We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, Good Deal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Canalview Hotel Ter Reien

Save Saved
You added Canalview Hotel Ter Reien to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Canalview Hotel Ter Reien
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Langestraat 1, Bruges 8000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 101 hotels in Bruges
Taunton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Location, Good Deal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Loved this hotel, it looked exactly like it did in the pictures I'd seen. The location was perfect, really central (literally a 5 minute walk to Burg and Markt) and easy to find. The room was clean and a decent size, the bathroom was on the small side (almost a wetroom) but it did the job. The breakfast was really nice.
It ticked all the boxes for me, I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    106
    229
    96
    28
    22
See reviews for
50
265
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aston, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Overall, my wife and I were very impressed with what we got for the price. The place was well presented, and we were very happy with the room. I'd vote this place for #1 in the value category.

Pros:
Location, location, location! 5-10 minute walk into the center of town.
Everything was clean.
Canal view is amazing.

Cons:
Bathroom was small. I've been on cruises with bigger bathrooms.
No screen on window. A removable screen would have been nice, so you could dangle your feet out the window if you want, but otherwise keep the bugs out.
Breakfast buffet was okay at best. The supply of food was adequate, but the help couldn't bring it out fast enough.

Room Tip: Get a room on the canal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

This is the 2nd time myself and partner have stayed at this hotel.
Central location.
Basic but cheap.
Good breakfast buffet.
And yes, as other reviewers have said, the reception staff are not the most smiley chatty people you have met but they help with any queries.
I'd stay a third time.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights in a canal view room. The hotel was in a great location, we walked everywhere and there were great restaurants opposite, would recommend Punta Est. The breakfast was very nice with a good choice and a lovely breakfast room and courtyard to eat in. Staff very helpful, everything very clean and bed very comfortable. The bathroom mentioned by others was tiny and not particularly private with its frosted glass saloon doors but everything in it worked properly and it was adequate for our needs.
Bruges was a lovely city to spend a few relaxing days and the hotel added to our enjoyment; we loved being woken by the sound of ducks quacking and splashing in the canal outside our open window.
Hire bicycles for a day, the canal side cycle paths are easy and level ,we cycled to Sluis in Holland and then to Knokke on the coast, 50km in total and we haven't cycled for years! A little sore the next day but it was great fun.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Choose this hotel for its location...it's proximity not only to the canal, but to Vismarkt, fabulous eateries.

As a bargain you'd end up settling for a piegon-hole room, where you may just manage to use a bathroom fitted in the floor size of a bathtub. Beds are comfortable, but what good are they if in the night you could hear guests staying in adjacent room snoring through not-so-soundproof walls.

Again two thumbs up for the location...but as I move my hands to express that..my hands feel the walls of the room :P

On other amenities...well where to begin
Internet = Charged (not cool)
well that's it...and yeah they do hand over a map at the time of checkin.

I pre-booked the hotel well in advance...at almost 100EUR a night...but it was shocking to find a sign-board stating they were offering the rooms at 75EUR with breakfast....well that was an eye-sore.

Room Tip: Try the canal facing room...else look for a different hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Our stay at Hotel Ter Reien was lovely. The room itself, though not huge, was big enough for us to put up a travel cot; the cabin style bathroom that many others complain about in reviews was absolutely fine and the location was perfect - beautiful view of the canal and just a few minutes' walk to the main square. Breakfast was plentiful and relaxed. We had a bit of a shock when we first entered the room and found the ground level windows opened directly to the canal with no grille or rail at all - a death trap for a 2 year old! - but we quickly decided that we could easily cope by not opening the window! It may just be worth asking for a safer room if you have children! Otherwise, a beautiful place and very friendly hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a child friendly room if necessary - one that doesn't open straight onto the canal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Canalview Hotel Ter Reien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canalview Hotel Ter Reien

Address: Langestraat 1, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 101 hotels in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Canalview Hotel Ter Reien 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ter Reien is situated an arm's length from the Burg and the Main Market square. On top of its central location, the hotel has a quiet placement away from all commotion and charges a reasonable price. An ideal choice for those who prefer individual and friendly service. Enjoy your stay in a relaxed and casual ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Canalview Hotel Ter Reien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ter Reien Hotel
Ter Reien Bruges

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canalview Hotel Ter Reien, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.