We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel in quiet location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges to your Saves list
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ontvangersstraat 9, Bruges 8000, Belgium   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 101 Hotels in Bruges
Hastings, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Charming hotel in quiet location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

This is a charming hotel in a quiet narrow street minutes from the main squares and historic sites. The reception area is beautifully furnished and the hotel immediately feels very welcoming.

We had a de luxe room overlooking the back of the hotel which was spacious and included a sitting area and french doors that opened onto a small terrace. The modern bathroom had a jacuzzi bath, large shower, double basins and plenty of towels. Toiletries were plentiful and of good quality.

Everything in the room was very clean with pillowcases and towels changed daily. Service was excellent in all respects. Staff were friendly and helpful with nothing too much trouble. The hotel has no restaurant but there is 24 hour room service so we were able to have lovely fresh coffee delivered to our room every morning ( together with English newspaper headlines).
Breakfast was fresh with plenty of everything healthy the bread selection being especially delicious.

This was our first time in Bruges and we chose the hotel from other Trip Adviser reviews. This turned out to be a very good choice and I would happily recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,280
    141
    25
    7
    3
See reviews for
151
1,017
30
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

I booked the Prinsenhof on the back of other excellent trip advisor reviews and it did not disappoint. From the warm welcome every time we stepped into the hotel, the beautiful and light room, through to the amazing breakfasts. The main common areas are really lovely. The reception merges into a waiting / bar area with papers. It feels very easygoing and familiar. The room was beautifully done up with gorgeous linen and towels, flat screen TV, and amazing bathroom (jacuzzi bath + shower + his n' hers basins). Very very comfortable bed. I slept like a dream. The breakfast is amazing! Homemade jams, lovely breads (forget the croissants and go the local sunflower seed brown bread), full cooked if you want. Front of house staff are very helpful - we were steerd in the way of excellent restaurants and, in a city crammed full of chocolatiers, to the best ones. Great location - couple of mins to the main square. Very romantic, as was needed for my first mini-break away from toddler for a long time.

Room Tip: 3rd floor rooms are beautifully light
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londonderry, Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

We booked the Prinsenhof having read the very positive reviews on Tripadvisor and were not disappointed. It is hard to identify any way in which our stay this small hotel could be improved - perhaps the staff could be a little less hospitable. My wife and I would play a game whereby we would try to sneak in or out of the hotel without provoking a cheerful "Goodbye, "Hallo", "Enjoy your day", but never once succeeded. The room was very comfortable, the hotel was quiet and even though we were at the front of the hotel, we experienced very little traffic noise; the hotel is on a small road. As with other continental hotels there were no tea and coffee making facilities in the room but this is normal and we had brought our own travel kettle. The breakfast was superb and as we had booked a b+b holiday through Cresta was included in the price. I would not want to be paying the hotel prices if I was booking with the hotel direct, but the price of £500 for three nights including, Eurostar from London was very reasonable, especially for the quality. The hotel is only a short walk from the main square. The train station is a 20 minute walk, mostly through a park. A taxi from the station to the hotel is 8 euros.
The hotel is extending into the property next door and in addition to increasing the number of bedrooms this will help to improve the facilites on the ground floor, providing a larger breakfast room and bar.

Room Tip: We enjoyed staying in our room at the front of the hotel on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

First off, this is an expensive hotel. I paid 175 per night for the room and breakfast was an additional 20 euro per person. So this was a really special treat, which I very rarely do. But I have absolutely no regrets whatsoever about spending this money on what was the nicest hotel I've ever stayed in; and I've stayed in a lot of hotels. The staff were friendly and helpful, warm and welcoming. The hotel was spotless and the decor (in my opinion) just gorgeous. The room we stayed in was just beautiful. It was in the main part of the hotel on the third floor. I was tempted to take photos and replicate it at home I was so comfortable there. The location is great, as it's just off one of the main shopping streets and a five minute walk from Grote Markt. Despite the great location, it was quiet and cosy. 20 euro per person is a lot for breakfast, but it was delicious and the service was fantastic. If you are like my other half and elegant decor etc. is of no interest to you, then I suspect it might be a bit too costly for you. If, however, you're the sort of person who gets a lot of enjoyment out of staying in beautiful surroundings and having silver service breakfasts (for example, if you are the sort of person who enjoys afternoon tea), then this is definitely the hotel for you. I stayed here with my mother, who adored it as much as I did.

Room Tip: I didn't see any other rooms except my own, but mine was a new room but in the main part of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Arrived for 3 night stay and were originally given a room to the back of the hotel in a motel type extension with (other people's) cars parked right in front of the door. Fortunately, upon our request, the staff were very helpful in moving us to a first floor room in the main building. This was fine with all the expected facilities. Reception very helpful in recommending and booking battlefields tour. Breakfast was fine although the breakfast room is rather cramped.

Room Tip: Get a room in the main building not the "motel"
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights for a mini moon and it was perfect. Centrally located, small hotel, staff very lovely and not too invasive, yummy breakfast, great decoration and lovely rooms. We did the culninary experience and the 2 restaurants were top notch. The first, Kardinalshof (?), was absolutely perfect- see separate review. We had room 32 with jacuzzi and four poster bed and as a lovely surprise they provided us with a bottle of champagne as it was our honeymoon. Would highly recommend. We booked it because it was rated one of all hotels in Bruges so wanted to write this review to ensure they stay up there!
As an add on there were some building works going on next door and on the ground floor of the hotel but didn't notice any noise.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, CT
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Just returned from a trip to Belgium and a stay at the most comfortable and welcoming hotel I have encountered in Europe. Our stay at the Hotel Prinsenhof in Brugge, Belgium began with a warm and informational welcome by the proprietor himself, Thierry Lemahieu. He provided us with several luncheon suggestions, mapped out a variety of walking tours, stored our luggage, and provided an accurate estimate for our room availability.

The room was itself was large, bright, airy, and its various features were demonstrated by the hotel's friendly front desk staffers Paulien and Astrid. The four poster bed was beautiful, and, most importantly, extremely comfortable. The bathroom and separate toilet room were wonderful. For the first time EVER in Europe and almost ever in the USA, it included a DOUBLE sink. There was a whirlpool tub and a separate, very roomy, shower stall.

The location of the hotel is wonderful. It is a short walk down a side street from one of the main commercial way in town. While convenient, it is far enough away from the bustle so that it is extremely quiet.

As I was getting settled in the room, I noticed a welcoming letter from the proprietors. It was personally prepared for us with our names on it, a very nice touch. It described in detail the hotel services including the delicious breakfast-buffet, an included and excellent guided city walking tour, speedy and reliable included wi-fi, a new DVD-CD player and a selection of recent movies, and turn-down service. What was most impressive about the letter is that it named every member of the service team and used the term OUR hotel. I knew right away that the management was both proud and respectful of their service team.

If you are planning a trip to Brugge, don’t even think about staying elsewhere. Your experience will be spectacular.

HGS, MD

Room Tip: You can’t lose with any of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges

Address: Ontvangersstraat 9, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#1 Family Hotel in Bruges
#3 Business Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prinsenhof Hotel Bruges

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.