We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ter Duinen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ter Duinen to your Saves list
Hotel Ter Duinen
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Langerei 52, Bruges 8000, Belgium   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 101 Hotels in Bruges
Weybridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Friendly hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We had a nicely decorated nice room overlooking the canal with en-suite bath. The hotel is clean and well-cared for by friendly staff who seemed to take pride in their work. It was about ten minutes walk from the centre of Bruges but there is also a bus stop outside with regular services to the city centre and railway station.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,109
    273
    30
    9
    6
See reviews for
247
966
25
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We stayed in a very pleasant room on the top floor overlooking the canal. Newly decorated and fitted out comfortably with a very nice ensuite/shower room. Warm and comfortable. Very adequate and generous continental breakfast; boiled egg being the only cooked offering available. Very friendly and helpful proprietor and staff. Thank-you: your hotel is heartily recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

We decided to take my mother on a family trip for Easter and were looking for an easy walking city with great food and sites. Bruges was a fantastic choice and the service at the Hotel Ter Duinen made it even more special. The breakfast buffet was excellent, the rooms were extremely comfortable and spotlessly clean (we had the top floor family room and double room) and every person greeted us with a smile. It is the perfect location to wander about the beautiful city enjoying all it has to offer. I would highly recommend!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We recently spent 3 nights at Hotel Ter Duinen. From the moment we booked we couldn't have asked for better service. Upon arriving we were made very welcome and lots of local tips/advice were freely offered. The breakfast is an experience - divine food, venue and service. Nothing ever seems to be a problem. The actual location is also special. We had a room overlooking the canal and would wake in the morning to church bells ringing and horses clip clopping along the streets (traffic noise minimal). To us - the location, the service and the rooms reflected authentic Bruges and not just another inner city hotel. We made the booking as a result of Trip Advisor reviews and we're so pleased we did. Of the 3weeks we had in Europe this hotel would have to be the best overall experience we had.

Room Tip: If you can, choose a room overlooking the canal - we slept with the windows open and enjoyed waking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrotham
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

My wife and I stayed 3 nights this week. Of the many hotels we've ever stayed in Ter Duinen stands at the top. It's in a delightful position far from the madding crowds but within easy walking of the Markt;X. What is the key to the success of the owners Marc and his charming wife? Well they've run the hotel for 37 years and have supervised every detail to match their own exquisite taste. The rooms small but immaculate, the conservatory delightful; the breakfast to die for, the service impeccable but above all the courtesy and charm of our hosts and their staff. Nothing could have been more trouble - from a guide to favourite restaurants, areas to visit even to Marc driving us to the embarkation point for the steam wheeler boat to Damme
Restaurants / cafes most enjoyed;Oudh Hand Bogenhoff, close to the hotel but closed Tuesday and Wednesdays; Den Amand,St Armandstr; Souffleur Wantestraat ( both non touristy) and in Damme, Tante Marie selling the most delicious pastries and good food

Outstanding hotel - one to visit time and time again

Room Tip: All rooms quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

I found this hotel on trip advisor. I did not have any previous knowledge of Bruges and where to stay. The hotel staff, particularly the lovely gentleman on the front desk was no end of help to me, both before I arrived and when I stayed there. I was travelling with my husband and three small sons so needed a place which would accommodate us and our needs. This hotel is just perfect and a great distance to the centre of Bruges, but tucked away so that you can have a short leisurely stroll to get there and no noise at night.
One of its strongest positives is the beautiful Winter Garden conservatory where you have breakfast. Its stunning. High recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

It was our first ever visit to Bruges and we booked a 2 night stay at Hotel Ter Duinen because of the lovely reviews on here. What a fantastic hotel with fantastic hosts! Warmly welcomed as we arrived and they couldn't do more to help us. Maps, restaurant recommendations, tips on things to do during the day etc..nothing was too much trouble.
Our hotel room was of a very high standard. Exceptionally clean and I think we had the softest duvet of all time! We were on the third floor so had a lovely view over the town from our little balcony. The breakfast was outstanding! The best continental I've ever had. Lots of choice and the lady insisted she brought us everything fresh from the kitchen even though the food and juices out were perfect.
Beautiful location right on the canal with only a 10minute walk to the main square and all of what brilliant Bruges has to offer. Only got home last night and can't wait to return! :-)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ter Duinen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ter Duinen

Address: Langerei 52, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bruges
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ter Duinen 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very charming hotel along a beautiful canal in medieval Brugge. Superb buffetbreakfast, free wifi and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Ter Duinen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ter Duinen Hotel
Ter Duinen Bruges

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ter Duinen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.