We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel to your Saves list
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wollestraat 41 - 47, Bruges 8000, Belgium   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 101 Hotels in Bruges
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
“Magical”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2010

Due to a glowing recommendation from his sister - my husband decided to surprise me for my 50th Birthday by treating me to a two night stay at this truly beautiful hotel -surely one of the most photographed and picturesque sites in Belgium. The owners and the staff of both the hotel and it's restaurant - which was in a lovely building nearby, were extraordinary. Here's why: unknown to us the above mentioned sister in law had also booked in and travelled from the UK to surprise us with family in tow and the staff managed the impossible task of making certain our paths did not cross from our check in until we arrived at the restaurant that evening. The surprise of finding everyone there at our table was an incredibly surreal and emotional moment and there were tears of joy all round. This happy memory will stay with me forever!

I can't praise them enough for doing everything possible to make sure an "old woman's" Birthday was so special.
I love this hotel and I'm so glad my sister in law loved it too otherwise we would never have gone. From the moment you enter it's fragrant lobby [everywhere was scented with the delicious and subtle aroma of designer candles] you are transported to a magical place by way of the ultra elegant design and extremely clever use of space. Wether in the cosy and romantic little bar area or lingering over the many objets d'art and a fabulous canal view from the breakfast room or the accomodation itself, this atmospheric little gem is an interior designer's dream - quite literally, as this is my line of work I can speak with authority, these people have great taste and an eye for detail. I can't wait for my next visit.


I noticed some negative reviews so I can only say that in our case the service was professional and faultless throughout so am guessing they could be due to misunderstanding or language barriers.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    105
    21
    13
    7
See reviews for
54
456
19
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

Bruges is a city of fairy tale magic, and this wonderful hotel perfectly complements the dream. We stayed three nights here. From the moment we arrived until the moment we reluctantly checked out, we were treated like absolute royalty. Everything about this hotel is top notch.
The hotel is located on a quiet and beautiful canal. We chose Room 21, which has a direct canal view. Well, it actually has much more than "just" a canal view, because the windows all can open wide, and then one looks out upon a tranquil, idyllic scene as if from a balcony. Ducks and swans swam quietly by, as if urging us to remember we were really living in the 17th century. The spectacular view through the open windows made the room seem enormous. The bath was bright and fresh, the linens crisp on the king bed, and the room immaculate. One of the four window sets in the room also possesses a pull-down screen, so it is possible to leave that window open, pull down the screen, and drink in the fresh air. Terrific!
The hotel staff is outstanding, and wonderfully attentive. I'll use Eddie as an example, but the entire staff was exceptional. Eddie was always bursting to help make our day even more enjoyable. He patiently gave us tips on what to see and maps of the city with paths drawn to show us how to get there, he made our dinner reservations and provided us with a "card of introduction" from the hotel to give to each restaurant concierge, insuring our welcome there. He even provided me with a laptop computer for several hours so that I could check on some important emails.
The RBC breakfast experience is also exceptional. The guests are seated at tables which have beautiful leaded glass windows looking out on the canal scene, and a lovely buffet is laid out. In addition, one makes custom orders for items such as eggs, omelets, and Belgian waffles. The waffles were very special -- warm, light as a feather, and very tasty!
The RBC is associated with a very classy and excellent restaurant, at which we dined and we recommend highly. It was called Maria van Bourgondie, and is located a short walk from the hotel.
We believe this outstanding hotel will enhance your enjoyment of the amazing city of Bruges.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

Excellent hotel in central Bruges. The main Square is only a few hundred yards away. We had a room with a lovely view of the river. Staff were excellent, helpful and friendly. Room was very clean and very nicely decorated.

Only downsides are that there was no kettle in the room so no ability to make a hot drink when you want! Standard requirement I would have thought especially with a flat €2.50 room service charge.

Room had a lovely large bathroom but there was no shower just a bath which again was not idea.

Breakfast is €22.50 per person which is very very expensive for breakfast on par with the rest of the city hotels.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

This place is exceptional. It is a jewel - in a jewel of a town. Rarely do you find a combination of warmth of greeting, intimacy of surroundings, beauty of location and elegance of finishings that are found here. If Bruges itself was not worth a detour, this delightful "home" is worth a detour in itself. We felt like privileged guests of the most gracious hosts. The buffet breakfast was itself a treat, including champagne and quail eggs - and the best belgian waffles in town. Unquestionable value.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

This is a fairy tale hotel in a fairy tale town. Incredible charm yet thoroughly modern, first class amenities. A memorable place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

Absolutely beautiful hotel with exceptional staff. Rooms are decorated in traditional style enhancing the charm of the hotel. Huge bed, very large bathroom with big bathtub, lovely view of the canal from the room (room 30 or 32 I think). Staff are helpful, ensuring that all needs are taken care of, without being intrusive. Breakfast is delicious, typical continental. Very quiet hotel, great for a romantic break.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2010

My husband and I just spent two lovely days at this hotel. We could not, and I repeat, could not be more pleased with our stay. The staff was exceptionally friendly, efficient, attentive, considerate and helpful. We selected a room with a canal view and if you stay there, so should you. The room was cozy and comfortable, furnished with antiques. The breakfast buffet is not to be missed. The location is perfect, just a brief walk to the Grote Markt. Upon our return from roaming the city at night, we ended a perfect day sightseeing in Brugge with a few excellent Belgian beers seated by a pleasant fireplace in the small dining room, served by a most accomodating member of the staff. You can't beat the ambience.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel

Address: Wollestraat 41 - 47, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#6 Family Hotel in Bruges
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#12 Business Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic boutique hotel housed in extraordinary waterfront residence, decorated with antiques, objects of art and luxurious fabrics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce Bruges
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce Hotel Bruges

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.