We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Being renovated but still worth a visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Church of Our Lady (Onze Lieve Vrouwekerk)

Church of Our Lady (Onze Lieve Vrouwekerk)
Vrouwekerkhof Zuid, Bruges 8000, Belgium
00 32-0-50 33 19 17
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 56 Attractions in Bruges
Type: Religious Sites, Historic Sites, Monuments/ Statues, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This church features a 122m spire and what is claimed to be the only Michaelangelo statue to have left Italy in his lifetime.
Israel
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
66 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Being renovated but still worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

The main reson people visit this church is, of course, the work of Michaelangelo, one of the few items outside of Italy. A real treasure.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    281
    302
    126
    34
    12
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“repair”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Half church partitioned museum (apparently Madonna Michelangelo exhibit there, but I have no time for a museum), some construction pieces ... I had no luck ...

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Stay outside!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

No, that's not quite what I mean! The inside of the church is one year into a ten year program of restoration and most everything was covered up (including the famous Michelangelo). We found more of interest poking around the precinct, alleys and courtyards around the church, though the misty November day did add heaps of atmosphere to it all with that amazing brick tower looming over all.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Badulla, Sri Lanka
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Majestic !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

The best in bruges.. So huge and majestic than the holy savior cathedral.. it was closed the day I went..but just going around and seeing huge building gives you a great satisfaction.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“a real must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Don't miss this church not only because of the Madonna of Michelangelo. Look arround and stay astonished. Sit down to meditate

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Church of Our Lady (Onze Lieve Vrouwekerk) also viewed

 

Been to Church of Our Lady (Onze Lieve Vrouwekerk)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Church of Our Lady (Onze Lieve Vrouwekerk), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.