We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable hotel in a reasonable location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Portinari Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Portinari Hotel to your Saves list
Portinari Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   T Zand 15, Bruges 8000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 101 Hotels in Bruges
High Wycombe, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Reasonable hotel in a reasonable location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

The Portinari is quite a nice hotel, but not exceptional. There are good points and bad.

The location is about 10 minutes walk from all the main attractions of Bruges - which was good. One of the main Bruges car parks (under t'Zand square) has a pedestrian entrance just outside the door - so is perfect for the Portinari. Getting into the car park is a little tricky - it is easy to miss its entrance, which is off the main road as it goes under the square in a tunnel.

Breakfast was excellent. A buffet with a reasonable range of dishes. The breakfast room gets a bit busy at times - we had no problem as we tend to go for a reasonably early breakfast, but it was busy by we finished.

Having to pay extra for internet access is not good! In this day and age, decent free wifi for hotel guests should be the norm. Wifi wasn't especially reliable either - it was down for quite a few hours whilst we were there. Fortunately many local restaurants and cafes do have free wifi - so you don't have to rely on the hotel.

There was a little building work going on in front of the hotel whilst we stayed but this was no problem.

Just outside the hotel, there is a row of restaurants and cafes - the one we used was very good, and pricing was a little lower than in the historic centre of Bruges.

The worst part of our stay was the size of our room, which was very cramped. It was described as a "standard" room, so we didn't expect a large suite, but we did expect room to open the suitcase - or even stand it out of the way when we weren't using it.

Bathroom was OK. Clean and adequate, shower only, no bath.

Our room was at the back of the hotel - with a view over the rooftops of Bruges - including the spires and towers of the historic city. The various bells don't ring overnight (fortunately) and the hotel was quiet, so we got a good night's sleep.

Would I stay there again? Probably, yes. The rate was good, parking was convenient, location was good, the staff were helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: You might get a bit more space if you pay extra for a superior room - our standard room was very cra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane B, General Manager at Portinari Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Martin97uk,
We are very pleased to learn that you will probably stay with us again in the future. Let us clarify once more on the room size:
You have reserved a standard room that is described on our website as follows:
'Reap all the benefits of a four star hotel, and still have enough budget left over to enjoy Bruges to its fullest. Our Standard rooms feature a luxurious, comfortable bed with crisp sheets and a harmonious interior'.
Nowhere we claim that we sell you a palace, you can compare this roomtype with economy class in an aeroplane.
We hope next time you choose a superior room (equals business class) or even better a junior suite (equals first class).
If your budget is important: the standard room is fine (but on the small size), if your comfort is important, please take an upgrade to enjoy your stay in Bruges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    108
    48
    11
    5
See reviews for
37
112
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed here as a party of 5 people ages 75,65,54,45 and 12, nice clean hotel, after paying £230 for 2 rooms thought wifi would be free instead of 2 € for 30 mins. Infact wifi is a problem no matter where you go, they don't even have it in restaurants , apparently it's Incase the staff use it instead of working. ? Room was nice but they did forget to put a put up bed in there for my daughter, but the problem was solved ASAP.

Room was really hot, so I opened the window to find it was very dangerous being on the 4th floor with no bars or anything. I would not stay in this room if I had very young children.
The bathroom was ok, but there was groute missing around the bath which looked rather ugly.
We went for a great meal out to "beer and ribs" then returned to the hotel for coffee about 8.40 pm an sat in the lounge where there are comfy sofas and a tv. We were sat having a chat then my uncle got asked can we please be quiet as there are people in bed? I could understand this if we were actually loud an it was after 10pm but thought a bit odd at 8.40!!
All in all lovely hotel but don't think I would stay there again

Room Tip: Don't get a high room if you have young children. Also no tea/coffee making facilities .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane B, General Manager at Portinari Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear 206Joanne,

First of all thank you for your visit, we have appreciated reading your remarks. We will of course do our best to take them into consideration when refurbishing our hotel. Let me point out though that it is not always possible to please each and every customer. If the room is very hot, you can switch on your airconditioning, if you are afraid falling out of the window. Not every person feels himself comfortable behind bars. '
When sitting in the lounge having 'fun', the customer in the room beside called our night receptionist in a very polite way to ask if this 'noise' could be a little less, since his small children could not get to sleep and they had to check out very early to get their flight. Our receptionist asked you also very polite to be a bit mor quiet. You were never asked to leave or to switch off the television. Just a simple request was made to lower your voices a litlle bit. Had we not done this the other customer could have made a remark on TA, that he stayed in a very noisy hotel.
Once again I will clarify about the coffee (this is a personal opinion of course) A lot of our customers expect to have the service to be able to order 24 hours a coffee or tea of their choice. We brew then a fresh cappuccino or prepare a mint or earl grey tea. Rather then preparing their own pot as if they were in a camper. This is our strategy in a 4 star hotel and trust that most of our customers see it also this way. The missing groute around the bath tub is being replaced.
We would love to welcome you again, whenever you are in Bruges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

This hotel was lovely, even though there was building work going on outside, it never affected our stay. There are also lively bars next door and we thought, oh great, no sleep for us, but there was NO problem with noise. We received a very warm welcome from the man on reception. The rooms were spotless and comfortable and they had full working air con. THe only gripe we would have but not a huge one, the staff on our first morning were very unhelpful when we went for breakfast, there was no where to sit only dirty empty tables, I said there is no where to sit and there is 4 of us, she just shrugged. I asked her to clear a table for us which she did - it took her ages, the milk had run out the coffee machine, she did not want to seem to want to fill it up, However, the exact same thing happened the next day, the waitress was amazing very friendly and efficient and sorted us a table at lightening speed, so I think it is a reflection on the staff rather than the hotel. The breakfast was varied and all meats, cheese, breads, pastries was very fresh. We would recommend this hotel to anyone and if we go to Bruges again we would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: I would recommend a room at the back of the hotel as it might be noisy in the front with bars et
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane B, General Manager at Portinari Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Lisabilly2012,
Thank you for a very sincere and correct review. The staff member on duty on your first morning will be asked for further explanation. It is always possible that a lot of people come in at once, but this can NEVER be an excuse to be less friendly. We are well aware of the fact that in a hotel the most important is the human being. We are also happy to hear that the second morning the situation was managed in a satisfactory way.
Looking forward welcoming you again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Our Company stayed here in late September and the staff, management and facilities are excellent in a most convenient location. We had the benefit of visiting the food festival in the Square as well. We cannot recommend this Hotel too highly - even their patience in sorting out internet connections on misbehaving laptops was exemplary!

Breakfast was plentiful, of good quality and helpfully served.

A truly pleasant experience for a very reasonable rate in a good location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane B, Manager at Portinari Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Sneil2013,
'A truly pleasant experience for a very reasonable rate in a good location' could be the new slogan for our hotel. It is a good experience to find out that people do appreciate our efforts. We hope many more will folow and enjoy what you have quoted so well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed for one night on recent mini break. Our room was on the third floor at the back, clean and comfortable. Bathroom perfectly adequate, with a shower and small bath. Breakfast was fine, plenty of variety including hot food.
Staff were pleasant and helpful, we paid for wifi during our stay, no problems.
As we weren't leaving Brugges until late afternoon luggage was safely stored at hotel.
Although building work at the front of hotel, as mentioned by other reviewers, certainly didn't cause us any problems.
Very central for all attractions, about a 10 minute stroll from the main square (probably much quicker if you don't look in shop windows!)
All in all a very pleasant stay which we wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane B, Manager at Portinari Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear BDT1951,
Clean, comfortable, helpfull, pleasant stay, recommend...are the words we will remember from your review. Gratitude is what you can remember from my comment. Honnesty is what the readers shoul remember.
We try to please all of our guests and are most certainly looking forward welcoming you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

My review does not differ significantly from other recent reviews. The hotel is very well located. Only a few minutes walk from the railway station, and next to the two main shopping streets that run alongside each other to Markt Square. The reception staff are very helpful. Out room was on the 5th floor at the rear, which is an attic conversion with a Velux window. This is made up for with a lovely view over the town Belfry tower and churches. The room itself was more than adequate for our 2 night stay. Shower was on the small side - very small in fact. The bed was perfectly comfortable, and it was very quiet, despite being near to the lift. The breakfast was OK in quality. Was having ours at around 9am, and a lot of the hot food, particularly the eggs, were quite cold. A lot of reviews make mention of the building work at the front. This did not affect me. So overall I was pleased - 4 star however??? Stayed in many better 3 stars. I give it 3+

Room Tip: My 5th floor rear facing room had a great view of the town, but if we were lower down we would only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane B, General Manager at Portinari Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear CIM15,
We thank you for your visit and review that seems very honnest. Everything was OK: location, friendlyness, breakfast, clean... The rating '4 stars' is not ours, we are regularly controled and meet with all the prescriptions of a 4 star hotel. Then again: pêople booking a superior or junor room experience better to stay in a 4-star hotel. So we would be very pleased if for your next visit you reserve a higher category of room type
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
305 helpful votes 305 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

The Portinari Hotel was adequate and functional. We stayed here for 2 nights (Sept 25-26) and thought the hotel was nothing special. The location was great, although the front of the hotel was undergoing construction. Also, while not the fault of the Portinari Hotel, there was roofing construction ongoing at the back of the hotel that woke us up at 7am each morning and kept up the noise throughout the entire day.
The room itself was tiny and the bathroom even tinier. The shower stall was by far the tiniest we have ever seen. My husband could barely fit in the shower stall as it was so awkwardly configured.
The Portinari Hotel provided a good breakfast buffet as part of the price of the stay. We noticed there was a strong odour in the elevator. Not sure if it is the thick carpet that lined the entire elevator, but the smell was very noticeable and unpleasant.
Overall, the Portinari Hotel was very pedestrian, basic and it will not stand out as a highlight of our hotel experiences.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane B, General Manager at Portinari Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear J_M_S_Toronto,

Thank you for your visit. We are pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. You have reserved a standard room that is described on our website as follows:
'Reap all the benefits of a four star hotel, and still have enough budget left over to enjoy Bruges to its fullest. Our Standard rooms feature a luxurious, comfortable bed with crisp sheets and a harmonious interior'.
People that are willing to spend a few euro extra can reserve a superior room equiped with bath tub and shower. It's a pitty that the standard room did not meet your expectation, but we experience more and more that people book the standard and expect always an upgrade free of charge.
The roofing works going on in the city center... We truly can say no more then: this can happen in a city center. When closing the window and swith on the airconditioning could avoid a lot of noise. It is not always possible to sleep in a city whith the rooms wide open without any noise.
We will be very pleased when you visit us the next time you are in Europe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Portinari Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portinari Hotel

Address: T Zand 15, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Portinari Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Portinari Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portinari Hotel Bruges

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portinari Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.