We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst night's sleep ever” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Floris Karos Hotel

Save Saved
You added Floris Karos Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Floris Karos Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hoefijzerlaan 37, Bruges 8000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 101 hotels in Bruges
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The worst night's sleep ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed at this hotel last week for just one night. Thank goodness it was just the one night as I could not have done it twice. We were greeted by the smell which other reviewers have mentioned - it was very, very strong and unpleasant but seemed to be contained to the downstairs lobby at least. The female receptionist who greeted us was curt at best and it being only 2.30pm we could not check in and so went out for the afternoon. The rest of the reception staff were pleasant when we checked in and out. The room itself was spacious and clean - it had obviously had a recent makeover and the furnishings were good. It was however extremely dark with no overhead lighting - lamps were attractive-looking but dim.The bathroom was tiny and had received a really cheap makeover. There were 3 types of tiles and 2 colours of grout on the walls dating from various eras. The toilet was bizarrely positioned to the left of the door with its back to the door and one of my pet hates, a grubby toilet brush, was in full view of the room. On the positive side the shower was reasonably good. Out we went for dinner... On our return the beds proved comfortable but the pillows were like nothing on earth - the cheapest, lumpiest, spongiest pillows I've ever come across. Impossible to sleep on even if it hadn't been for... the fact that our room was interconnecting with next door and as we soon discovered there was zero sound-proofing around the doors. In came our neighbours with their over-tired young children one of whom proceeded to cry and moan until 12.30am. Not his fault but the hotel needs to do something about the fact that noise is shared between rooms. Up we got next morning feeling shattered - my husband took the kids to the pool which they loved then we headed for breakfast and the melee that was the breakfast room. Hot and steamy and nowhere to sit. We managed to get some food (it was so busy!) from the buffet and eventually found a corner of a sofa in the lobby area along with many others to eat. The food was fine - simple Contintental style though I did find the coffee undrinkable. And that was it really - would I go back? Sorry - not a chance.

Room Tip: Make sure it is not an inter-connecting room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie C, Guest Relations Manager at Floris Karos Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Dara,

We thank you for publishing your feedback on Trip Advisor.

As we try to constantly improve the service we deliver, we will transmit all off your comments to the concerned departments of our hotel. We apologize for the fact that you felt not to be served as well as you expected. Rest assured that the policy of the hotel is to satisfy the expectations of all our customers as much as we possibly can.

I beg you to believe the assurance of my sincerity and kindly ask you to contact me directly when your travelling plans should bring you back to Belgium.

I would be delighted to have the opportunity to offer you a service that will completely satisfy your expectations and makes up for your previous experiences within our walls.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    106
    187
    83
    45
    30
See reviews for
90
222
7
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

When we arrived outside there was a horrible smell of sewage and inside the lobby. The smell is attrocious and it didn't go. However luckily inside the room, there was no smell. The rooms were fairly clean and very spacious which was good. The mattess was nice and firm! However the pillows are very flat and very lumpy so I advice you to bring your own. It has a lovely area for children and a relaxing area for the adults. The only problem is that the smell can get to you. It has wonderful facilities however. The swimming pool is lovely and the gym is very good! Breakfast is your average continental breakfast you find in France. It is good money for what you pay. The only thing lacking this is the smell and pillows.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie C, Guest Relations Manager at Floris Karos Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Mia,

first of all thank you for staying with us and sharing your experiences within our walls.
As I've mentioned in other replies Bruges, just like Venice, due to it's many canals can have a slight odor depending on the weather - I feel truly sorry that this has been an inconvenience for you - but to anyone reading this , I would like to point out that this is truly not overwhelming and surely not a lasting experience!

Further to your other comments I'm really pleased to read that you have enjoyed our indoor swimming pool and other facilities as we do our utmost bes to constantly improve those - in this context 'thank you' for bringing to my attention the remark about our pillows - I'll make sure I'll look into that.

Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed at the Floris for 2 nights with a superbreak deal. Found the hotel to be lovely & clean, loved the lobby where you could sit and relax in front of the fire.
Room was basic but nice & spacious.
I could not smell any sewage odours like people have said on their reviews. If visiting Bruge again I would stay at the floris.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie C, Guest Relations Manager at Floris Karos Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Jody,

thank you for your 'short & sharp' review! We truly 'heart it' and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Best regards from Bruges!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

we have been in bruges for a 5 days break in Christmas time. from the beginning is not Dorchester or Clardidges , but have you pay for that? nice rooms, big warm and comfy with big beds- good breakfast- nice staff, very helpful - 10 minutes away from the Markt , with a swimming pool and a playground for kids! Do you want something more? go for the above hotesl please!

valentin maier

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie C, Guest Relations Manager at Floris Karos Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Hi Valentin,

thank you for the review about your stay in our hotel.
We absolutely LOVE it! It's short - sharp - genuine and straight to the point!

It was a pleasure having you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best regards from Bruges.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandeilo, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

After reading a few reviews for this hotel, we were quite disappointed. in some of the standards we experienced.
As we arrived there was an overwhelming smell of drainage immediately outside the hotel and in the foyer. The paving slabs outside the main entrance were very dangerous as several were missing and a few causing a serious trip hazard. There was also quite a lot of litter.
Not good first impressions.

the hotel lacked character. There is an area where you can buy drinks, tea and coffee but we never saw it manned.
The room we had was on the top floor and smelt funny. I wasn't sure if it was urine or the glue used to lay the new laminate flooring. With all radiators turned off and the windows wide open we were still too hot. This was most unpleasant.
I was disapointed not to have tea and coffee making facilities in the room.
The room itself was spacious but very poorly lit. We had to hold a lamp over our case to unpack so we could see what we were doing.
The bedding was lovely a clean but the pillows I wouldn't even give to my dog. They were continental square pillow but so old they had gone completely flat and the stuffing was in lumps.

Breakfast was OK. Plenty of choice but lacking the basic in that there were no trays provided. The breakfast room is too small for all the guests and it became very congested and much too hot.

On the [plus side the hotel was clean and very quiet. The pool is very small but nice and the gym a bit public for my liking.

If you are travelling with children this hotel would be great. Plenty of toys and space for children to play.

If you park your car they ask you to leave your car keys at reception. They also ask you to leave your room key if you leave the hotel. Not too much of a problem unless you have to wait to get your key whilst a que of guests are waiting to check in.

Would not book here again

Room Tip: Top floor rear of building. It was very quiet considering the hotel is on the main ring road
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie C, Guest Relations Manager at Floris Karos Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Travelaholic,

thank you for the extensive review about your stay with us - needless to say it leaves me with a bad feeling. As mentioned in other reviews Bruges can, just like Venice, due to it's many canals have a slight odor depending on the weather - however this is surely not an overwhelming nor a lasting experience.

As for your remark about the pillows - 'thank you' - we have had no serious remarks about this so far so I will surely look into this and make sure old pillows are replaced with brandnew pillows for our guests' comfort as we all know a good night's sleep is very important!

Apart from this I'm utterly pleased to read you enjoyed the swimmingpool and found the hotel to be clean and quiet.

We truly hope of having the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards from Bruges.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

A good hotel, but nothing to make it stand out. Front reception staff are very friendly, lobby is nice, rooms are clean. The breakfast is boring, but there is enough of it. No tea/ coffee in the rooms, and the hot water ran out in the afternoon ( we had a swim in the pool and wanted a proper shower afterward , so that was annoying) but fornthenmorning shower it was fine. Biggest plus is the location, 5 minutes walk from t Zant square, and 15 from Markt. Very hard to beat that, and the price when we stayed was fine

Room Tip: Ask for one not facing the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie C, Guest Relations Manager at Floris Karos Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Family Traveller,

thank you for staying with us and sharing your experiences!
I love your review as it hits the nail on the head: GOOD VALUE FOR MONEY.

We're already looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Warm winter regards from Bruges.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We have just returned from a three night stay at the Floris hotel.  We booked two executive rooms one for our father in law and one room for myself, husband and 1 year old son.  We arrived at Brugge station And the hotel was 15 mins walk.  We arrived at the hotel to be greeted with a very unpleasant smell in reception which stayed for the duration of our stay.    Apparently it was the drainage system, it was not in or rooms or communal areas thank goodness.  Our room was ready early, very friendly staff on reception.  We stayed in room 16 1st floor, it was pleasant and spacious but bathroom was just a shower and was not the cleanest.  Mildew around the toilet, sink and shower a little off putting, shower leaked terribly every time we used it but we did not complain so unknown if they would have offered a different room.  Room warm with a ceiling fan which was great.  Baby cot very clean great sheets too.  Our bed very comfortable and large.  Hotel is very quiet even being on a main road, no noise through hotel which was fantastic.  Rooms cleaned daily and towels changed every day.  Breakfast was ok, selection of cereal, apples, fresh bread for toast, croissants and cheeses etc. 7.30 to 10am! Swimming pool nice and clean, warm, fresh towels supplied and children's floats! The highlights of the hotel was the play area, large tv with array of kids DVDs, toys and games and comfy sofas, our son loved it here and was a god send as very few hotels offer this for children! Toys cleaned daily and area kept spotless! All staff were lovely friendly and accommodating.  Bit disappointed no tea and coffee making facilities, no fridges in room and no room service or other food available.  But my mistake should have thoroughly checked facilities! All in all a nice hotel just needs a bit of revamp on some rooms.  Brugge market is 10 mins walk away so very convenient! 

Room Tip: Rooms at back of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie C, Guest Relations Manager at Floris Karos Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Globetrotter,

WOW! Thank you ever so much for your extensive review and kind words about our hotel.
We are absolutely thrilled to read how much you enjoyed our Kids Corner as we've invested a lot of time in making this an enjoyable space for families to relax after a day of sightseeing.

Please don't hesitate to contact me directly when booking your next stay, we'll make sure to make it a memorable experience once again.

Best regards from Bruges.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Floris Karos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Floris Karos Hotel

Address: Hoefijzerlaan 37, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Floris Karos Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Floris Karos hotel is a 3 *** star hotel centrally located in Bruges just a 15 minute walk away from the market square with its Belfry tower. 'T Zand square, where travelers can enjoy a variety of local restaurants, vivid bars and local markets on certain dates, is situated a 2 minute walk away. From 'T Zand square on guests can enter the most important shopping streets of Bruges, which are leading towards the market square. Bruges Railway Station is to be found only 1.5 Km from the hotel and easy reachable by taxi or bus. All attractions and museums of Bruges, as well as the typical charming canals where boat tours take place, are situated within walking distance from the hotel. When entering this hotel with its traditional Norman facade, you will be surprised by its modern colonial-style interior, its large entrance hall with a cozy bar and welcoming reception area where you can enjoy calm evenings around the cozy fireplace. We invite you to have a drink at our bar where various beverages are served including local Belgian beers. The Floris hotel offers also a heated indoor swimming pool where you can relax and enjoy a swim in the evening after a busy day of sightseeing in Bruges. For those even more sportive among us a fitness is available on site. Apart from several relaxing seating areas where parents can relax, there is a well an equipped kids' corner with flat screen TV, large variety of games and Xbox available. A large-screened Apple iMac with internet connection can be used free of charge and is available in the lounge area. Free Wi-Fi is available in the entire building during the entire stay of our guests. Flat-screen TV, free Wi-Fi and a work desk are provided as standard in the rooms at Floris Hotel Bruges. The rooms offer comfortable beds, modern decoration and spacious bathrooms with bath and/or shower combination to make you feel at home. Parquet floors give the interiors a modern feel. To kick start the day guests can enjoy a delicious continental-style breakfast with pastries, bacon and warm egg dishes in the breakfast room each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Floris Karos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Floris Karos
Floris Karos Bruges
Karos Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Floris Karos Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.