We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Karel de Stoute

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Karel de Stoute to your Saves list
Hotel Karel de Stoute
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Moerstraat 23, Bruges 8000, Belgium   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€95 (EUR)
Ranked #25 of 100 Hotels in Bruges
Derbyshire, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

A great hotel, set in a quiet neighbourhood just 5 minutes walk to the Bell tower and all the shops. Stayed here with my wife for two nights. The hotel owners (mother and son), couldn't do enough for us, providing maps and business cards for local restaurants etc. We were in a room at the back of the hotel, and would best be described as functional. It was fine for us, as we didn't spend too long during the day in the room and we slept very well. I'm told the rooms in the main house have more character. The breakfast was fantastic with freshly squeezed orange juice and a fruit cocktail as a starter. There was an ample supply of coffee and a buffet of bread, croissants, ham, cheese, jams, cereals etc. We had a drink on the last evening in the cellar/bar. It's just a shame we were the only ones in there as it had a great atmosphere. Overall we would recommend the hotel and would certainly stay there when we next go to Bruges.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    77
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
25
101
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

A quiet little hotel close to the centre of Brugge. We walked to everything. As others have mentioned the personal service from the owners is quite special. Our room was clean and comfortable while a little tired. Breakfast was included and was served in a beautiful room again with lovely personal service. The stairs to our room on the second floor were hard work after a full day of sightseeing but hearing the carillon play from the bell tower was delightful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

My husband and I had a wonderful stay in this lovely hotel. It is well located on a quiet street a short walk from the Markt and an easy walk to everything to see in Bruges. The room we stayed in was clean, well decorated, spacious, and had a very pleasant, romantic feel. The breakfast included with the stay was wonderful with an assortment of meats, cheeses, breads, yogurt, fruit, and cereal, and fresh squeezed orange juice. Overall we felt it was an exceptional value for the price. The Mother/Son owners were very kind and helpful and had many recommendations for tourist sites and restaurants. We would definitely recommend this hotel to any of our friends or family and would consider staying again if we ever make it back to Bruges. It was a bit of a trek from the train station to the hotel especially with our heavy backpacks but doable. Like most of the old houses in the low countries the stairs in the hotel are plentiful and steep. Just considerations for those with large amounts of luggage.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

The hotel is very nice and comfortable. The people working here (a family) are very nice and the service is great. I am having a great breakfast while writing this listenign nice music. A great stay in Brujas.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We stayed over valentines weekend, unsure of what to expect from Bruges and the hotel. But what we found was so unique, Karel De Stoute was such a wonderful find, the owners couldn't have done any more so helpful showing us all the best places to visit and explore. Rooms were perfect cosy, modern & quiet for a good nights sleep to recharge after a long day sightseeing, exactly what we needed. Continental breakfast was lovely and the bar is such a lovely place to wind down or for a pre drink before you go out for dinner. We loved every second, such a gorgeous place to visit, we loved it so much we have booked again for New Year! See you again soon :) x

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, Washington
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

These folks where nice, helped us arrange parking for our rental car, and was with dinner reservations. The free breakfast was great, the wifi was hassle free as well. It was in a good location we could walk anywhere in Bruge in less than 10 minutes. I would stay here again if I was passing through.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

This is a nice little hotel. Our room was cozy and well decorated, the breakfast was exceptionally good for a continental breakfast. Nothing was too much for the staff, very warming and genuinely friendly. They were also extremely helpful with local knowledge of the many attractions, providing guidance on where and when to go to find the good deals and to not fall into the tourist traps. As with typical bustling Belgian City streets, parking is very limited - however an underground car park is available close by at reasonable rates (gets cheaper, the longer you stay).

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Biskajer
Hotel Biskajer
#16 of 100 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 stars 384 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Patritius
Hotel Patritius
#13 of 100 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 stars 483 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Jan Brito
Hotel Jan Brito
#24 of 100 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 stars 951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Loreto
Hotel Restaurant Loreto
#18 of 100 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 stars 258 reviews
0.5 mi away
Botaniek  Hotel
Botaniek Hotel
#12 of 100 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 stars 205 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anselmus Hotel
Anselmus Hotel
#20 of 100 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 stars 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Karel de Stoute? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Karel de Stoute

Address: Moerstraat 23, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#34 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Karel de Stoute 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nice and cosy family Hotel in the hart of Bruges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Karel de Stoute reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karel De Stoute Bruges
Karel De Stoute Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Karel de Stoute, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.