We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flanders Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Flanders Hotel to your Saves list
Flanders Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Langestraat 38, Bruges 8000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 101 Hotels in Bruges
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2007

An excellent location close to the centre of Brugge, once there you will not need the car if you want to remain in the centre.
We were a family of four, we had 2 contiguous double rooms. The quality of the rooms was excellent - quiet and spotless - the beds in particular were *extremely* comfortable (the best I slept in for ages), and with quality linen.
The hotel benefits from a swimming pool, not huge but very warm and the opportunity to relax with the children.
The staff was very friendly, helping us to find a reliable mechanic to repair our car which had troubles.
Breakfast was lovely and offered plenty of choice, again served by friendly staff.
I would definitely recommend staying in this hotel, in fact I realised that I had not posted a review about our stay (last Spring) but now publish it as they definitely deserve top marks!

  • Liked — quality throughout
  • Disliked — no restaurant in building (at the time)
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    587
    480
    111
    32
    12
See reviews for
238
649
13
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2007

We stayed for three nights at the end of October 2007, and were very happy with the Flanders hotel. Very helpful, friendly and informative staff, a decent breakfast included and a map of Brugge thrown in. On our arrival we were a little concerned that the room was rather small, but it was clean, comfortable and well maintained. The bathroom was modern with shower/bath and again clean and well maintained. We decided that the room was, in fact, not small, but cosy. There are parking places behind the hotel for a fee. We drove there then forgot about the car until it was time to leave. The location of the hotel is such that there is no need to drive to experience the cultural sights of Brugge, just leave your valuables in one of the free safety deposit boxes at reception, pick up a courtesy umbrella as an ‘anti rain’ precaution, and turn left out of the front door. The canal boat ride was enjoyable, our skipper was a bit of a character with a ‘Captain Hook’ moustache, but we found the brewery visit to be very disappointing. A female guide rushed our party round the brewery so fast that most of the items on display remain a mystery. I asked her why some of the local beer was called ‘double’; she waffled on without answering my question. She probably didn’t know the answer. At the end of the tour a glass of beer was provided, this was the worst Belgian beer that I have ever tasted. It was very cloudy and tasted of sediment (gritty and sour). I politely asked the barman if I could exchange this for something else, to this he snapped “no” and turned his back on me. When he eventually turned round again, I said, “I’m sorry, I can’t drink this”, to which he replied “that’s your problem, not mine”, and walked away. As we were leaving, I noticed that all of the glasses left on the empty tables had a lot of unfinished beer in them. So I was not the only person who did not drink their beer! We found Brugge to be a safe and lovely place to visit.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2007

A very pleasant stay in the Flanders hotel. We had the family suite which was extremely spacious. The staff were as friendly and as helpful as any we've experienced. The hotel is well positioned and only 5 minutes from Bruges' main attractions.

Like another review I would incline to 3 and a half marks rather than 4. My only two gripes were the heat of the hotel room. It was a cold day, we turned the heating off on arrival and yet it was still a very warm room overnight and the duvet provided was very thick (no sheets were provided). The second was that the pool was rather more rudimentary than it appears on the website.

But overall an excellent hotel and if you can get one of the air conditioned rooms I would suggest you request one.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2007

My wife and myself have just returned home to Scotland after spending 3 nights at the Flanders Hotel, Briuges. The hotel is comfortable and the staff are very friendly, helpful and attentive. The breakfast selection is good, with either hot or cold food available. Our room was of a good size with additional seating area to relax. There is also a small lounge bar to relax in prior to retiring to bed.

We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel, which is conveniently situated close to the main squares (approx. 5-10 mins walk) and other visitor attractions.

We will certainly return at some point in the future.

Jim and Helen Renwick
Scotland

  • Liked — The location and the friendly and help staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adliswil, Switzerland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2007

Only stayed here one night but could easily have stayed for longer. Only a 5-10 minute walk into Brugge, hotel has free internet access in reception, good breakfast, very small but nice swimming / dunk pool for a quick dip. We were given a room that would sleep 4 for just 2 of us, with dining table, large bathroom. Booked via the interent on a deal and got 30 % off. Safe and secure carpark for only 12 Euro per day. Tea and coffee facilites. It is a 4 star hotel but I would give it 3 1/2 just because in some areas it looks tired but great value overall for city ctr Brugge.

  • Liked — Very comfy bed
  • Disliked — nothing i did not like
  • Stayed October 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2007

The Flanders Hotel is located only a few minutes walk from all the main attractions of beautiful Brugges. The hotel room was a good size and very comfortable and appereared to have been newly refurbished.
The breakfast was very good with a range of different foods.
There is a very nice swimming pool although small. The staff were very helpful and friendly.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flitwick
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2007

We are just back from a really wonderful trip to Bruge. We stayed at the Flanders Hotel for 3 nights. Despite building work on one side of the building we never heard a thing. When we arrived there we were talked through what was on offer to see and do. We were delighted with the room good size the staff were super friendly nothing was to much trouble. I unlike my partner easily get lost but im glad to say its almost an impossibility around the centre of Bruge. We managed to go to a few places to eat i would agree to keep out of the main square prices are high and quality is low. Places i would love to recommend are a wonderful coffee shop called Delices De Bruges its up a side street off market square and i had a hot chocolate and as a chocoholic it was a dream come true you place a chocolate tulip in hot milk and watch it melt amazing taste. Im not very good at languages so a nice pub try to find Celtic Ireland it was nice to hear some familiar tunes and chat even though most people speak english. The buildings and views you will find hard to beat if your unsure please take a chance even for a weekend you wont regret it .

  • Liked — comfort and cleanliness
  • Disliked — was honestly nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Flanders Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flanders Hotel

Address: Langestraat 38, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Bruges
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#19 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#21 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Flanders Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art deco, modern, family run - In city centre, 5 min walk from Market Sq and all sights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Flanders Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flanders Hotel Bruges

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flanders Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.