into the centre. Close proximity to the train station, to boot.

Only slight gripe is that our 'double' bed was actually two singles pushed together with individual single sheets and a double duvet over the top. The hotel should make this clear from the outset.

Nevertheless, wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and friendly staff
  • Disliked — Two single beds as a 'double'
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2008

My mum and I booked a coach trip to Bruges and this hotel was part of the package. Upon arrival we entered our room and it looked at though there was a double bed even though I had booked a twin room. I went to reception and was advised that they were single beds pushed together and that we just needed to separate them.

The room was very small but clean. There is no air conditioning in the room and as we were on the ground floor we could not leave our windows open while we were out or asleep.

The hotel bar closes at 11pm and apart from the continental style buffet there is no other food served. The walk into Bruges probably takes about 20 minuets and after being out all day on the coach we did not always feel like walking into the town.

  • Liked — The rooms were very clean
  • Disliked — Small rooms and distance from town
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2008

It is a small hotel about 20 minutes walk from the town square. It is a very good 3 star hotel. The size of the room is good and very clean with a king size bed and a good size wardrobe. The bath room is compact and the bath is shorter than normal size. The shower is hot and strong. It does provide soap, shower gel and hair dryer. If some one expects more than this in a hotel near to the city centre they should spend more money and go to a 5 star hotel. The breakfast is continental so don't expect too much. The staff are friendly. There is a small bar on the ground floor and dinner or lunch are not provided.
Brugge is a very nice city, clean and with nice buildings. The restaurants food are fairly expensive. An trip to Brussel is worthwhile.

  • Liked — Clean and close to town
  • Disliked — shower curtain
  • Stayed May 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2008

The hotel was a friendly place, it was fairly easy to find with the directions given and parking outside was easy. The rooms were of a good size with a decent bathroom that was fairly modern. It did not include tea and coffee making facilities in the room, however we were told this was Belgian Law, however these facilities were available in Ieper, which is contradictory. Being English, I like my cup of tea, though this may not be something other travellers would find to be a problem.

The hotel was within walking distance of the town centre and directions were given by the reception staff. Overall this was a good hotel, although I think a little over-priced for what it was.

  • Liked — Local hotel
  • Disliked — Coach party
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Olympia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olympia Hotel

Address: Magdalenastraat 16, Bruges 8200, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 101 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Olympia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Olympia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympia Hotel Bruges

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olympia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.