We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flanders Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Flanders Hotel to your Saves list
Flanders Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Langestraat 38, Bruges 8000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 101 Hotels in Bruges
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Good value and good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

Stayed for one night on a drive back from Croatia. Booked this hotel with a view to having a quick look around Bruges whilst getting back to UK.
The location was really quite good and as other guests have reported it's a short easy walk right into the centre of Bruges. The room we booked was more than adequate and the price paid was, we felt, very reasonable.
A few things on the downside, bearing in mind we had just driven from the Austrian/German border so tiredness may well have been a factor, when we arrived even though we had been told we had a parking place reserved, I did get the impression it was a bit of a case of more luck than judgement that we actually got one, it was very busy. The fact that it does have parking though is a big bonus.
Again perhaps due to the long drive we had just done I found the receptionist efficient but bordering on unfriendly, not exactly welcoming.
The lift is somewhat quirky and we eventually chose to use the stairs, no real problem there, but just don't panic if it stops between floors, stay calm and read the, specific to that lift, instructions.
In the morning we were very happy with the breakfast and the staff in the breakfast room were lovely, very friendly, polite and efficient, couldn't have asked for more.
In the morning we had a couple of hours walking round the centre, my wife really enjoyed it, the buildings are very pretty and quaint all well manicured. I just felt it is now basically a place that caters solely for tourists, so many restuarants, chocolate shops, souvenir shops etc that it doesn't seem to have much, for want of a better word, soul.
But all in all, glad we went and the Flanders is as good as anywhere I'd say to stay

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    587
    480
    111
    32
    12
See reviews for
238
649
13
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

Stayed here one night when exploring Bruges - and didn't regret it at all. Fantastic location - a couple of minutes walk from the main square, on a nice quiet street.

Staff were very friendly, and knowledgeable. I didn't make use of the pool, as there's so much to see and do in Bruges!!

The bar is very classy with, and with free wi-fi at all times, and a 50% discount during happy hour (4-6pm) it started the evening very nicely.

I'd definitely stay here again.

Only thing to consider is that the bed I stayed in was very, very low - so probably not suitable for people with impaired mobility. Though maybe this was just my room!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

We stayed in Bruges for one night and found the hotel to be in a great location.
It was only a short walk to the centre of Bruges and a short taxi journey from the train station. The room was clean and comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was nice and had a good selection.

We had a very pleasant stay and would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Our window backed onto the smoking area and the noise of people chatting did keep me awake for a whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

My wife and I stayed here this year, just before the birth of our first child.
My wife was heavily pregnant and we were pleased that the hotel was very well located to access the things that we wished to see whilst in Bruges.
As we entered the hotel, it appeared very clean and modern, if not a little small. However, this wasn't a problem, as we only wished to use the hotel to sleep in and fill our days with exploring this beautiful city.
The staff were friendly upon arrival and helpful.
Our room was very nice and I have no complaints about the cleanliness of the room or the facilities available in it.
When my wife originally booked the hotel, we were very surprised to find a central hotel with a swimming pool for such a good price. However, we both laughed when we went down to use the pool, as it was quite small and not particuarly warm. It did serve a purpose though and it was a nice feature to have at our disposal whilst in the hotel.
The food in the restaurant in the morning was very varied and presented to a good standard. The staff were on hand to assist you and clean away any dirty dishes or cups.
Whilst waiting for a taxi to take us back to the coach, we visited the bar, which was modern and stocked a large selection of Belgian beers. The staff were friendly and the bar snacks of Wasabi peanuts were delicious!
In summary, If you want to go to Bruges to see the sights and stay at a well priced, presentable hotel which is close to the centre of Bruges, then stay here.
If we return to Bruges I would stay here again because it is good value and an ideal place for exploring holiday makers.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We only stayed for one night in this hotel on a flying visit to Bruges. It is really well placed for a short walk to the centre and not too far from the train station. We paid approx. 12 euros for the taxi to the hotel. The staff on the reception were really helpful and gave us a detailed map and some discount vouchers to use at certain places.
Breakfast was great and there was plenty of choice.
The bar was relaxing and we had a few drinks in there before and after exploring the centre.

Overall a very enjoyable visit to Bruges, we would recommend it to anyone and to use this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

Good hotel. Comfortable, spacious room with armchairs and small table to relax. Small balcony overlooking quiet car park to rear, Tea and coffee facility included and mini bar (extra). Bathroom had good amenities. Excellent variety and quality for breakfast (0800 to 1100 may not be ideal for business travellers). Heated indoor pool was a nice addition which we used twice (additional towells provided). Nice garden and other public areas with free wi-fi access. Polite, efficient staff and lots of information available. Short walk from centre of Brugge with plenty of cafes and restaurants for lunch and evening meals.We will definitely be using this hotel again.
Photos on trip adviser need updating.

Room Tip: not all rooms have aircon, but balcony with door and window give adequate ventilation. some rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

This is a great little hotel and in a great location. Less than 10 minutes from the centre of Bruges. Turn left out of the hotel and you walk towards all the sights and amazing architecture. Turn right and you walk into downtown Bruges with its hidden bars and restaurants that are off the tourist track. Great breakfast and clean and spacious rooms. Would recommend.

Room Tip: Turn left out of the hotel and you walk towards all the sights and amazing architecture. Turn right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Flanders Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flanders Hotel

Address: Langestraat 38, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Bruges
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#19 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#21 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Flanders Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art deco, modern, family run - In city centre, 5 min walk from Market Sq and all sights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Flanders Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flanders Hotel Bruges

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flanders Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.