We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what you'd expect from a budget Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Olympia Hotel

Save Saved
You added Olympia Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Olympia Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Magdalenastraat 16, Bruges 8200, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 101 hotels in Bruges
Lynton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Just what you'd expect from a budget Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed in march in the snow and had a lovely time in brugge. This hotel is outside the main town of brugge but it is easily walk-able in 10-15 mins and there is free off street parking very close to the hotel. The breakfast is ok but a bit expensive for a continental so after the first day we just set off into brugge and ate there. Staff are friendly enough and the room was fine except for the people next door to us who were very loud - you could hear every word of a phone call to the UK! I think the wall was a bit thin near the window, it was more funny than annoying but I'm sure it would have grated if we'd been there for more than the 3 days. We found a great bar/restaurant on the route to the town called Parrazar which was very friendly and served a crackin' spaghetti bolognaise - not at all what I'd expected to eat in Belgium but a lovely experience nonetheless! Would stay here again if on a budget.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    73
    49
    14
    5
See reviews for
13
75
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Davistown, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I have reviewed a number of hotels and this one is hard to categorise. I found myself booked in for four nights as part of a bus tour group.

To be sure, this is no flash 5 star establishment, it is very basic but it is clean and well maintained and run by a nice friendly family and staff who make you feel at home.

FREE WIFI.... heaven... and the high download speed made it a delight to use.. Pricier hotels take note.

It could best be described as a Bed and Breakfast establishment, no onsite restaurant for lunch and dinner but there is no lack of eating establishments nearby. They do have a front bar open in the afternoon and evening which will provide a toastie sandwich and tea/coffee but that is about all.

The breakfast is normal continental fare served in a pleasant dining room. Boiled eggs, cold meats and cheeses, cereals, toast and pastries were buffet style. Cereal choice was only Cornflakes for the whole of our four night stay. Although basic, I found it more than adequate.

And adequate would be the way that I would describe this hotel overall. More homely and comfortable than flash. I can only say that if I found myself booked in there again in the future I would be quite content with the choice.

Room Tip: No worthwhile suggestions
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I hate to give bad reviews... but this hotel is not a very good one...
Good thing:
1) hotel staff are generally quite nice and helpful
2) nice lobby

Bad things:
1) No kettle in the room!!! (unbelievable!!!) so if you want to have hot water, go to the bar and ask for it...
2) we booked a double bedroom. but it's actually two single beds... and they are not comfortable at all.
3) the room is small and in a poor condition
4) location is not so good too

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights in April. Were told on arrival all the things we couldn't do by our drivers. Supposed to be a holiday felt more like a school trip! Our room greeted us with big holes in doors and cigarette burns in bedding. I don't usually take much notice if bad reviews but wish I had this time. We managed to get another room but by the skin if our teeth. Petty? Probably but holes suggest guests aren't important and can put up with what hotel can be bothered with. Rooms have not been refurbished as the leger brochure says. Walls bashed and need repainting. Very old fashioned and more like a hostel than hotel. Clean but that's about all. Each night myself and partner shared it with our neighbouring room as we could hear every noise and snore very loud through paper thin walls. No kettles allowed in room. Can ask for hot water. Walking to town about 20 minutes. Breakfast simple with little choice but Plenty to eat. So if you don't mind slumming it, then book, if you want to feel like you are on holiday don't. As for travel with leger, interchanges are like cattle markets so if you want a more civilised trip down go with another tour company.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed here with a Leger coach trip,the hotel was clean and very comfortable,breakfast was good lots of choices,the staff were very helpful and pleasant,we stayed on the first floor,the Hotel was a 15 minute walk into the centre of Bruges.Would stay here again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

we taveled with ledger .and had an enjoyable break, but disabled people should be made aware there are sevensteps to the breakfast room. ground floor rooms are available, and it is is almost half an hour to bruges ,walking, the staff were pleasant, the room was clean but very basic.the breakfast was excelent, but tea making facilitys who be a plus , as when we were there last week it was bitterly cold.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Olympia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olympia Hotel

Address: Magdalenastraat 16, Bruges 8200, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 101 hotels in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Olympia Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Venere and Otel so you can book your Olympia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympia Hotel Bruges

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olympia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.