We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, excellent small hotel to explore Bruges” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bryghia Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Bryghia Hotel to your Saves list
Bryghia Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oosterlingenplein 4, Bruges 8000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 101 Hotels in Bruges
Gifford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
263 helpful votes 263 helpful votes
“Great Location, excellent small hotel to explore Bruges”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

The hotel is located only a few minutes walk from the central square of Bruges and was a perfect location to explore this wonderful city. Yes the owners can appear a bit reserved when you first arrive but this we found to be the norm while exploring Bruges, and once they get to know you they open up and are very helpful. Hotel is located right on the side of one of the canals and at night is very quiet. Always lots of hot water for shower or baths and they have a nice small lounge and lovely dining room. Breakfast was assorted cold meats, cheeses, tinned & fresh fruits, yoghurts, cereals, and assorted bread & rolls, and boiled eggs. We had room 28 which had a side view on to the canal and was a good size. Friends who were also staying had room 35 and had 2 windows overlooking the canal but the room was slightly smaller. Rooms have flat screen tv with 4 UK channels (BBC1&2 ITV 1 & 2) and tea/coffee facilities as well as fridge & safe (at no extra cost). Streets around the hotel were always very quiet at night even over the weekend and we found the whole of Bruges a very quiet and safe city. To sum up the Bryghia is a wonderful hotel for you trip to Bruges, clean, well located with owners who to start with may appear a bit reserved but open up once the get to know you and are very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    130
    32
    4
    5
See reviews for
33
171
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

Less than 5 minutes walk to the centre of Bruges, several great restaurants and bars. The owners were a lttle reserved possibly even a tad curt but ok and amenable to our request to store bags on our last day after we checked out. The rooms are a bit on the small side but clean and ok as long as you haven't taken loads and loads of clothes as the hanging space was a bit tight but. Breakfast was fine usual stuff of fruit, bread, cheese, ham etc. All in all a perfectly good small hotel made excellent by its ideal location and value for money price.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights at this small, quiet, family run hotel situated near the canal. It is really pretty and cosy. The standard double rooms are quite small, but more than adequate. There is a kettle, tv,mini bar and a safe in each room. Very comfortable bed. The continental breakfast is excellent and served until 10am. There is also a lift.
The walk to the centre of Bruges takes about 8 minutes. Good value chocolate shop nearby too!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
369 reviews 369 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 168 cities Reviews in 168 cities
497 helpful votes 497 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

We stayed here in March 2011, on our annual trip to Bruges. Without repeating myself, the hotel is worth a few places above its Tripadvisor rating.

Our room, thirty-something, was perfectly adequate, if a little on the small side. The shower was rather pokey. There was a T.V., tea and coffee making facilities, and everything in the room functionned. The hotel's position, on Oosterlingen Plein, is both quiet yet convenient, 5 - 10 minues from The Garre, one of Bruges' finest bars (see Tripadvisor restaurants).

Admittedly, our hosts are not exactly full of the joys of Spring (see other Tripadvisor posts alleging rudeness). They are polite and helpful when engaged, however. People in service industries in Belgium, and elsewhere in Europe, are not expected to wear a faux sincere smile at all times.

As I mentioned before, breakfasts, in a lovely breakfast room are delightful. Everything is fresh. My only MAJOR complaint is that the coffee could be hotter and stronger.

Booking through TravelRepublic last summer, we paid a shade under £160 for three nights, B & B. Pretty good value, we thought.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onamia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

The Hotel Bryghia was extremely old but very well kept. Rooms were sufficient in size. The breakfast was worth waking up for each day. The quaint living style bar offered many local beers and wine. The room overlooked the canal and was very romantic. The desk staff went out of their way to be helpful, even before we arrived. Convenient location right near the center square. Bedding and linens were high quality. First rate all the way. This will be our first choice of places to stay when we return to Brugge.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE Lincs
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2010

We (7 ladies) booked through travelagent/supetbreak P&O ferries for an extended weekend to the Brugges Christmas Markets (4nights) to celebrate a friends special birthday. The price we paid for the quality of hotel was amazing. 2nights boat outside cabin + 2 nights/continental breakfast hotel = £125. The hotel was nestled in a lovely quite square 10 mins walk from the main square. We received a very warm welcome. We had 2 x twin rooms and 1 x tripple room which were roomy well decorated and very very comfy beds, huge bathroom. The continental breakfast was excellent = fresh assorted fruit, yoghurts, breakfast cereal, cheese, ham, boiled eggs plus a choice of breads/rolls and croissants and preserves, freshly filtered coffee or tea and really set you up for a good days sightseeing/shopping. We would definitely recommend this hotel to couples and groups.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

We were very impressed by the standard of the rooms and quality of the whole hotel - the staff were very helpful and accommodating

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bryghia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryghia Hotel

Address: Oosterlingenplein 4, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#41 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#42 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bryghia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HostelBookers so you can book your Bryghia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryghia Hotel Bruges

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bryghia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.