We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Leopold

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Leopold to your Saves list
Leopold
Hoogste van Brugge 2, Bruges 8000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 101 Hotels in Bruges
sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“average”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

If steep stairs are a problem, avoid it. Room was clean but very small and bathroom was smelly (appeared clean). Pretty central to most sights etc.. Staff weren't terrible friendly.

Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    49
    17
    10
    4
See reviews for
19
59
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Düsseldorf
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

Superb location and a very nice family Bed & Breakfast Hotel with good breakfast. The room was for 4 people and it was very clean, spacious with a small kitchen with dining table, Flatscreen TV with satellite. Warm welcome from the owners and their dog. Just be prepard for narrow stairs up to you room but it's ni big deal, it´s charming. We will stay here again, for sure!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, Cambridgeshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2009

The Leopold was such good value for money that we were worried! We were very pleasantly surprised. The friendly owner waited up for us even though we were 2 hours later than we had promised, and the drive from Calais only took 1 hour 15 mins. Our room was upgraded without our asking; it was clean, modern and comfy. The breakfast buffet was fresh and plentiful. As has been pointed out in other reviews, the stairs are precarious, but that didn't matter. The owners were helpful, fluent in English and relaxed. The dog was even more relaxed!
As the hotel is located on T'Zand square, it is in the heart of the city. Bruges is gorgeous; clean, tidy, walkable, with good beer. What more could we have asked for!

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2009

We were looking for a small, b&b-style hotel in Bruges for a weekend get-away from London with our two small children. We wanted a place that could afford us a separate room for the kids and would also be walking distance to the old town and the rail station (as we were planning to arrive by rail and we weren't planning to rent a car). We selected Hotel Leopold on the basis of the good reviews on this site and elsewhere and we also just liked the look of the place from the pictures posted online. Boy were we pleased with our choice. Although initially intimidated by the entrance through the restaurant / bar, once we got to reception we found the staff very friendly. Although we had reserved a 2 bedroom "family room" with a kitchenette we found ourselves "upgraded" to a small three-story house a few doors down from the main hotel. This house not only had the two bedrooms we needed but also a full kitchen and separate dining / living room. Although the steps up were steep, our kids quickly got used to them. We found this a great base from which to explore the city and having the kitchen was a great help, especially with small kids. We loved it and will definitely stay there again the next time we go to Bruges.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2009

We were quite happy with our one-night stay here. It was well-located, reasonably priced and the owner was very friendly. Breakfast was good and the room was clean and well-maintained, though as mentioned, quite 'cozy'.
My only complaint would be the stairs which were not great for lugging luggage up and down.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2009

very well located, near city center.
The staff is helpfull with indications. The manager speaks english, french and dutch. The rooms are tiny, with clean bathrooms and showers. no air ccond...and remember that they are lots of bugs in brugges...the windows don't have screens!!! Could get anoying in the summer.

Be aware that the stairs are quite difficult to use with a suitcase.

Hotel Leopold is a small, cheap but nice bed and breakfast afterall.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2009

This hotel is at the Zand Square, which sits atop the town's underground parking garage and across from the train station. It was the perfect location for us, especially since we arrived by car. From we were a few steps away from several bars and restaurants, and could walk anywhere in the city. The owners were very friendly. The breakfast was included in our rate and it was good (bread, cheeses, cold cuts, eggs, cereal, etc). The owners' dog (Box) which roams around the reception area looks menacing, but is extremely quiet and friendly. He will completely ignore you unless you want to play with him, something which will make him very happy. Our room was tight, but comfortable. Bathroom looked like it had been recently remodeled. Our room was on the second floor, and the spiral stairway that lead us up was extremely narrow and steep. It wasn't a problem for us, but I could see where some travelers could have some issues with it. I would definitely stay again at this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Leopold? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leopold

Address: Hoogste van Brugge 2, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Budget Places, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Leopold reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leopold Hotel Bruges
Leopold Bruges

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leopold, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.