We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely food, carpets needed hoovering” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Erasmus

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bruges
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Erasmus
Save
You added Hotel Erasmus to your Saves list
Wollestraat 35, Bruges 8000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #150 of 213 Bruges B&B and Inns
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“lovely food, carpets needed hoovering”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

When we first arrived we were a little unsure, it sounds daft but the carpets really needed hoovering there were bits all over. The radiators also needed painting, it looked a bit neglected, but the food was wonderful i had a lovely steak in peppercorn sauce. We ate out in the back room. while we were there at least 4 or 5 people came in but beacuse there were no staff to great them after a while they ended up leaving. i think the hotel would benefit from staffing that back room better as they lost business also simple things like hoovering and touching up the paint work would really improve first impressions. The food is so nice the appearance and staffing doens't do it justice.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    29
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
10
32
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stony Brook, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

I traveled here some time ago with my Dad on a trip through Belgium. Small, modern, very nice, pretty quiet. The hotel owner was a really nice guy, and actually one of the most pleasant parts of staying here. The integrated restaurant and bar was fantastic. I asked him about the name of the place, and a few hours later, we were still drinking beer and talking philosophy and history with him; he waved me away when I tried to pay for the drinks, saying that is basically why he redid the place and named it what he did; he was trying to add some nice culture and cultivate a good mentality and a good place to stay when in Brugge.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

I stayed here for 3 nights, in June 2004, so this is a much belated review. The room I stayed in was modestly furnished, and the bed too cramped against a wall. Bathroom was clean and well equipped. The restaurant was good but a bit expensive. Hotel was located in city centre, near main square and walking distance to the museums and cathedral. I would recommend this hotel for budget travellers who want a central location with good restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

I stayed here with my husband for 2 nights.
The location is wonderful. Right on a main street in Bruges a block or two away from the main square, and the view from our room was amazing! There was street noise during the day, but it wasn't a bother at night. This hotel is said to be a great hotel for beer lovers. We were on a beer trip to Belgium, and it is true that the hotel's restaurant has a good beer selection. But I don't see how you can say that the hotel itself is good for beer lovers - just the restaurant part.
The room was small, as was the bathroom. The biggest problem we had with this hotel was the bed. I know that many european hotels just push two twin beds together to make a queen bed, but this was horrible. It wasn't just two twin mattresses pushed together, but two twin beds, complete with wooden bed frames. That meant that there was a BIG and uncomfortable gap in the middle of the bed, that actually HURT to lay on because the wood from the sides of both beds stuck into you. So my husband and I each had to lay on our own side of the bed. Even doing that, the gap widened during the night as the beds pushed apart.
There was supposed to be internet in the room, but it didn't work. We had to go down the restaurant to use internet.
The staff speaks English, the restaurant was pretty good, and the location was great.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwood815
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

I recently went to Bruges with my wife and baby daughter and during the course of our visit we stopped at Hotel Erasmus. The waiter asked if we were stopping for lunch or just drinks. We said we were just stopping fro drinks. The waiter then looked down his nose at us and said 'oh English'. We were then left to sit at our table feeling awkward while others came in and were served and received their drinks. After 30 minutes of being ignored by the waiter we decided to leave.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

Located in the heart of the old town, on the canal. The owner can give you advice on the various local chocolate stores that are so unique.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

We found our stay here to be great! The location was perfectly located to all the restaurants, shopping and things to do. If you are a light sleeper, the noise outside at night might bother you. It didn't bother me, though. The bed was very comfortable and the room had a great view of the street below. The owner was very friendly and helpful when we had questions about where certain things were.

We also ate in the restaurant downstairs for dinner one night. It was a little pricey, but very tasty. I would recommend eating there if you want to splurge a little.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Erasmus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Erasmus

Address: Wollestraat 35, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #150 of 213 B&Bs / Inns in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Erasmus is a small family-run hotel in the cultural center of Bruges. On the street level there is a gastro restaurant. With up to 16 beers on tap, Erasmus is known for its great selection and diversity of fine Belgian beers. Personal service and spotless comfort is the essence of Erasmus Hotel. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Erasmus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.