We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely spot on the canals in the heart of medieval Brugge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel to your Saves list
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wollestraat 41 - 47, Bruges 8000, Belgium   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 101 Hotels in Bruges
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely spot on the canals in the heart of medieval Brugge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We loved this charming and quaint hotel just overlooking several Brugge canals and within a very short walking distance to several wonderful pleins, good restaurants and wonderful old bars. The rooms were comfortable, clean and had lots of character. Staff was friendly and breakfast was very nice. Highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Higher floors are probably quieter...you could hear the wooden floors above our room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    558
    115
    22
    14
    7
See reviews for
58
503
20
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We booked this as an anniversary escape and were delighted when we arrived. Staff were friendly and very helpful. The room was cosy, comfortable and with loads of pillows! Breakfast was excellent and just kept on coming and the whole experience close to the centre of Bruges was a great success. I would recommend this to anyone. It is a boutique hotel and it is in the centre of Bruges in an amazing location so of course the price reflects this but it was certainly not overpriced in my view.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kigali, Rwanda
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I visited the Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce with my mum and sister for a special birthday celebration (the big 3-0!), and we really enjoyed our stay. The staff were extremely affable and helpful, without being over the top, and the service was professional yet personal. The location is excellent (despite the dubious shop down the lane!), and the view from the breakfast room over the canal is lovely. Our rooms were superb - lots of space, some interesting artwork, and WiFi. The breakfast room was compact, but served pastries, cereals and fresh fruit, as well as the option of a cooked breakfast and waffles. Overall we had a really relaxing stay here, and would definitely come back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I booked this hotel over Easter as it looked stunning, had very favourable reviews and was extremely cheap at Easybook for the time we stayed. The staff were incredibly helpful, English-speaking and very eager to help us plan our itinerary. They allowed us to store our bags without charge on the last day after we had checked out.

Very central, very clean; we stayed downstairs in a room with no view sadly, but it was spacious, quiet and beautifully decorated. The breakfast is horrendously expensive, even for Bruges prices, so we dipped out of that; £25 euro a head! Close by in the Gingerbread tea room(10min walk) which will do amazing continental brekkie at a quarter the price

Would book again though, maybe not at full price though!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Our positive experience with this hotel started long before we stayed with them. I had a number of questions regarding airport car service from Brussels and luggage (we were travelling with a large bike box) and I made several inquiries via email. This hotel was very prompt in their response, very informative and extremely helpful. They booked and coordinated a quality car and driver service for us and simply added it to our hotel bill. All of the staff we met were very professional, friendly and helpful (with a strong command of English which was so helpful for us). The hotel is very well located on the canal, close to the Markt and many lovely restaurants. No fridge in the room (we missed this), but they made up for it with quick service, ice buckets, etc. In general a beautiful hotel, quality clean room, nice bathroom and toiletries. We loved our stay and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We liked this hotel for the same reasons many others have mentioned. Great location, charming interior and exterior, modern amenities, friendly staff. However, we were put off by their charges for coffee and water.

We stayed two nights. The second day, we noticed the bottle of water that was there when we checked in was not replaced after we drank it, so we called and asked for one. We were surprised at check-out to be charged EUR 6.95 for this and EUR 4.45 for a cup of coffee. The water was only 500 cl in size I believe, but any charge at all was a bit much for the second day. The coffee might be normal room-service coffee pricing, but many hotels now have coffee service in the room so not only do you not have to order and wait, but you don't get charged. Both other hotels in which we stayed on this trip (5-star) had pod-style machines in the room.

One other minor quibble. The (very small) safe in the room was not attached at all to the closet shelf on which it sat and could have easily been picked up and carried off. One can't really just walk in off the street in the place, but it would feel more secure if the safe was not portable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I was in Belgium on business but made a few days for personal travel with my wife. First of all, the town of Brugge is just beautiful. We wanted to stay close to the city center so we chose this hotel. (I won't lie, we saw the movie "In Bruges" and were influenced by it to stay there)... Even with GPS, getting to the hotel due to the street arrangements is not the easiest so plan in advance. But the challenge is part of my compliment... I parked at a deck and walked to the hotel. The moment I arrived, Frederick and Isabel (spelling?) were so genuine and welcoming, Frederick insisted on walking back in the cool weather to the parking deck and driving me to the private hotel parking. What a great impression they left on us regarding the hotel and the city. And then later that night, Johan (spelling?) was equally welcoming with restaurant ideas. We stayed in a Class Room (#21). I was glad we spent a little more on that room because I thougth the canal view was well worth it. Of course the rooms are not huge but that was not a drawback at all due to it's beauty, style and scenery. I have nothing but fond memories, compliments to the owners and staff and look forward to going back some day.

Room Tip: We loved the canal view. I actually took a good photo of my wife from the hotel window. I walked ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel

Address: Wollestraat 41 - 47, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#7 Family Hotel in Bruges
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic boutique hotel housed in extraordinary waterfront residence, decorated with antiques, objects of art and luxurious fabrics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Despegar.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce Bruges
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce Hotel Bruges

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.