We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would have liked to have stayed longer.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Jan Brito

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Jan Brito to your Saves list
Hotel Jan Brito
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Freren Fonteinstraat 1, Bruges 8000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 101 Hotels in Bruges
Adelaide
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“I would have liked to have stayed longer.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Our family of four stayed in the family room. The kids slept in the loft area and loved the novelty of it. It has very steep stairs so it wouldn't suit little ones or sleepwalkers. The beds were comfortable and we loved the historical aspect of the building. We all banged our heads on the timber beams at some stage. The bathroom did have an unpleasant smell about it, but the window can be opened for fresh air. Breakfast was very nice. We were too busy seeing the sights of Bruges to fully enjoy the property, and I wish I could have spent some time relaxing in the lovely garden. We could not access the wifi in the family room at all. The airconditioning was very welcome in the hot weather. They don't let early guests check in before 3pm, but we were ok with that as they stored our bags and we took off to see the sights.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    265
    54
    19
    14
See reviews for
111
512
25
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stay here because it"s so close to everything, not for the great rooms or breakfast. It's an old hotel, like everything in Bruges. Carpets are worn and stained but the AC worked and the bed was fine. Breakfast was bountiful but only so so. The staff was friendly though it was unclear whether, when I arrived at 12:30 and tried to check in, having come straight from my overnight flight, whether my room wasn't ready or it was just policy that you couldn't check in before 3p.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Very nice hotel - good buffet breakfast - handy for the Markt - beautiful peaceful courtyard to unwind - would stay there again. Staff very helpful and pleasant to deal with. Take a taxi from/to the rail station - 10 euros.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Staff were excellent and helpful, everything from bikes by day and late night champagne when returning home. Good value and buffet breakfast really stood out. Liked the historical nature of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

This hotel oozes old world charm central location, beautiful clean rooms with a full size bath, air con, a bar, outside garden and friendly helpful staff. For a four star hotel this is a great example of how it can be done. Rooms are of course on the small side as are most European cities but contain a great bathroom, cupboard with safe, flat screen TV a couple of chairs and desk along with free wi-fi. I booked on line via Hotels.com and paid $167 including g breakfast, just be aware parking is difficult in Brugges.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Our room was ideal - king bed downstairs plus two twin beds in a loft. Building oozes history and charm. Breakfast is very nice with scrambled eggs, bacon and sausage in addition to more typical offerings of breads, cereals, cheeses, fruit and yogurt. Staff was extremely pleasant and helpful. Bruges is great for one or two nights, max. Best thing we did: guided tour along the ancient streets on Segways: http://www.tripadvisor.com/Attraction_Review-g188671-d1383074-Reviews-Moment_Segway_Tour-Bruges_West_Flanders_Province.html. Ask for Richard - outstanding guide.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skegness, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I stayed here with my wife and a couple of friends in June. The location is great, just far enough away from any night time noise yet close enough to all the major tourist sites of Bruges. We both stayed in 'Knight' rooms and for the price we both got very nice rooms, enough space and good facilities. Our rooms were in the rear annex of the main building so the view was of the pleasant garden. Breakfast (continental) was very good with a wide choice of good quality produce. The hotel has a bar and is a very comfortable place to stop for a night cap before retiring to bed. Definitely a place to return to!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Jan Brito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jan Brito

Address: Freren Fonteinstraat 1, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#15 Family Hotel in Bruges
#19 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jan Brito 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the center of Bruges in a 16th-century listed building. Much more than the exterior has been preserved. This impressive mansion has been tastefully refurbished, conserving unique decorations from former centuries: marble mantelpieces, paintings, oak staircase, exposed oak beams. Quietly situated in the heart of Bruges : 20 mtrs from the most romantic and picturesque canals, 200 mtrs from the Burg square (City Hall) and Market square (Belfry). 37 Rooms fully en-suite, hairdryer, telephone, television with English language programs, minibar, free coffee and tea making facilities. Breakfast buffet, lift, bar, wifi, lounge, large renaissance garden with 100 year old beech tree. Public underground parking at only 200 meters (please make a reservation). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Jan Brito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jan Brito Hotel
Jan Brito Bruges

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Jan Brito, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.