We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, clean and quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Lace Hotel to your Saves list
Lace Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   't Zand 5, Bruges 8000, Belgium (Formerly De Markies)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #92 of 101 Hotels in Bruges
Worcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Modern, clean and quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

We stayed at the Lace Hotel as part of a package with Seafrance. We have stayed in Brugge many times, but never before at the Lace hotel. Although our room was not available when we arrived the reception staff were happy to allow us to leave our bags in the room as it was cleaned. Reception staff were fine although they did have some difficulty with programming the room key which meant two trips up and downstairs for us. We were impressed with the standard room which was modern and very clean. the bathroom was adapted for disabled folk so no bath, the shower was sufficient for our needs. The bed was comfortable and the TV has UK channels. The room was at the back of the hotel which meant that it was very quiet. As the front of the hotel overlooks t'Zand and several busy bars rooms there may be more lively! The breakfast was a choice of cereals, cheeses, cooked meats and various breads along with the usual croissants and pastries. There was always a wide choice, even when the staff were getting ready to put things away. The staff were friendly and chatty. The location is ok.. just a short walk into the town centre. We didn't try the bar or restaurant so we are unable to comment. All in all an enjoyable stay, and we would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    43
    39
    26
    20
See reviews for
21
70
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

When the price was quoted for our stay here I had my reservations, but it was only a few weeks before christmas and it was either this or one of the big 4 or 5* hotels so we went for it.
It turns out it was a great value for money hotel offering all you need for a weekend stay in Bruges.
We had luxury rooms which we're great as you had extra space to chill out in. I did sneak a peak at the standard rooms which are compact but more than sufficient for a city centre room and for the price on offer.
The breakfast is a good quality continental buffet, fresh and varied.
The location is good, a 10 minute stroll
from the train station and a leisurely stroll up to the main square. There is enough on offer with in a few yards of the hotel to stay close in the evening and the hotel bar and restaurant is fantastic.
I would definitely recommend this place for couples or small families.
We will go back for sure sometime in the next year or two.



  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

This is a lovely hotel, clean, contemporary in a perfect location from the railway and the main square. The breakfast was fantastic and the belgian cappuccinos in the Restaurant were out of this world!

The only thing at fault is the reception staff - they were just not switched on at all and made several mistakes and were easily confused!

overall, I would DEFINITELY stay again!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

Great, small boutique hotel. We had a suite on the first floor, great mix of old and new. Room well presented, equipped and very clean. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Great central location, close to the station and all the best tourist sites. Good continental breakfast. Spoil yourself in the Lace restaurant and champagne bar next door, great for a celebration! Really can't fault this hotel and we are massively fussy!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

The Lace Hotel is a lovely contemporary boutique hotel,our room was a luxoury double on the third floor and provided all we needed,clean,plenty of towels, lovely bathroom good hairdryer and magnifyed vanity mirror, the staff were very obliging Breakfast very good and very fresh buffet style cant give enough praise for this lovely hotel located about ten minutes from Market square...........10/10

Room Tip: Go for luxury double or a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huizen, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

This hotel is a perfect 10! Located on 't Zand you are not more than 5 minutes away from all the good stuff in Brugge.

We stayed in a suite on the third floor. The room was very good. TV, drawers, good beds, nice bathroom, enough room for 2. The only downside was the airco not working sufficiently.

Breakfast is served in a very comfortable and new room at ground level. Everything looks nice and clean. Breakfast is perfect. Different types of bread, cheese, meat, eggs, drinks, etc. All fresh and good!

Staff was friendly and very helpful.

This hotel I would recommend to anyone visiting Brugge!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

The room was no bigger then a broom cupboard and the bathroom was miniscule.Very basic but clean. The room was at the back of the hotel so we didn't experience any noise but avoid room 19 if checking into this hotel! As someone else has said the website pics are very deceiving.
Breakfast was adequate with very fresh bread plus a selection of meats,cheese,yogurts etc.
The only good thing about this hotel was its central position.Other than that I would not recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lace Hotel

Address: 't Zand 5, Bruges 8000, Belgium (Formerly De Markies)
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 101 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Lace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Markies Bruges

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.