We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a great location ...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Jan Brito

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Jan Brito to your Saves list
Hotel Jan Brito
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Freren Fonteinstraat 1, Bruges 8000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 101 Hotels in Bruges
Cambridge, England
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a great location ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We had a lovely weekend at the Jan Brito. We made our booking through Eurostar and then emailed the hotel separately to notify them that we were celebrating two birthdays and our our son and his girlfriends recent graduation, we also asked them a few questions to which we received an immediate and helpful response. We arrived at the hotel early so we booked in but as we arrived early they stored out luggage so we could go out and see the sights making the most of our day. When we arrived back at the hotel we were shown to our two lovely rooms and there was a birthday card in each room which was a lovely gesture.

We stayed in Baroness Rooms, they were both spacious and we had a large bathroom which had a separate bath and shower. They were clean and well furnished. Lovely relaxing lounge area with gas fire.

All the staff were very friendly and helpful.

There was a good variety on offer for breakfast. The only recommendation I would make is that the serving area could do with being larger if possible as if you got more than a couple of people in the room it was a bit chaotic.

But overall great place, Would definitely go back and highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    264
    54
    19
    14
See reviews for
110
512
25
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Jan Brito, it is absolutely perfect, the standard room we had leaves me wondering how good the others must be, the building has some beautiful features and manages to marry both the old and new elements together fantasticallywell. The location is superb for walking to all that Bruges has to offer. The breakfast was faultless and the staff very friendly and helpful. Would have no hesitation in recommending or returning myself.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We have just come back from our short break in Bruges in the Jan Brito. It's a lovely hotel with really friendly staff who go out of their way to make you feel at home. The restaurant recommendations were very good as well. The room we stayed in was the budget Maids Room which was perfect for our needs, a little room but with en suite bathroom and wardrobe and chairs. Breakfast was plentiful and good. We recommend the Jan Brito to anyone wanting a great hotel to stay in. It is only 5 minutes walk to the town centre as well.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

What a great hotel this is. A beutifull listed building with original features and such comfort. The bedroom was great and quiet at night. A lovely breakfast room looking onto the garden and a relaxing bar with cosy fire. Breakfast was great too with lots of choice. The hotel is in a lovely quiet street yet only a few minutes walk from everything. The staff in the jan brito were excellent, very helpful. The manageress could not have been more helpful when we needed some help with printing our flight boarding cards on laptop in reception area. I highly recommend the jan brito hotel in fabulous brugge and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Brugge is such a amazing city and we were delighted with our 3 night stay at Jan Brito. Situated on a quiet cobbled street a block and half from a canal it was so magical. The building itself is so interesting and beautiful. It was a short walk to the Market Square and we felt very safe walking the streets at night.We were in a "Maid's Room" up in the top of the building and even though it was small it was very cozy. There was an elevator but we chose to climb the stairs. The bathroom was quite spacious with a large tub, unusual in our other hotels. From the moment we arrived we received excellent service from the staff, who welcomed us warmly and helped us with any questions we had about the area. The breakfast was excellent- lots of choices of hot and cold foods, and again- great service. We were leaving a bit earlier than breakfast was being offered and it wasn't a problem to have our breakfast before we left. I wished we had more time to spend in this lovely hotel and city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

we had a wonderful stay at the lovely jan brito, the hotel was well located, all the staff were helpful and friendly, the breakfast, which was also in a lovely room, had lots of choice and ran until 10.30am so no need to rush down in the morning. the room we booked was a knights room (no.14) which was full of character, including angled ceilings and exposed beams, a large bathroom too. The only negative is the room was slightly dark but not a major problem and we had a noisy radiator which did slightly disrupt sleep. on the whole I would recommend this hotel for a lovely stay in a beautiful city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We picked this hotel from the Trip Advisor recommendations and were very happy with our stay. We were given room 29 - which was in the annex (just across a small courtyard from the main hotel and its facilities). What a lovely room! It had it's own 'front door' opening onto a steep flight of stairs leading to a spacious room in the eves - with a very comfortable bed and all the usual facilities - and the en suite was brilliant - spacious with free standing bath and separate shower. The so-called 'continental breakfast' offered a huge range of cereals, breads, meats, cheeses, juices (freshly squeezed orange juice!) - and scrambled or boiled eggs, sausage and bacon. Lashings of coffee too. Excellent value.

Room Tip: Our room was one of the 'knight' rooms. Highly recommended.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Jan Brito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jan Brito

Address: Freren Fonteinstraat 1, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#15 Family Hotel in Bruges
#19 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jan Brito 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the center of Bruges in a 16th-century listed building. Much more than the exterior has been preserved. This impressive mansion has been tastefully refurbished, conserving unique decorations from former centuries: marble mantelpieces, paintings, oak staircase, exposed oak beams. Quietly situated in the heart of Bruges : 20 mtrs from the most romantic and picturesque canals, 200 mtrs from the Burg square (City Hall) and Market square (Belfry). 37 Rooms fully en-suite, hairdryer, telephone, television with English language programs, minibar, free coffee and tea making facilities. Breakfast buffet, lift, bar, wifi, lounge, large renaissance garden with 100 year old beech tree. Public underground parking at only 200 meters (please make a reservation). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Jan Brito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jan Brito Hotel
Jan Brito Bruges

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Jan Brito, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.