We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in a good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Jan Brito

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Jan Brito to your Saves list
Hotel Jan Brito
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Freren Fonteinstraat 1, Bruges 8000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 101 Hotels in Bruges
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in a good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We had a nice room - a twin room on the second floor. The room was clean and nice and warm. The ensuite (bath with overhead shower) was also clean. Unlike some others we had no problems with the lift while we were there. Breakfast was plentiful (breads, pastries, cereals, yoghurts, some hot foods). The hotel had a nice lounge area with an open fire. The man on reception was friendly and very helpful.

The hotel was well located for the centre of Bruges, but was in a very quiet area. We walked from the train station.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    263
    54
    19
    14
See reviews for
110
511
25
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights en route to Koblenz in Germany. A delightful hotel well positioned, just a short walk from the main square and plenty of old cobbled streets. We stayed in one of the less expensive Maids Rooms on the top floor. This was small but delightful, and had everything we needed. The bathroom was nice, though a little tired, the shower was good, but just sat over the bath with a shower curtain, not a screen. However we were not really bothered by this, the water was always hot, and at least we had the choice to take a bath if we wanted. The room was warm and had lovely old wooden beams and a vaulted ceiling.
The breakfast was included in our booking, and was substantial with a good choice of cereals, cold meats and cheese, bread, fresh rolls, pastries, yoghurts, fruit, hot dishes, fruit juices, teas, and coffee. We made the most of our breakfasts as it is really quite expensive to eat out in Bruges. Bruges itself is a beautiful old city, plenty of lovely old buildings and quaint little cobbled streets, and of course the waterways. We followed a suggested walk around the city marked out on the map from the Hotel reception, it took you down streets you would otherwise not venture down, it was a lovely hour long walk we did earlyish one morning, and worth doing if you feel energetic.
There was a hotel bar, we had a drink here one night, but there are some great places to drink in Bruges itself with more atmosphere, but it was nice to have a drink just before retiring to bed. I would happily stay here again, it's not the height of luxury but it is comfortable, warm and a reasonable price.

Room Tip: The Maids Room we had was small but not cramped, with a decent sized bathroom. We have stayed in sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at this charming and welcoming hotel. The standard room was small but suited us, as we were out most of the day anyway. It clean though, warm and had some lovely beams, we found it quite romantic. There was a reasonably priced mini bar, but could have done with some mineral water though.
Excellent position in a pleasant part of town, close to the centre ...but just far enough away avoid noise etc

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Plaines, Illinois
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

This hotel is a little off the beat and path of the chaos of Bruges center -- the Market Square. About a four block walk, through quiet streets filled with shops and restaurants, this hotel excels at being unconventional and quirky. First, there are two separate buildings...old and new. I stayed in the NEW building, which was perfectly fine -- very charming and cute -- but definitely less quaint than the old building. Also, the new building's elevator is an experience (it's filled with its own series of quirks). All in all, I can only recommend this place since the service was top notch and the hotel perfectly served its purposes.

Room Tip: I stayed in the BUDGET SINGLE ROOM which was fine but the bed was VERY narrow...even narrower than m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia/ Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

The hotel was very disappointing with a poor price-performance ratio!!
The bathroom wasn't clean upon arrival and hair was in the shower. The room itself was very tiny, the elevator only worked by pressing the button until the level you wanted to reach. Breakfast was okay but nothing special.
Only positive was the location.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We splashed out extra for a bigger room in the main building and as we found out when we walked past a room that ours was half the size. The room we had was an acceptable size but it was advertised as a bigger room and we did pay extra. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean and quiet. The shower was a shower/bath and the bath was too narrow so you always got wafted with the grubby shower curtain. The breakfast had a good amount of choice.

The hotel was too understaffed (one person running the whole thing during the day) and this meant that if you want to leave or are returning and the one person is showing someone to the room, you end up standing around. This leads me to another sore point. Why return the room key to the desk when they then hang it up in plain sight behind reception, which is often not staffed. Perfect place to burgle? Surely the room keys in this situation are safer on the guests?

The best thing about the hotel is the location. Close enough to the centre of Bruges but not so close that you get all the evening noise.

Pretty astoundingly average really.

Room Tip: Don't book a larger room if there are only a few left. I think you get lumbered with the smaller...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Went as a couple in Dec '13, timed our visit to Bruges to see the Christmas market. The hotel is in a really good location, about two minutes walk to the fish market (Vismarkt), then over the bridge and you are in The Burg and the centre of things. The hotel itself is in some lovely old buildings with a connecting courtyard in the middle. It has been sensitively restored and all the communal rooms were beautiful. We had room 35 which was up on the top floor of the rear building; it was not huge but reasonably sized with lovely oak beams in the ceiling. The windows were double glazed so very quiet and we were not bothered by any street noise. Nice bathroom with bath and a decent shower too. Oddly, although we had a fully stocked mini-bar, there were no tea & coffee making facilities in the room, which was the only real complaint we'd make. All the staff were attentive and spoke excellent English, with special thanks to the receptionist (Alex?) who was great and went to the effort of noting all the key points of interest on our map. Breakfast is a Euro style buffet with cold cuts, cereal, fruit and a limited hot selection; all fine and served in a lovely room. There is also a small bar area too where you can relax and have a drink, plus a little lounge area behind reception. Great little romantic hotel and I would go again and recommend to couples looking for a quiet stop near to town.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Jan Brito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jan Brito

Address: Freren Fonteinstraat 1, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#14 Family Hotel in Bruges
#19 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jan Brito 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the center of Bruges in a 16th-century listed building. Much more than the exterior has been preserved. This impressive mansion has been tastefully refurbished, conserving unique decorations from former centuries: marble mantelpieces, paintings, oak staircase, exposed oak beams. Quietly situated in the heart of Bruges : 20 mtrs from the most romantic and picturesque canals, 200 mtrs from the Burg square (City Hall) and Market square (Belfry). 37 Rooms fully en-suite, hairdryer, telephone, television with English language programs, minibar, free coffee and tea making facilities. Breakfast buffet, lift, bar, wifi, lounge, large renaissance garden with 100 year old beech tree. Public underground parking at only 200 meters (please make a reservation). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Jan Brito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jan Brito Hotel
Jan Brito Bruges

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Jan Brito, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.