We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Karel de Stoute

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Karel de Stoute to your Saves list
Hotel Karel de Stoute
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Moerstraat 23, Bruges 8000, Belgium   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
At least 5% cheaper
Ranked #27 of 101 Hotels in Bruges
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We returned after some years and like this hotel because it is family run and nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are large and well equipped and very comfortable beds. Excellent breakfast and overall excellent value.

Room Tip: First floor rooms are more accessible
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    56
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
19
73
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport -Trefdraeth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were here for a long weekend for my father-in-laws 70th birthday. He loves Bruges and knows it really well. This hotel is brilliantly positioned for the centre, shopping area and Christmas Market, I'd say a genuine 10 minute stroll away. The hotel doesn't have any parking but will reserve a parking bay at a nearby hotel, again about 10 minutes away. Beware - the carpark entry and exit is very narrow - I had my heart in my mouth every time we went in and out! Also there is a joyous one way system in Bruges so if you miss the carpark or the hotel make yourself comfy as you'll need to go around again.....and again.

The hotel is up a few stone steps which aren't too bad but did get icy. The rooms were nice, bed was a bit low for us in room 10. The bathroom was basic but clean and big enough. The one thing that was a nightmare was the stairs - they nearly did for us every time we went up them. So many, with thick carpet and very steep. My parents would have struggled. If we stayed here again we'd ask for a lower floor as we had the best part of 4 flights to navigate.

Breakfast was the best continental breakfast we've ever had. Good range of cold meats, cheeses, and breads. Not much in the way of fruit or cereal but we did get a small glass of fruit cocktail each. Teas and coffees all good and hot. Pastries were nice too.

Generally lovely, quiet central hotel with lovely staff. Perfect for a Bruges break.

Room Tip: Don't get one at the top of the stars unless you like mountain climbing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dakar, Senegal
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

booked three nights, tow rooms for my friend and myslef. Iw as arriving late and they offered me a hide away room at the rear where it was totally peaceful and silent. my friend had aroom at the fornt which had more of the olde world charm but it was also very peacful. Both very clean, very comfortable, good bathroom facilities - walk in shower in my frined room, totally 5 star level. Breakfast was full of warm fresh breads, cheeses to die for, eggs if you want them, good quality coffee.
Location was walkign distance from all the sights, and nice bars nearby.

Room Tip: I read soem reviews that rooms at the front were a bit noisy. This was not my experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benfleet
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

stayed at Karel de Stoute Brugge, good value for money, nice trappiste style bar underground. Gretta the owner very welcoming,breakfast continental style, well positioned to the square, for the weekend well worth a visit

Room Tip: number 3 has a nice wet room style shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deptford, New Jersey, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Named after the 15th Century Duke of Burgundy, Charles the Bold, Hotel Karel de Stoute is conveniently located a few short blocks from the main square in Bruges in a quiet area of Bruges. Owner-operated, all hotel staff we met were friendly and very helpful. The dining room was a lovely space with a varied and memorable breakfast. Our room was small and located in the back area of the hotel. The free wifi was not reaching the room. Perhaps this will be fixed soon. It was quiet and clean but next time I think we will ask for a room in the main building. The hotel offered very good value and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014

As the title indicates, the service here is five star. The owner is very friendly and helpful, and the staff at breakfast were lovely. Thank goodness for Hans, the owner's son for delivering our luggage to our room and bringing it down for us when we left. Because there was absolutely no way we could have done it ourselves. Unfortunately, when looking for a place to stay in Bruges, nowhere did I read that we might have to climb two flights of stairs to access our room. It was only once we had already set out on our travels that I read reviews indicating this might be the case. I did email the hotel requesting a room on a lower floor, but we were given one on the second floor. With our arthritic knees, it was quite a climb. The room itself was quiet, and typically 3 star. Nothing particularly wrong with it, although storage space was minimal and no way could I access the safe. Wifi was fine and there were tea and coffee making facilities, which were much appreciated.
Positives were the staff, as already mentioned, the public areas, which were lovely, the
location of the property and the great breakfast provided each morning. The fresh juice and fresh fruit were a welcome surprise, and cooked eggs were also offered, as well as toast, cereal and other continental breakfast offerings. So I have rated the property on the whole as 4 star, because of the positives, but if stairs are a problem for you - they were steep, especially up to the second floor - I would look elsewhere.

Room Tip: No lift and steep stairs, so beware.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights for our recent trip to Bruges. We were well-welcomed, and the owners were very attentive throughout our trip. It was only a few minutes walk from great sights and restaurants, and cheaper than other hotels in the vicinity.

Breakfast was great, with fresh fruit being brought out to you on arrival, then more then the usual assortment of toasts, cheese, ham, cereal, etc.

Our bed was very big and comfortable - perfect after all the walking we had done while sightseeing. We had tea and coffee making facilities and a good shower.

The only possible room for improvement is that, when asking for the wifi code, we were casually told that the wifi didn't stretch to our room. I had booked this hotel with free wifi as a specific criteria so this was quite disappointing. However, we did have sporadic access in the room, and could always PPP down to the communal areas, so it was actually fine!

I'd definitely recommend this hotel for the price.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Karel de Stoute? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Karel de Stoute

Address: Moerstraat 23, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#37 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Karel de Stoute 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nice and cosy family Hotel in the hart of Bruges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Karel de Stoute reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karel De Stoute Bruges
Karel De Stoute Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Karel de Stoute, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.