We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was Okay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jacobs Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Jacobs Hotel to your Saves list
Jacobs Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Baliestraat 1, Bruges 8000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 101 Hotels in Bruges
Sarcelles, France
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“It was Okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We booked this hotel two nights through hostelbookers.com. We thought for the price that breakfast was included, but alas, it was not and was told upon arrival that breakfast was 12 euros per person per day. We found that too expensive for a cold breakfast and was able to find cafés near the town center which served very good breakfasts for half that price. The rooms were clean, the bed was comfprtable, and the wifi worked just fine, but the bathroom had a bit of mold between a few tiles, and the water pressure on the third floor was very weak, but other than that, the bathroom was clean. We found the lady at the front desk to be a bit moody. She was at times friendly and at other times brusk and dismissive. I agree with another poster that tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms is missing and would have been highly appreciated. As for location, it was a 10 to 15 minute walk to the center, which we got quickly used to. Parking is free if you can find the right spot, and the hotel will lend you a parking disk which they will turn for you every four hours if you are not around to do it, which was nice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    112
    62
    29
    24
See reviews for
55
122
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Howden, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We have stayed in Bruges and surrounding area on many occasions, its such a beautiful city. We decided on Jacobs Hotel for a change - a bit out of the main central area but still within walking distance. The reception staff were great - very helpful, even arranged to change the parking disc in the car at regular intervals (parking is available outside of the hotel on a permit basis). The breakfast was superb, excellent choice and good fast service. But oh dear, the room we stayed in was so small........... yes we did book a comfort room but this is the wrong description - there was very little comfort. There is literally a 9 inch gap around a small double bed that you have to squeeze round, if you are not careful you crack your head on the wall monted TV. The shower room was very small, in fact too small. It was a relief to get back onto the ferry where the smallest of cabins are bigger than the room we stayed in at this hotel. For one night you can grin and bear it - it literally is a bed for the night. Difficult one to rate - for service and breakfast top marks - for the standard of room maybe one out of five.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

nice hotel , and good location to the town . modern rooms even though an old hotel. breakfast was excellant and it was in a lovely room , decor ist class . would definately stay again . we went for the xmas markets , was a little dissapointed in that , really, poor goods . mostly food and drink stalls , did find one or two good quality xmas items but very poor stalls on the whole compaired to other xmas markets we've visited .

Room Tip: we were in room 206 amd 209 , just really nice rooms .
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, Berkshire.
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

We had booked one night here for Dec. 1st. On arrival at approx 5.30pm we were informed that they were overbooked so we would be staying at The Karos Hotel. We were somewhat annoyed by this particularly as it was dark and raining and The Karos was back across the other side of Bruges so we had to negotiate the road system again. We had been parked at t'Zand earlier and this is where we now had to go back to as The Karos is close by. I cannot, therefore, make a comment on staying at the Jacobs but will be leaving positive feedback for The Karos!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Absolutely terrible. We arrived to find that the room we had paid for was not available, and that as 3 friends we'd be given a double room with an extra bed. After requesting that we were either given the room we had paid for, or refunded the difference, and at minimum the double bed made into 2 singles, we were made to wait for 1 hour while the staff discussed among themselves if this would be allowed. We were then made to wait before they made the change, even though we wanted desperately to sleep after a tiring journey. The WiFi only works in the bar, not in the rooms, reception or breakfast room. When we mentioned this we were told (by the receptionist) that this was deliberate to get us to spend money in the bar. After the shocking treatment we'd been given we really thought it couldn't get any worse, so were appalled when following check out, we were asked TO WASH OUR OWN TOWELS!! We were given washing powder and cold water in the bar sink. Being afraid of the €45 charge that we'd have to pay (per towel!) otherwise, I requested hot water, was given access to one of the bedrooms, and proceeded to wash the towel. It felt so surreal......like Fawlty Towers......washing our own towels? What kind of a hotel is this?! I'd recommend to stay clear of this hotel, it has nothing going for it as it is also a long way from the square and attractions.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vockenhausen, Hessen, Germany
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed for one night over Thanksgiving break this year. The location is just OK - it's a fairly long windy walk to the city center for a family with three kids (15 minutes). But parking was "free" as they would change your parking sign for you, so I guess that was good.

Our room for 5 was pretty tight, but it was what we expected. The biggest problem was the WiFi. The signal was EXTREMELY weak which made skyping with family almost impossible. The only place it really worked was in the bar, which closed at 10pm. It did not work in our room at all.

The walls were extremely thin as well - could hear just about everything that was going on in the other rooms.

Breakfast was fairly typical, no problems.

Room Tip: Make sure you pick a room where WiFi works!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
farnborough
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Booked a Superior room through booking.com. Hotel are misrepresenting the hotel and room types on their website and not offering the services they charge for. They boast a 25m2 room with Wifi and a 46'' TV - the room was <15m2 and the TV 28'' screen. The Wifi did not work despite having the password and name. The receptionist advised they had problems with Wifi in the rooms.

The shower in the small bathroom has no curtain or screen so flooded the bathroom which is ridiculous and the towel rail was rusty and about to fall off the wall.

At checkout the hotel added a NEW tax at Euros 5 - however this was not advised at the time of booking.

I emailed the hotel to complain having got home and rechecked their website description - they ignored the email and did not respond.

I complained to booking.com who have taken it forward with the hotel and the hotel's response is a pure fabrication - more's the pity they boast room 106 is the finest they have - I pity the other guests!! Apparently the bathroom has been refurbished - they should sack the builder and apparently Wifi works in all the rooms if you have the password and name! Again this is not the case.

Frankly for the same money you can get a better hotel that matches the description accurately.

I have given the hotel the ability to demonstrate they care about customer service but they clearly don't.

Overall a disappointing and expensive experience which I shalln't repeat

Room Tip: Use another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jacobs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacobs Hotel

Address: Baliestraat 1, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 101 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jacobs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel at home in Bruges and enjoy a breezing charm of Jacobs Hotel in a quiet and picturesque area of medieval Bruges, next to Belfort and the main Market Square of Bruges -'Grote Markt' . The romantic canals of Bruges are only a few steps away from Jacobs hotel, ideal for a nice evening stroll ending your beautiful day in Bruges.All hotel rooms completely renovated in April-June 2012 have private facilities with shower/toilet, hairdryer, flat screen LED -TV, direct telephone line, "living vcolors"ambiant lights. The spacious breakfast room, a peaceful lounge and a cozy bar will help you to relax during your stay in Bruges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Jacobs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jacobs Hotel Bruges

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jacobs Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.