We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great property , what great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Die Swaene

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Die Swaene to your Saves list
Die Swaene
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Steenhouwersdijk, Bruges 8000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 101 Hotels in Bruges
Aspen, Colorado
1 review
“What a great property , what great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

First of all, Brugge is a 10 out of ten, a must see wonderful city. So much fun to walk around and great restaurants, churches, museums, all in a beautifully preserved medieval little town. This property is a great find, and a real treat, right on a canal with great rooms, and views. Excellent location, breakfast was top notch, and the restaurant is really nice. The staff are so nice, and helpful. "Lievan" (rhymes with Steven) runs the property and is a five star rare find, someone who cares and goes out of his way to make your stay over the top great. Look no farther, this is a great choice for Brugge. I rarely post a review, but this property is a true gem.

Room Tip: Ask to stay on the canal, top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    88
    40
    17
    11
See reviews for
29
207
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed here over 25 yrs ago, before we got married and always vowed to return. We have finally retuned on our silver wedding year and was so pleased to see the hotel was still in the same manner to which we had previously visited. Service is excellent, first class, rooms very ornate and spotless. I recommend a canal view and the hotel is perfectly situated for the city and makes for an absolutely wonderful stay. This time we brought our daughter and fiance and they enjoyed the hotel just as much as we did. we will certainly return but this time a bit sooner.

Room Tip: request a canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Poor lighting, by beds and overall. Poor shower spray. Toilet in another room from sink.swinging double doors to bath.Asked for Down pillows, they never appeared. Turn down at night but failed to pick up soiled towels. Noisy with your tour boats on canal.

Room Tip: Facing canal hig up floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here just one night whilst visiting Bruges. The staff were polite and helpful.
Hotel is beautiful inside with a lovely room with piano and open fire to sit, relax and have a drink.
Hotel is in a great location. Close to the burg and some beautiful views.
I highly recommend this hotel, a little gem in the heart of Bruges.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is in a perfect location, just a stroll away from the main market square. We booked a deluxe room with canal view and wasn't dissapointed! With two large windows that looked out onto the canal and a separate bathroom/toilet it was very spacious.
The hotel staff were very attentive, especially Melissa who couldn't do enough for us and recommended some fabulous places to eat.
If you want a short romantic break this is just the place.
The only grumble we had was the price of the breakfast, a bit steep at €20 p/p, but you can order special coffees and the freshly squeezed orange juice was very good.
Would definitely go back..would have been easier to fly into Brussels airport not cheleroi as the train doesn't go there (we found this out after getting the train to the airport - the wrong airport) ha but all part of our adventure :-)

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

Having stayed at a number of Hotels in Brugges this is the one we always return to., fretted on arrival by one of the charming and helpful,staff. Luggage immediately taken to room and car whisked away to be parked by Levan. Buffet breakfast amazing . Rooms very comfortable and most with view over canal. We will return

Room Tip: We love 45 on 1st floor overlooking canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

If you want to make your stay in Brugge truly special then try this hotel. Everything about it speaks of history, relaxing in style and luxury. The rooms are of generous size and the furniture throughout the hotel is antique and reflects attention to detail. Ask for a room with view of the canal, it is so scenic. You will see the riverboats going by all day, loaded with tourists,but this stops in the evening. I very much recommend going down to the breakfastroom in the morning. The whole breakfast experience is so relaxed and welcoming, with the hotelstaff being helpful and discreet. An extensive choice of options and if you want something not on the menu, just ask the staff. Check-in and check-out were both quick,easy and stressfree. This hotel is also located quite centrally and the shops and sights are all within easy walking distance. On checking in you will receive a reduction card that gives you a small discount on several attractions for the duration of your stay, and these reductions do add up quickly! Be sure to use it to buy tickets for thw canaltours, and then watch out for the famous sleeping dog ...

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the canal for nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Die Swaene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Die Swaene

Address: Steenhouwersdijk, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#52 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Die Swaene 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Die Swaene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Die Swaene Bruges
Die Swaene Hotel Bruges

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Die Swaene, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.