We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for such a lovely hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Karel de Stoute

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Karel de Stoute to your Saves list
Hotel Karel de Stoute
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Moerstraat 23, Bruges 8000, Belgium   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€95 (EUR)
Ranked #28 of 100 Hotels in Bruges
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent value for such a lovely hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

My husband and I had a wonderful stay in this lovely hotel. It is well located on a quiet street a short walk from the Markt and an easy walk to everything to see in Bruges. The room we stayed in was clean, well decorated, spacious, and had a very pleasant, romantic feel. The breakfast included with the stay was wonderful with an assortment of meats, cheeses, breads, yogurt, fruit, and cereal, and fresh squeezed orange juice. Overall we felt it was an exceptional value for the price. The Mother/Son owners were very kind and helpful and had many recommendations for tourist sites and restaurants. We would definitely recommend this hotel to any of our friends or family and would consider staying again if we ever make it back to Bruges. It was a bit of a trek from the train station to the hotel especially with our heavy backpacks but doable. Like most of the old houses in the low countries the stairs in the hotel are plentiful and steep. Just considerations for those with large amounts of luggage.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    73
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
24
95
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

The hotel is very nice and comfortable. The people working here (a family) are very nice and the service is great. I am having a great breakfast while writing this listenign nice music. A great stay in Brujas.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We stayed over valentines weekend, unsure of what to expect from Bruges and the hotel. But what we found was so unique, Karel De Stoute was such a wonderful find, the owners couldn't have done any more so helpful showing us all the best places to visit and explore. Rooms were perfect cosy, modern & quiet for a good nights sleep to recharge after a long day sightseeing, exactly what we needed. Continental breakfast was lovely and the bar is such a lovely place to wind down or for a pre drink before you go out for dinner. We loved every second, such a gorgeous place to visit, we loved it so much we have booked again for New Year! See you again soon :) x

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

These folks where nice, helped us arrange parking for our rental car, and was with dinner reservations. The free breakfast was great, the wifi was hassle free as well. It was in a good location we could walk anywhere in Bruge in less than 10 minutes. I would stay here again if I was passing through.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

This is a nice little hotel. Our room was cozy and well decorated, the breakfast was exceptionally good for a continental breakfast. Nothing was too much for the staff, very warming and genuinely friendly. They were also extremely helpful with local knowledge of the many attractions, providing guidance on where and when to go to find the good deals and to not fall into the tourist traps. As with typical bustling Belgian City streets, parking is very limited - however an underground car park is available close by at reasonable rates (gets cheaper, the longer you stay).

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

This was a nice little hotel. The rooms are cozy and the breakfast was nice but the service was the best. We were late to breakfast everyday and they kept it open until we got there. Same thing at night too. They were also helpful with local atractions, parking etc as expected.

Room Tip: Parking is free but a few blocks from the hotel so park in front to drop off your bags.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

You will find a warm welcome here from the mother and son owners. The hotel is ideally placed for exploring Bruges and they offer lots of advice on places to visit. The breakfast is superb and the service great. Superb value for money

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Karel de Stoute? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Karel de Stoute

Address: Moerstraat 23, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#29 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Karel de Stoute 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nice and cosy family Hotel in the hart of Bruges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Karel de Stoute reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karel De Stoute Bruges
Karel De Stoute Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Karel de Stoute, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.