We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another wonderful visit!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of De Drie Koningen

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bruges
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
De Drie Koningen
Save
You added De Drie Koningen to your Saves list
Twijnstraat 13 - 17, Bruges, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Camp Hill
2 reviews
“Another wonderful visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I have been staying with Nico and Ann since 1997 and have never been disappointed with anything! They are most helpful with any question that I have put to them. The apartments
are all lovely and located very conveniently. I highly recommend staying with them in their lovely place!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
44
21
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I am not one for writing reviews on places I have stayed but for De Drie Koningen I feel I need to make an exception. This the second time we have stayed at De Drie Koningen at they have been great. Nico and Ann are very helpful and welcoming hosts. We have stayed in two different apartments now and they have been both as good as each other. The honest bar in reception is a fantastic touch to the apartments and the prices are very reasonable. I am yet to stay at another place that offers this unique feature. I would recommend these apartments to anyone looking for a place to stay in Bruges and confident enough to say that I am sure you will not be disappointed. I look forward to returning for another stay again soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We had the most fantastic stay in Carmers which added to our enjoyment of what has to be one of the most beautiful European cities, and De Drie Koningen is in the perfect location to explore Brugge. The apartment has a real 'wow' factor when you walk in - it is beautifully decorated and the living area is absolutely huge. Everything about it is comfortable. The living area has two very comfortable lounges on which to loll while watching one of the many DVDs provided by Nico and Ann who clearly know how to look after their guests. The kitchen is very well equipped with all the glassware, crockery etc you could possible need. The stove is great and the combination microwave/convection oven gives you a range of cooking options. There is not, however, a conventional oven. The bed is large and comfortable although the provision of a couple more pillows would be appreciated. There is plenty of hanging space with that rarest of provisions - plenty of coat hangers. There is a large bathroom with a very much appreciated heated towel rail. While we were there Belgium had some less than spring-like weather and we found the apartment easy to heat and cosy. The other lovely thing is the roof terrace. While it doesn't have a particularly nice outlook it's great to sit up there and have a drink - often from the fantastic range of beers offered in the 'honesty bar' - when the weather permits. My only word of caution is that there are a number of steep stairs to haul your luggage up and you need to be quite careful when coming down, in particular. We adored our stay in Carmers and hope to revisit De Drie Koningen one day in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambrdgeshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

For my wife’s 50th birthday she wanted to go to Bruges with another couple, so we did and booked the Onze-Lieve-Vrouw’ apartment within De Drie Koningen.

After a lovely champagne breakfast at St Pancras and picnic lunch on Eurostar we walked from the railway station to the apartment. The location was perfect as it was very near the centre but still quiet and relaxing with a delightful balcony at which we sat and soaked up the sun. It had everything we needed and, although there was only 4 of us in the apartment which is a six person, it was spacious and well equipped (one suggestion is that you could add a separate toaster to the kitchen). The apartment had been renovated to a high standard and bathrooms, beds and furniture were neat and tidy.

The honesty bar and the bakery app were particularly appreciated and I would recommend taking the opportunity to sample every single one of the beers on offer, we did. Incidentally we were very impressed at the price of the beer as there was very little mark up.

We did have some nosy neighbours in one of the lower apartments on the first night who partied until 5am but they were burned out for the rest of the weekend and didn’t hear a peep.

If you chose to come to Bruges, I would recommend the apartment as it is a perfect base from which to take in the sights, sounds and smells of what is a large town rather than a city around which you can walk. On the Saturday there was a birthday treat of a personal guided tour of Bruges which was really engaging and full of those stories that you can never quite hear when part of a larger group. There are loads of restaurants in Bruges and we sampled several; on Friday night we ate at the ‘T Schrijvekre’ near the Gruuthuse Museum, looked more expensive than it was and served up a quality meal; on Saturday we went to the small Lebanese restaurant (near the obligatory Irish bar) on the right as you walk from the apartment to the square, it was a good value filling meal; but on the Sunday we had pre-booked an evening at De Stove at which we enjoyed a wonderful 4 course meal which I’ll cover in a separate review. On the Sunday morning we hired 4 bikes and cycled to Damme, sampled a few more beers and wobbled our way back tucking into well earned plate of frites on the market square. We left Bruges after a long lazy lunch in the Central Restaurant on the market square on the Monday.

I’d definitely return to the apartment and to Bruges. Even now, every time I look at the fridge magnet I’ll have a smile on my face at our wonderful birthday bash.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nico U, Owner at De Drie Koningen, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
The toaster will be there next time ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Having selected this apartment some 4 months ago from Tripadvisor from the photos and comments, we were more than surprised the the accommodations were better than we expected.

Nico was very helpful and accommodating to our needs. Even parked the car in the garage for us as I was still getting over the horrific drive from Paris. (Right side of the road, Left side of the vehicle). Never again...

Nico showed us into our apartment Charmers, and we were very pleasantly surprised both with the cleanliness and the size. at 100sqm it was four times the size of our Paris accommodation.

We were also presented with an Ipad for contact with Nico, ordering of baked goods and various other tourist advice. This was very helpful to us.

As you enter the complex there is the Belgian beer area which is an honour system and works very well. You select your beer and the appropriate glass and take it off to you room. Fill in the form and pay as you check out. Very civilised.

We found the accommodation very well located about 2 min walk to the main square and as walking you can stop of for Breakfast at a great little patisserie about half way. Can't remember the name but you cant miss it.

This accommodation was one of the highlights of our trip and even though we had a 2 person unit the also come in 4, 6 and 8 persons.

I could not speak any higher of this property and it was a great part of our trip.

The only downside of Brugge but not Brugge's fault is that I will never hirer a car out of Paris again. Catch the train !!!

Jeff Greaney.

Room Tip: Book well ahead as this was booked out some 3 months eariler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We were a bit sceptical at first as we had found another property, with no availability in the end, that seemed to offer the same facilities but for 3 times the price. This was for my Dad's surprise 80th birthday so I was very nervous. However there was no need. We stayed in St Jan apartment and had a fabulous visit.

The apartments are incredibly well equipped with pretty much everything you could possibly need. It was clean and tidy, very spacious and every detail had been well thought out; from the well stocked honesty bar to the beautiful fresh flowers.

The iPad was a brilliant touch as it supplied us with so much information regarding the local area and acted as our tour guide. Nico was on hand whenever we needed him to answer any other queries we has and was the perfect host throughout.

The location too is ideal, a quick 5 minute walk and you are in the heart of Bruges.

There were 8 plus one baby in our party and we only stayed for 3 nights but are already looking to book one of the smaller apartments to go back later in the year!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed four nights in St Niklaas and had a great time. This two bedroom apartment is extremely spacious, much bigger than we expected but at the same time it feels very homely. We travelled with our 2 year old daughter and she loved running around the apartment and hiding in different rooms. We were provided with a cot and high chair as requested.
Nico is very charming and welcoming. We also enjoyed the little extras like the Honesty bar, great selection of DVDs (much more than the usual Holywood selection), iPad and getting fresh bread delivered in the mornings. The location is great as well - very central but a quiet street, near good restaurants and shops. (There is a lovely Brazilian Coffee place is just around the corner - we used to get our coffees there every morning). I would definitely recommend the apartment to everyone who is planning a tip to Bruges! Absolutely perfect!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to De Drie Koningen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Drie Koningen

Address: Twijnstraat 13 - 17, Bruges, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel at home in 'De Drie Koningen' - Bruges 6 comfortable and spacious apartments in the same location. Very centrally located in Bruges. Historical heritage (14th – 19th century) apartments until 8 persons | until 4 bedrooms, garden | private parking space | swimming pool****-holiday rental licensed by the Flemish/Belgian government. Available all year round for weeks, midweek and weekend breaks. Hope to welcome you soon in Bruges, Ann & Nico ... more   less 
Also Known As:
De Drie Koningen Hotel Bruges

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Drie Koningen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.