We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, fine room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Botaniek Hotel

Save Saved
You added Botaniek Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Botaniek Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Waalsestraat 23, Bruges 8000, Belgium   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 101 hotels in Bruges
Fortaleza, CE
Top Contributor
335 reviews 335 reviews
177 hotel reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
229 helpful votes 229 helpful votes
“Good location, fine room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2007

Found the hotel through the Lonely Planet guidebook. A little difficult to find, in part due to the fact that we had to walk through much of central Brugge as a big foot race was taking place and busses could not take is closer. We saw plenty of hotels even closer to attractions, but this one´s location was fine. Room was small but nice. View out our window nothing special. Breakfast was fine. Estimate on walking time to the railroad station was wildly off, but overall we had no complaints. Only meal that was included for us was breakfast. We had an excellent dinner at a small French restaurant called Calis.

  • Liked — Quietness, location
  • Disliked — Ordinariness
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    47
    16
    7
    1
See reviews for
16
49
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chichester
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
239 helpful votes 239 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2006

We booked after reading reviews here and the hotel website. Like others we took the "Bruges in a Carriage" package, and added a day. We thought that the best things were :

* pleasant and helpful managers on site
* whilst not great, the location is quiet and convenient for main sights
* pleasant breakfast room
* overall, the package was pretty good value and we enjoyed the various "bits included" !

but we were not so happy with :

* rather small double room facing back of hotel (ones at front are larger).

* breakfast is modest - no fruit, no toast, no croissants - and every morning something had "run out" by the time we ate (eg. the boiled eggs or the yoghurt). We ended up eating the cold meat and cheese, which is not my favourite breakfast!

* the included meals at a local restaurant (the Park) - its a good class place BUT we had no choice at all on the menu for each night. On the "culinary" 4-course night, unfortunately I did not like any of the four courses.... BUT it would have cost some 18-20 Euros extra to replace them with alternatives. Given that the items included on the 4-course menu were separately priced at some 39 Euros, this is rather a cheek - so, great if you happen to like them, not so good if you do not. We were also made to feel just a little second class once we handed in our voucher eg. our white wine was not placed in a cooler but just left on the table, and also not served by the waiter (contrast to other guests). Its a shame, as the chef clearly is good and some dishes were very enjoyable. Overall, there are lots of good restaurants in Bruges, and that 39 Euros (or whatever the Botaniek pays the Park) might perhaps have been better spent elsewhereeg. there is no vegetarian option at the Park apparently, so presumably one would have to pay extra..

* mosquitos! Not the fault of the hotel of course, but I was bitten at least 12 times, and apparently this has been a "good year" !
It was very hot, and as the hotel has no AC or fans, it was a tricky choice between boiling on the bed with windows closed or risking the mosquitos (although there certainly is a plug-in in the room, and I was probably bitten elswhere).

This all sounds less positive than overall we felt, but the hotel is basically a nice B&B, so its better not to have TOO high a set of expectations!

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antrim
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2006

We booked this hotel on a word of mouth recommendation. On review of the hotel's website we opted for the 'Bruge in a Carriage' package- great value.: 3 nights B & B with 2 dinners each, romantic horse drawn carriage ride, canal trip and entry into the 'Half Moon' Brewery. Mustn't forget the box of chocs, drink, and museum card with reductions off entrance to many of the city's must see places. All for only around 400 euros all in!
We hired a car and drove from Charleroi airport and the hotel even provided us with private parking for 10 euros a day.
Bruges is a lovely city and the hotel is only a few strides away from the main squares and close to great resteraunts and bars, in a quiet back street. Our room was on the top floor - clean and compact with pleasant decor and great views of the city. We were woken every morning by the bells from the main Belfry- not an unpleasant way to start the day. Breakfast was fine - choice of cereals, breads, juices and hot drinks,cheese and ham with yoghurts and boiled eggs also available. I will agree with other reviewers that we have had more substantial breakfasts in other Belgian accommodation however I did not feel let down by what was available.
The couple who manage the hotel are very helpful and friendly with nothing too much bother. They run a welcoming establishment which is fantastic value for money and I would not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2005

Excellent hotel! The owners were lovely and helpful. Location of the hotel was great, right in the city centre yet in a quiet street so away from all the noise for a good night rest.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks, UK
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2005

My daughter & I stayed in a twin room on the top floor of this very small hotel (9 rooms, I think). Great views, big enough room and bath as well as shower (something that's sadly missing in many European hotels). Very small lift with open side. My daughter wouldn't travel up in it and we usually arrived at the same time.

The hotel is in a back street, but Brugge is so small that it's only a couple of minutes walk from the main squares. Beautiful town with very good food and beer.

The only thing that let the hotel down was the breakfast. I've stayed in many Amsterdam hotels and am used to a huge choice so assumed the same thing would carry over to Belgium. There was a choice here, but not much and I missed both hot chocolate & strawberry jam. Unless you're fussy like me, you'd probably be happy with it.

Despite that, I'd strongly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preston
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2005

My husband and I went to the Hotel Botaniek in January 2005 for a romantic weekend. The hotel is smallish but clean comfortable and the owners are very friendly. Decorated to a high standard and all the little touches the owners have put into the hotel make you feel you are staying at somebody's home rather than a hotel. We stayed for B&B - the breakfasts are really good and served in a very pretty breakfast room. Its in a quiet street but only a very short walk away (a few minutes) to the main square.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2004

13/10/04 We took advantage of the hotel's special "Bruges in a carriage" which worked out very well. Included in this, 3 nights stay with breakfast, glass of wine on arrival, a box of chcolates on arrrival, a 3 course dinner and a 4 course dinner. The dinner at the restaurant was just around tbe corner, and was very good. A carridge ride tour of the city and a boat trip on canal. Also a reduction card for 10 local museums. One of our party was less mobile so the location was important to us, you could not have been closer to the centre in a small quiet back street. Lovely hotel we were on the top floor (3 floors with lift) and looked out over the rooftops and the bellfree. Staff friendly and helpfull. Emails to hotel answered promtly.

Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Botaniek Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botaniek Hotel

Address: Waalsestraat 23, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Hotel Style:
#41 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Botaniek Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Botaniek*** is an 18th Century Mansion elegantly renovated into a charming hotel The Hotel is situated right in the very center of historic Bruges. While located conveniently in the heart of the city. We are very well know for our tranquil atmosphere, which makes the Botaniek*** an ideal Hotel especially after a busy sightseeing day. We are located on a very quiet street only 50 meters from Bruges picturesque and romantic canals. We are also only a few minutes walking distance from the Main-Square, “Burg” and “Market”. There is no better place than the Hotel Botaniek. An ideal starting point from which to discover first-hand the “Venice of the North”. The hotel Botaniek*** is complete with a breakfast room that has been tastefully decorated by the owner, and a quiet sitting room with furniture reminiscent of the Louis XV era. There are only 3 rooms on each floor and each floor may be reached via the elevator. The top floor offers several unique and panoramic views of Bruges and it's wonderful architecture this includes the Church of Our Lady, Botaniek Park, the Belfry Tower and of course a roof top view of the beautiful houses in the neighbourhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Botaniek Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Botaniek Hotel Bruges

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Botaniek Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.