We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very convenient location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Academie Hotel

Save Saved
You added Academie Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Academie Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wijngaardstraat 7-9, Bruges 8000, Belgium   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 101 hotels in Bruges
london
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“very convenient location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We booked this as a last.minute.com package including eurostar. The hotel was much better than we expected for the price. It is an excellent location: in the old town but only a short walk from the station. It was very quiet indeed and the staff were friendly and helpful. The room was pretty standard but was better than the norm in that it included a table with 2 comfortable chairs and the lighting was very good, varying from dim to bright. The shower was powerful. The bed comfortable. The lighting good. There was a kettle and fridge; also tv and free wifi. The daily cleaning was efficient. There was a secure storage for our cases after check-out on the last day. The only criticism was slight staining on the carpet and black mould marks on the shower's grouting.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back of the hotel with a window over a central courtyard. It was very quiet - b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    319
    407
    117
    41
    15
See reviews for
102
457
25
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We booked this hotel well in advance and got a great rate incluing the breakfast. The hotel is within walking distance of the train station, and close enough to walk into the centre within 10 minutes. The hotel itself looks great inside, and the rooms are spacious and have all the amenities you'd want. Bathrooms are a good size, beds are comfy, room overnight was quiet (enough) and the air-con actually works! Breakfast was good with plenty of supplies, though the hot food didn't look too appealing - if it's included in your rate though you can't go wrong.

There are plenty of good restaurants/bars close by and a Carrafour supermarket around the corner - and with a fridge in the room it's ideal for picking up you late night beer supplies :-)

The only problem was that they seemed to pipe music into the courtyard of an evening, so you could hear it in you room - not a problem until 10:00pm, when they seemed to turn it up for some unkown reason unitl it went off around 11:30-Midnight. I'm being harsh here as it wasn't that loud but I just don't see why they did it....

In summary, if you book in advance and get a deal it will be great value for money. If you're paying standard rates, I'd still recommend it but it would just about be value for money, and compares rate-to-value similar to the better chain hotels we've stayed in Brugge.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

This is a fair good enough hotel when visiting Bruges, it´s very well located and the room was comfortable and clean. We were 3 adults so we booked a triple and the three beds were very good, not uncomfortable smaller bed for the 3rd person like in most of the hotels. Bathroom was also good. It´s not a beautiful or special hotel, and you don´t see the value of other 4 stars, but it´s functional and comfortable so that was good enough for me for the value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Just returned from a 5 day/4 night break in Bruge where we stayed at the Academie for 3 nights. Staff were available when needed and attentive. We checked in at gone 10.30 at night with no issue.

Rooms are clean and equipped, hair dryer is a little weak but the shower is smashing. Tea and coffee (2 of each) is provided but no milk. Additional headband coffee is available at a cost of €2 for 2 of each. Thought this a little steep.

Location was perfect though, right in the centre and only a short walk from all the major attractions.

Wonderful little rib and chicken restaurant next door and a highly recommended Belgium Beer tasting tavern to.

All in all, a smashing stay :)

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordoba
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We recently did a Mini Break to Bruges. We paid above the norm to be in a "better" Hotel. 4* usually means something quite special but maybe the Belgian Tourist board are not so particular!
The Hotel reception were excellent as were all the staff. However the place is a bit run down to say the least. The pillows in the room were mini cushions and the bed was rather too soft. I know its personal preference on this but they really are soft. The en suite bathroom was ok but the shower was a bit awkward to use. The rooms heating was good and the TV had free view channels. The room also had WiFi which worked.
Breakfast was OK with a few weird offerings. Coffee was just drinkable. The scrambled eggs and the cold meats were ok but not a 4* breakfast by anyones imagination.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queretaro, Mexico
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We were lucky to find reservations for this hotel during the high season. The hotel location is very good, at walking distance from the train station as well as from the main downtown attractions. The staff was very kind, the room was small but comfortable and had everything I needed. The restaurant opens only for buffet breakfast which was a lot better tan what I have seen in other Eruopean hotels. The room rates are quite reasonable. I would definetly go back to this place and highly recomend it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Academie in December 2013. The hotel was in a perfect location, a short walk from the main squares and it was right outside some wonderful restaurants, belgain chocolatiers and hand made lace shops. The room itself was very clean and very comfortable with plenty of amenities such as a hair dryer, kettle, mood lighting and plenty of towels. The breakfast was very lovely and the house beer was even better....had a few too many to be honest! The staff were very welcoming and helpful during our stay and I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Academie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Academie Hotel

Address: Wijngaardstraat 7-9, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Bruges
#15 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#25 Family Hotel in Bruges
#25 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Academie Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Academie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Academie Bruges
Academie Hotel Bruges

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Academie Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.