We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Academie Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Academie Hotel to your Saves list
Academie Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wijngaardstraat 7-9, Bruges 8000, Belgium   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 101 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence 2014
NL
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Super value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2009

Booked this gem at the last minute and was pleasantly surprised! The rates were quite a bit lower than other hotels in this very busy little city, but the place was very clean and had everything we needed. We also got a free upgrade to a triple room which had an extra cot, though we'd booked a double and asked for a cot for our six year old (the toddler was to sleep in the big bed with us). We all had beds for the same price. We also heard someone ask if they could stay another night but that one guest would be leaving his party, so could he switch to a smaller room... they told him not to worry about it, and charged him the lower rate.

Parking is tight and for a charge, but hey, it's there, and they let us park there the whole day after check-out. The location is perfect. My two sisters shared a twin room, which had twin beds pushed together when they could have been spaced out quite easily. But we just moved one and it was fine. And on the first floor we could access Wifi, but not on the third (though they specified it was in public areas only, so we were happy to get it in at least one of our rooms!).

We didn't have the breakfast as there is a bakery across the street, so I have no review of that.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    542
    143
    43
    15
See reviews for
137
653
31
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire, England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2009

I stayed in a triple room with a group of friends. Bruges was lovely and we had a great time - definately take a trip to the tea house opposite the hotel - it is lovely. Great cakes, tea and cheese on toast!! The hotel was perfect for a weekend away. It was clean, fairly modern and in an excellent location. Perhaps not all out luxury (if you wanted an extra special romantic get away) but great for a trip with friends. I'm quite picky about cleanliness and room standards - and I thought it was nice!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2009

We stayed here on a 3 day trip to Bruges with Riviera Travel. No complaints - the hotel was really nice and we were lucky enough to be given a very spacious room which is designed for someone disabled with wheelchair access - the bathroom especially was huge compared to most en suites. This room was very quiet, overlooking a courtyard but I can't imagine even the rooms overlooking the street would be noisy as it is a narrow cobbled street with very few cars going down it - more horse and carriages! he breakfast was good with plenty of choice to suit everyone. Reception staff friendly and helpful. The whole trip was brilliant and even better than we expected.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2009

The staff at reception were among the most helpful hotel staff I have come across on my travels. The hotel is in a great location, a relatively quiet street and within walking distance from the centre. The rooms are fine, but it would have been nice to have had better drink-making facilities (powdered milk when there is a fridge in the room and plastic cups is not my idea of a 4* hotel) and the sensor lights in the room provided good comedy entertainment after a night out.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2009

We really enjoyed our stay in this modern clean hotel. The staff were great and helpful. Gave good suggestions of where to eat and drink (obviously...this is Bruges!) Having said that the hotel bar was nice to start the evening. The breakfasts were lovely with plenty of choice. I'd love to go back soon and would recommend it to anyone wanting a central location. The parking was very useful and safe too!
Looking forward to our return!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire, england
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2009

My husband and I spent 4 days, 3 evenings in the Academie Hotel as part of a package with riviera travel. Having read some of the previous reviews we were a little concerned before we arrived, but having e-mailed the hotel direct and requested a room in the newer part of the building, we had no problems.
The Academie is down a side-street leading to the lovers lake and very close to the brewery. It has plenty of chocolate shops and cafes close by. The room was plenty big enough for two of us, flat screen tv, modern bathroom, plenty of closet space. I would advise you take your own tea and coffee supplies (and mugs) as that is the one thing they do seem to skimp on. Breakfast is taken self-service style in a fairly large dining area and contains all the usual cereals/pastries/fruit/rolls etc and some hot stuff as well.
There is also a nice bar area with reasonably priced drinks, and an outside courtyard, which once the weather brightens up, i am sure it would be lovely to sit out there in the evening. We were there the end of March and Bruges was v.quiet after dark, though with a huge choice of bars and restaurants to choose from there are plenty of places to eat and drink.
All in all, its a lovely space to spend a few days. Take flat shoes for walking - the cobbles can be hard on your feet.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2009

Our room was located in the newly renovated part of the hotel. Beautiful room. Gorgeous choice of furniture with a real wardrobe and nice flat screen TV. The huge window opened fully and overlooked a neighbouring court yard.

The bed was not that comfortable because the sheet was too small and kept coming undone. The pillows were a bit lumpy but the bedding was extremely clean as was the whole room. They use duvet covers rather than those nasty bed spreads you see in most hotels which means you can know that the bedding is clean.

The breakfast was buffet style and had cereal, pastry's, bread, eggs and hot food (not replaced after 9.00am so go down early if you want hot food.) It is very centrally located and has a late opening corner shop 1 minutes walk away.

I really enjoyed my stay in this hotel in particular the beautiful bath room with lovely bath. My biggest complaint would be with the light switches, which are dimmer switches that are controlled by pushing a button. As someone who is very technology minded I could not get the hang of them and they would be a total nightmare for someone who hates gadgets. Also when the lights are off they have a small blue led light and I found it very difficult to sleep with this on as there are various of them in the room.

We had booked a non smoking room but the room had obviously been previously used by a smoker which was pretty annoying but in all these small things didn't spoil our stay in the nice hotel.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Academie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Academie Hotel

Address: Wijngaardstraat 7-9, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Bruges
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#18 Family Hotel in Bruges
#23 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Academie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Academie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Academie Bruges
Academie Hotel Bruges

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Academie Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.