We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent hotel in a perfect location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aragon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Aragon to your Saves list
Hotel Aragon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22, Naaldenstraat, Bruges 8000, Belgium   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 101 Hotels in Bruges
'honorary' Egyptian - Surrey
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“An excellent hotel in a perfect location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I have been travelling to Bruges for a few days' holiday every year for the past years and i cannot 'better' the Hotel Aragon. It is particularly well situated, about five minutes from the central square, very well appointed rooms and friendly staff.

The breakfast is very varied - it is a shame that there is no opportunity for an evening meal at the hotel. There is a little bar that opens in the evening and there is free tea and coffee served in the afternoon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    342
    83
    25
    8
See reviews for
176
429
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Aragon. The hotel is in a great location, a very short stroll to the main square. Staff were friendly and very helpful answering our questions and the breakfast was generous. The room was clean albeit it was on the small side, but nothing you won't encounter elsewhere in Europe.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We have recently stayed in this hotel. The room (no. 102) we were allocated was a superannuated cupboard. It was the shape of a piece of pie with the point cut off. If one of the beds making up the double had been removed it would have been a passable single room! The space around the bed was very limited and how they managed to fit in a table and chairs is amazing. The bathroom door only just opened at the foot of the bed. Unfortunately we were on a package holiday with a group so put up with it - had we been on our own we would have been straight back to reception asking to be moved. We were on the first floor at the front and the double glazing was not up to the job - the noise from traffic was very loud so it was impossible to open the windows and still have a convversation without shouting! The decor was fine, the cleanliness and friendliness at the hotel was good. The reception area and all the hotel has recently been redecorated and this is fine. There is a small lounge area at reception and as far as we coulde make out the receptionist doubles a barperson for the availability of drinks. There was no room service apart from drinks. The breakfast room was nice and the buffet breakfast was a typical continental affair. Our understanding of a four star rating is that the hotel should have a funcitoning restaurant and bar at other times of the day and a full or at least available a good part of the day for room service. A shame as it is a nice hotel but do inspect the room before you accept it. They vary wildly as we saw when other rooms were being serviced. As part of the reason for this trip was to celebrate my husband's birthday, it was a disappointment that the hotel did not live up to the standard we expect of a four star.

Room Tip: Definitely do NOT accept room 102 and inspect the room you are given before accepting it! Ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We have just come back from a short 2 day stay in Bruges, we picked this hotel at random, but how lucky we were to have chosen it. What a super hotel we had booked one room for the three of us but when we arrived we had been upgraded to a 2 bedded apartment at no extra cost. The receptionist thought that it would gives us a bit more space. and how right she was. The apartment was fab, clean well furnished and comfortable,and did indeed give us the room that we needed. Breakfast was great quality and plentiful.The hotel is very central only a short walk to the main centre. I would recommend this hotel and would certainly stay here again. Thanks for a lovely stay

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester uk
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Hotel Aragon - helpful, friendly staff, comfortable rooms, good location, good breakfast, comfortable lounge, bar service with a smile so great for a few days away.

Short walk to the lovely squares, few quiet pubs nearby, shops, quiet location

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saddleworth, UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

This is a building with superior apartments run by the Aragon Hotel which is in the adjacent street. The apartment we stayed in comprised two very large rooms - one a double bedroom, the other a living room with a very comfortable double sofa bed, dining table and chairs and a sofa (a large room indeed!), fitted kitchen, storage room with another sofa bed and a large bathroom with double wash basin unit.

The flats are serviced daily as a normal hotel room would be. The whole experience was one of comfort and just a few minutes walk from the centre of Bruges.

But... it's not cheap and the breakfast is served in the hotel itself. In pouring rain this is a 100 yard walk that certainly wakes you up before you eat. And then you have to walk back again of course.

If you have a car the location poses a problem. The hotel will offer secure parking at €15 per night but there is cheaper secure parking a stone's throw from the hotel for just over €8 per day. Four days stay for us - nearly £30 in parking charges. But if you can afford the hotel I guess that it's not so expensive - but it's still a lot to pay not to use your car!

The breakfast is excellent even extending to smoked salmon - all self service.

It was an experience but if we return to Bruges in the future I guess we will look for something less expensive.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

This is perfect if you travel with family. We are two adults and three kids and had a three bedroom apartment. Each bedroom had a bar fridge and a TV and hanging space. You also have a sitting room and a kitchen. There was enough space for everyone here. I liked the L'occitane bath products provided too.

Check in was quick and easy and one of the girls walked us over to show us where to go and open up. Parking is a challenge. They have some parking but not nearly adequate. We grabbed some street parking and luckily didn't get a ticket.

Hotel is close to all the sights in the city centre so we left the car and walked.

Breakfast was plentiful and good quality.

We would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Aragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aragon

Address: 22, Naaldenstraat, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#24 Family Hotel in Bruges
#30 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Aragon 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored mansion, comfortable rooms with English fabrics; centrally located in historic, medieval area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Aragon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aragon Hotel Bruges

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Aragon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.