We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ter Duinen

Save Saved
You added Hotel Ter Duinen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Ter Duinen
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Langerei 52, Bruges 8000, Belgium   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 101 hotels in Bruges
Bingley
1 review
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at the hotel & our first trip to Bruges. The hotel was spotlessly clean & the owners are very friendly & attentative. Whilst it is 10-15 mins walk to the centre of Bruges the hotel is in a lovely tranquil position. Breakfast was served in the lovely dining room with a large selection of bread& jams, fresh fruit, cereal, yoghurts, cheese & ham & boiled eggs cooked to your liking.The only slight gripe is the cost of car parking on top of what you pay for the room but you do get your own garage with a locking door.We will hopefully return one day when the weather is warmer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,218 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    944
    238
    23
    8
    5
See reviews for
208
817
22
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed one night while passing through Bruges. Great location & outstanding service as others have noted. All of the staff are very helpful, they and the owners go out of their way to ensure your stay in the hotel, and Bruges generally, is a good one. Breakfast was great also. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for one night on our way back to the UK. It is only 1 hour from Bruges to the euro tunnel terminal at Calais, so it made a very convenient stop over with a chance to explore the delights of Bruges. Ter Duinen is a very comfortable and friendly family run hotel with a quiet canal side location and easy walking distance to the town centre. The rooms were nicely appointed and the breakfast was lovely. There is secure parking available if requested.
We would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This was our second stay at the Hotel Ter Duinen and I am sure we will stay there again next time we go to Brugge.

Marc and Lieve create a warm and friendly atmosphere with an emphasis very much on great service, from the welcome email they send with useful information, to answering the questions you might have,nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are very comfortable with everything you need including extra pillows and blankets. The inclusive buffet breakfast, in the beautiful dining room with fresh flowers on the fireplace and Mozart playing in the background, sets you up well for a full day of sight seeing or canalside strolling.

The hotel is in a lovely quiet location along the Langerei canal, near the OLV ter Potterie Museum and is about a 10-15 minute walk from Markt and the centre, or a 4 or 14 bus (buy tickets in advance for €1.20 - on the bus they are more expensive) - after 8pm the road, although it is a "main" road is very quiet so even if you have a room at the front of the hotel there is not too much traffic noise.

We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely return and have no hesitation whatsoever in recommending the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Lovely, clean and spacious rooms, charming and helpful staff and well placed to explore Bruge.

The personal touch in the form of confirmation emails and offers of assistance, really help to make a stay here an easy and enjoyable event. I will definitely recommend to my friends and will visit again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Lovely small hotel with the personal touch, nothing was too much trouble for the husband and wife team. Peaceful location but only a ten minute walk from the centre, plus the bus stops just outside. We reserved a lock -up garage which was located a two minute walk from the hotel, a definite must as parking is limited in the immediate area. The hotel was perfectly presented, all decoration and furnishings were to a high standard making for a great stay. All in all this the hotel and staff deserve more than a three star rating!!

Room Tip: We reserved a canal view room which was perfect, and as a little way out of the centre of town does...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed two nights. I was first impressed after we booked and received an email asking about our requirements. When I responded my email was acknowledged personally confirming they had reserved a garage space for our car. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The owner even taking the time to run out in to the street after us in the morning to recommend his favourite walking route past the windmills in to the centre (which we took and it was lovely). Breakfast was a lovely relaxing experience setting us up for the day. It is a 10 to 15 minute walk to the centre of Bruges but is in a very pretty spot on the canal so this is not a hardship. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: Worth paying a little extra for a canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Ter Duinen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ter Duinen

Address: Langerei 52, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bruges
#2 Business Hotel in Bruges
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ter Duinen 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very charming hotel along a beautiful canal in medieval Brugge. Superb buffetbreakfast, free wifi and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Ter Duinen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ter Duinen Hotel
Ter Duinen Bruges

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ter Duinen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.