We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Jan Brito

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Jan Brito to your Saves list
Hotel Jan Brito
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Freren Fonteinstraat 1, Bruges 8000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 101 Hotels in Bruges
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed here for 3 days during early May and loved every aspect of the Hotel Jan Brito! The building is beautiful...the rooms are all well appointed and the courtyard is a sight to behold. The breakfast is TOP NOTCH...unlike any other hotel buffet breakfast we've ever had! You had everything from eggs, bacon, sausage to bread, rolls, donuts to yogurt, fruit, ham and cheese...and of course juices and coffee and cereal. Each day the spread was the same, always full, and always delicious. This really added a ton of value to our stay here as meals can really be pricey in Bruges. We stayed in one of the "maid's rooms" on the 4th floor and it was great! The old rafters are all exposed but the bed, linens, washroom are all up-to-date...so you get some history along with clean, up-to-date comforts. The service was great too. I would highly recommend this hotel to other travelers and would imagine that if our "maid's room" was this good, the other more expensive rooms must be fantastic!

Pros:
- Well situated, easy to walk to all of the sights and restaurants in town.
- AMAZING breakfast, great value!
- Wi-fi was working everywhere in the hotel.
- Clean, well appointed rooms.
- Friendly service at reception and always willing to answer our questions.
- It's in Bruges, which is an absolutely fantastic place to visit!
- Very welcoming to us, a same-sex couple.

Cons:
- The only thing I can think of is the room key system. Each room has an actual key, so when you leave you need to turn it into reception. A few times we returned and asked for our room key and were not asked our names, ID, etc. We hadn't seen some of the staff before, so we wondered a bit about the overall security of our belongings in the room as they didn't seem to do much about verifying our identity before turning over the room key.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    264
    54
    19
    14
See reviews for
110
511
25
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheadle, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This hotel is perfect for exploring Brugge. It has the location, the history , the tradition, the style and the best breakfast!

The hotel is in a prime location for seening all Brugges has to offer situated just a stroll down a few cobbled streets away from the Burg, passing over the very picturesque canals. The staff were very friendly and gave some good advice on local attractions and dining choices. Our room was situated on top floor in amongst the old wooden eves and rafters which had been converted to a lovely room. It was a delight stopping in a hotel with so much character and tradition from the 16th century. The breakfast they serve up has a plentyful of choice to start the day off, they also have the best sausages I have tasted from hotel breakfasts and the bacon cooked just right, which seems some hotels struggle with.

All in all I would definately recommend this little gem of a hotel on your visit. Hopefully it won't be too long before we return!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We booked this hotel as the other hotels we normally stay in in Brugge were booked because of a public holiday. The hotel is very pretty and authentically old which is what we wanted as we had friends from USA with us where nothing is more than 100 years old. I booked a parking space with the hotel in the underground car park round the corner which is necessary as the car park is very busy and parking in the street difficult. The staff were more than helpful and booked a restaurant in the town as they do not have one. The position is great with just a short walk to the main square and all the sights you would want. The bedroom was very small and had a lovely bathroom which was bigger than the bedroom. The bed was comfortable but small and the bathroom had a shower and a bath and nice towels and shampoo, soap etc. We had no trouble with the wifi which we got in our room. The breakfast which was included in the price was excellent with eggs, bacon, cheese, ham, rolls, cereals, fruit etc which is the only reason I have given the rating for value good. We never even turned on the TV as there is too much to see in the town before you go to bed dog tired. We had no window in the room and only a door with a small opening above it , it had a heavy curtain floor to ceiling which was very difficult to close and let the light in through the gap. Make sure you take the boat ride round the town. Go to the chocolate museum, Buy lots of choccy but beware of the cost of linen and table cloths as very expensive in some shops. If you are not a wimp with strange foreign foods and prepared to try something different order the moules frites (mussels and chips) in a white wine sauce and have hot chocolate to drink. I have marked the swimming pool and restaurant with one star as they don't have either and trip adviser do not offer a suitable alternative.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

Location, location, location. Close to everything, a hop skip and jump from the canals. The staff are friendly and helpful. And a historic building that dates from the 16th century. Makes the Bruges visit a pleasure. Breakfast is nice and plentiful with lots of choices. Loved the hotel with its unique homey historic feel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, WM
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Spent 3 nights in this period hotel. Had room 18 on second floor (very small) with very sloping eaves, which made sitting up in bed difficult. Wifi very hit and miss in bedrooms but fine in bar. NO English speaking channels, not even BBC World.

However hotel centrally located amongst everything you would want for a break in this beautiful city. We hired bikes at the hotel which really allows you to see lovely areas outside the city walls which you would otherwise miss. Breakfast very good, lots of great restaurants.

Room Tip: Room 18 ok for short stay but would be too small for longer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, Kent
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We booked a Knight's room for our 5 night stay in this wonderful city at the end of April but were delighted to be given a suite in the stable section which was probably the best hotel room we have ever stayed in. With its helpful staff, excellent breakfasts and central location plus its old world charm the Jan Bito more than met our expectations. There is no restaurant but why would you want one with such a great selection of restaurants nearby? One word of warning, our satnav (tomtom) insisted on taking us to a car park the other side of the city when looking for either Freren Fonteinstraat or the nearby Pandreitje underground car park. The best solution is to set it for the nearby Meerstraat.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, USA
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We found out from one of the art galleries that this is one of the last few privately owned hotels in the city. And it is lovely. Beautifully appointed, very period, extremely comfortable beds. Lovely gardens and HUGE rooms and bathrooms. It is everything you would want in a period hotel. The breakfast was absolutely lovely and had a full compliment to choose from. The dining room was gorgeous. It is within walking to everything you would want to see in Brugge. There is inexpensive public parking very nearby. Highly recommend. Some might think it is a little pricey but it is worth it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Jan Brito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jan Brito

Address: Freren Fonteinstraat 1, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#14 Family Hotel in Bruges
#19 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jan Brito 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the center of Bruges in a 16th-century listed building. Much more than the exterior has been preserved. This impressive mansion has been tastefully refurbished, conserving unique decorations from former centuries: marble mantelpieces, paintings, oak staircase, exposed oak beams. Quietly situated in the heart of Bruges : 20 mtrs from the most romantic and picturesque canals, 200 mtrs from the Burg square (City Hall) and Market square (Belfry). 37 Rooms fully en-suite, hairdryer, telephone, television with English language programs, minibar, free coffee and tea making facilities. Breakfast buffet, lift, bar, wifi, lounge, large renaissance garden with 100 year old beech tree. Public underground parking at only 200 meters (please make a reservation). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Jan Brito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jan Brito Hotel
Jan Brito Bruges

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Jan Brito, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.