We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best breakfast in Belgium!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Little White Bear Guesthouse (Het Wit Beertje)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Little White Bear Guesthouse (Het Wit Beertje) to your Saves list
Little White Bear Guesthouse (Het Wit Beertje)
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Witte Beerstaat 4, Bruges 8200, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #98 of 215 Bruges B&B and Inns
Loughborough
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in Belgium!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Could not have been more welcoming or helpful. The breakfast was sublime with own blended delicious coffee. Short walking distance to the town centre. Would definitely book as a short break or overnight next time we visit Europe.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    12
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
44
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I have stayed here for one night together with my girlfriend to visit Brugge. The place is at 10 minutes walk from the city center. The host has been extremely helpful and welcoming all the time and he provided us with information about the history as well as the "must see" in Brugge.
The room was comfortable and quiet, very clean and cozy. Breakfast was great, and for the price we payed everything has been beyond our expectations.
One noteworthy thing is the place where we had breakfast: an amazing veranda with a marvelous garden behind us. A memorable stay, even just for one night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

In spite of the proximity to the old center, our first impression from the street was not overwhelming positive, but things got better! Our room was clean and cozy, with nice bed linens, iron headboards and attractive artwork. The bath was clean with modern fixtures and a heated towel bar. (The paint and paper will need to be touched up in the near future.)

Mr. DuFour, the proprietor was very friendly and informative.

A word of warning for those with limited mobility: this might not be the best option for you. The guestrooms and breakfast room are reached by extremely narrow, steep stairways with rather shallow steps.

Speaking of the breakfast room...this was the highlight for us! Who would expect the landscaping paradise hiding behind the staid brick walls? The breakfast room is a solarium which opens to a view of a small, but absolutely captivating garden. It is obvious that it was cultivated with love (and a creative flair).

Except for a bump on the head from the low-hanging TV in the corner, we loved our stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stollhof, Austria
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We have stayed in this B&B for 2 nights with a firs night being the Christmas Eve, so finding any accommodation was a bit tricky. One of the main reason why we chose this B&B was location. We travelled by car, so staying in the very city centre and paying ridiculous money for parking was not an option. This place has plenty of off street free public parking and is only 15 minutes walking to the city centre. Hosts are very welcoming and helpful, they gave us good advice regarding restaurants for Christmas eve and next day as well. Breakfast was generous and very tasty. Room is comfortable, perhaps a bit small with slightly tired furniture, but we did not pay a lot of attention to it since everything else was absolutely perfect. There is also a beer wholesaler 200 meters away, so it;s a good place to stock that wonderful Belgian beer!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for one night as the first destination of our road trip. It was easy to find and we parked on the street which was free. Monsieur Jean-Pierre Defour welcomed us and was both knowledgeable and enthusiastic about Bruges. The B&B was within walking distance of the centre and therefore convenient. The room was clean with an ensuite. Breakfast was lovely, a lot on offer and check out was simple. I would definitely stay there again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Whilst travelling through France we met a couple who recommended Het Wit Beertje, we phoned and booked the last room and on arrival Patrick greeted us warmly. Luckily there is free parking on the street so the location was perfect.
The room & bathroom were clean, the breakfast was just superb and the information Patrick gave us about Bruges was priceless.
Avoid the expensive B&B's/Hotels within the city walls and try this quaint & charming place, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

Clean rooms, lovely hospitable host. Great breakfast. The guesthouse isn't in the center of Bruges however this I feel is a bonus as the walk to the center is approximately 5 minutes to the center and you get to see all the things you wouldn't see. Lovely cute cat in the garden. Rooms were very clean and the shower seemed brand new and literally sparkling. My partner and I drove here and took advantage of the free parking right outside the door. Having a key means you can come and go as you please. The guesthouse is named little white bear guesthouse as it is placed on Witte Beerstratte (white bear street). Nothing naughty! Don't expect luxury but expect a decent room for the money you're paying x

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Little White Bear Guesthouse (Het Wit Beertje)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little White Bear Guesthouse (Het Wit Beertje)

Address: Witte Beerstaat 4, Bruges 8200, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 215 B&Bs / Inns in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Little White Bear Guesthouse (Het Wit Beertje) 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Little White Bear Guesthouse (Het Wit Beertje) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little White Bear Guesthouse (Het Wit Beertje), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.