We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful hidden gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Karel de Stoute

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Karel de Stoute to your Saves list
Hotel Karel de Stoute
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Moerstraat 23, Bruges 8000, Belgium   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€95 (EUR)
Ranked #29 of 100 Hotels in Bruges
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful hidden gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We stayed over valentines weekend, unsure of what to expect from Bruges and the hotel. But what we found was so unique, Karel De Stoute was such a wonderful find, the owners couldn't have done any more so helpful showing us all the best places to visit and explore. Rooms were perfect cosy, modern & quiet for a good nights sleep to recharge after a long day sightseeing, exactly what we needed. Continental breakfast was lovely and the bar is such a lovely place to wind down or for a pre drink before you go out for dinner. We loved every second, such a gorgeous place to visit, we loved it so much we have booked again for New Year! See you again soon :) x

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    75
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
25
98
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Renton, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

These folks where nice, helped us arrange parking for our rental car, and was with dinner reservations. The free breakfast was great, the wifi was hassle free as well. It was in a good location we could walk anywhere in Bruge in less than 10 minutes. I would stay here again if I was passing through.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

This is a nice little hotel. Our room was cozy and well decorated, the breakfast was exceptionally good for a continental breakfast. Nothing was too much for the staff, very warming and genuinely friendly. They were also extremely helpful with local knowledge of the many attractions, providing guidance on where and when to go to find the good deals and to not fall into the tourist traps. As with typical bustling Belgian City streets, parking is very limited - however an underground car park is available close by at reasonable rates (gets cheaper, the longer you stay).

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

This was a nice little hotel. The rooms are cozy and the breakfast was nice but the service was the best. We were late to breakfast everyday and they kept it open until we got there. Same thing at night too. They were also helpful with local atractions, parking etc as expected.

Room Tip: Parking is free but a few blocks from the hotel so park in front to drop off your bags.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

You will find a warm welcome here from the mother and son owners. The hotel is ideally placed for exploring Bruges and they offer lots of advice on places to visit. The breakfast is superb and the service great. Superb value for money

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
107 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed for 1 nights and chose this hotel for the 2nd time. The hotel is located close to the centre, about 5 minutes walk from the Grand Place, on a fairly quiet road. The welcome was friendly and the room at the back was cosy and quiet. Breakfast is fresh and a good choice with a glass of fresh juice brought out when you sit down as well as a nice fruit salad. The owners are friendly and offer good information and very accommodating. Car parking is about a 5 minute walk from the hotel in the Biekorf underground car park which costs e8.70 for 24 hours. Having stayed here twice we would choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

we were a party of 5 , booked 2 rooms , WOW, outstanding service and hospitality, couldn't fault anything, very warm and welcoming right from the word go, rooms are very comfortable, breakfast was faultless,bar area was unique and full of character, only downfall was quite expensive to eat out, but would recommend the hotel and would defiantly return , thank you for a lovely 3 days.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Biskajer
Hotel Biskajer
#16 of 100 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 stars 365 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Patritius
Hotel Patritius
#13 of 100 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 stars 476 reviews
0.5 mi away
Botaniek  Hotel
Botaniek Hotel
#11 of 100 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 stars 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Loreto
Hotel Restaurant Loreto
#19 of 100 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 stars 253 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Jan Brito
Hotel Jan Brito
#26 of 100 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 stars 924 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anselmus Hotel
Anselmus Hotel
#21 of 100 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 stars 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Karel de Stoute? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Karel de Stoute

Address: Moerstraat 23, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#32 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Karel de Stoute 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nice and cosy family Hotel in the hart of Bruges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Karel de Stoute reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karel De Stoute Bruges
Karel De Stoute Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Karel de Stoute, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.