We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely middle eastern food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Toetanchamon

Toetanchamon
Academiestraat 6 | Academiestreet 6, Bruges 8000, Belgium
+32 50 34 18 37
Improve this listing
Ranked #259 of 549 Restaurants in Bruges
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: A friendly,family run restaurant (since 1992), good for vegetarian and meat lovers,offers fresh homemade meals, close to the center of bruges.The name is representing long tradition of the region.Fresh ingredients combined with tradition and spirit of people is imbued in Middle-Eastren cusine.Also specializing in different kinds of tajin meals(lamb tajin,vegetarian tajin,chicken tajin, fish tajin), fresh cooked or tradional barbequed chicken and meat .Other specialties on our menu include: shoarma(lamb),kofta,falafel, as well as excellent lambchops and steak.All this can be washed down with some of region beers and wines in addition to delicious desserts.A relaxed place for happy people.Takeawayalso
Epsom, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely middle eastern food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We are regular visitors to Bruges and always go to Toetanchamon whilst we are there. Excellent food, very pleasant service and not too expensive compared with other restaurants in Bruges. Would highly recommend.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    21
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Braintree England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good middle-eastern food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is a nice little restaurant in Academia Straat anound 100 metres north of the main square. In the main square you will find on the north side numerious over-priced restaurants where my wife and I have had several uninspired meals. Walk on by, and exit North out of the North Eastern Corner and find this budget place. In our view deserving of a review. It claims to be "Egyptian" food, but as far as we were concerned it could be listed as Turkish as we had excellent Kebabs. We had 2 evening meals and were pleased with The Food, The Service and The Price. The down side was that we were supprisingly the only people eating there and hence no "atmosphere", although they did seem to do quite a few takeaways.
We would certainly go again next time in Brugges.
Note, according to the street sign it is in Academia Straat!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West yorkshire
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

A small unpretentious looking cafe/restaurant but don't be put off by the exterior. This is a real find in Bruges - a very pleasant change from the ubiquitous mussels and chips or standard italian fare.
We visited at lunchtime and had a set menu which was extremely good value and vey tasty. Genuine middle eastern cuisine and the waiter advised us that many of their spices and flavourings are imported direct from Egypt.

Don't expect starched linen tablecloths and fawning waiters but Do expect good food, friendly service and good value.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Vegan food in Tut's cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Finally we found someone in Bruges who understood vegan and even lt the mayonnaise off the salad. We realised of course that this was the Belgian spelling of Tutankamun.
A tasty tagine was accompanied by hummus and salad.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

This is a very small restaurant in Bruge but the food is amazing !! Would defiantly visit again we had Lamb with Rice , hommous and khubz, the lamb came with complimentary sauces including hulba , home made coleslaw with the Lamb if ur looking for something romantic don't go here like I said its small ( and a few families where there when we went ) but if good food at a reasonable price this is a great place to be while in Bruge !

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toetanchamon also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Toetanchamon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toetanchamon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.