We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back again and still not disappointed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Duc de Bourgogne

Save Saved
You added Duc de Bourgogne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Duc de Bourgogne
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Huidenvettersplein 12, Bruges 8000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 101 hotels in Bruges
manchester
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Back again and still not disappointed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

We love this hotel, we have stayed on 2 occasions now and both times in room 3 which has the best view over the canal and across to the beer wall. We arrived from Hull, to the hotel at about 10a.m and our room was ready for us giving us chance to,freshen up before exploring Bruges. Breakfast was continental but fine with plenty of croissants, bread, cheese, ham and boiled eggs with the best view you could wish for, we will be back!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    63
    26
    18
    13
See reviews for
19
108
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This was our second visit to Bruges and on our first trip we saw this amazing hotel and decided to book it this time round . As we are now in december as we entered the hotel it was decorated with lovely unique festive decorations , it looked amazing !! The staff were kind enough to let us store our baggage before & after our check in / out which on a city break is most helpful ( nothing worst than carting round your suitcase) the decor is lovely and traditional but could do with some touch ups here and there ;) .

We ordered a hot chocolate one afternoon in the hotel after a long walk around the city, it was lovely a huge pot (5 cups ) and a plate of yummy biscuits came our way. The breakfast was also upto a good standard and served in the best dinning room ive been in for a long time .the hotel fees so homely and quaint but has a lovely look of an old stately home . I would recommend this hotel hands down anytime :-)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thame, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Four of us have just returned from a 4 day break to brugge.We stayed in the Hotel Duc de Bourgogne.You could not wish for a better location,Friendly staff,Rooms a bit small but ample.Excellent views from dining room overlooking the canal,Would definatly stay there on our next visit

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

As we were walking down to the hotel (did not know which one it was), saw people taking picture of some nice buildings over a canal. Turns out that was the hotel... the room was quite victorian with views of the canal, with lights and all looked really nice. The restaurant where the breakfast is served is really charming, service is super, very friendly staff. Price wise quite good as well. Think this was one of the best choice for Burges. Although everything in Bruges is walking distance, the belfry from the hotel is just around the corner. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Take the rooms with Canal View
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This hotel is in the centre of Bruges and has a lot of charm with the breakfast room a sheer delight. The only problem that we had was that we were told we could drive there and park in the courtyard to unpack our bags, then drive to a nearby underground car park and pay for a 24 hour stay (just 8.70E). We arrived on a Saturday afternoon, to crowded streets and when we got to the hotel we could not get near it for stalls selling crafts. Leaving my partner with the car I brought the bags into the hotel and was told the underground car park would be full and I could either find a car parking space somewhere and go back every four hours to add money OR drive back to the station and catch a free bus back to the centre of Bruges. We chanced the underground parking and a very nice local man explained if you wait a little you can get in...which we did. Apart from this the hotel was comfortable, the staff pleasant and breakfast delicious and everything was just a short step outside so no complaints there.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are basic, don't expect too much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

What a fantastic hotel, so old fashioned and charming. Had a spacious double room with a large ensuite. The breakfast was amazing sat overlooking the canal, such a selection! The staff were very kind and the hotel was clean. They even let us store our bags for the day. Would definitely return and tell everyone about this lovely hotel really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed here on Sept. 11, 2012. My room was very nice and looked out on one of the canals. This hotel dates back several hundred years and has an ambiance of old silver, leather, northern European art, tapestries and centuries of hand-worn hardwood. The food was quite good and the price was reasonable for Europe--161.50 Euros for one Monday night stay. Breakfast was included. It is in the heart of the old city but is an easy taxi shot from the train station. I would describe Brugge (Bruges) as Euro-cute and touristy. I was pleasantly surprised the prices were not higher.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Duc de Bourgogne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duc de Bourgogne

Address: Huidenvettersplein 12, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 101 hotels in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Duc de Bourgogne 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Duc de Bourgogne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duc De Bourgogne Bruges
Duc De Bourgogne Hotel Bruges

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duc de Bourgogne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.