We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Building & Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Azalea Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Azalea Hotel to your Saves list
Azalea Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wulfhagestraat 43, Bruges 8000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 101 Hotels in Bruges
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
384 reviews 384 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
221 helpful votes 221 helpful votes
“Great Building & Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We found this hotel by chance when we arrived in Bruges by camper van and decided we'd like to stay in the centre for a night. Looking at the building, the foyer and breakfast dining room we almost didn't go any further because it looked too expensive for our needs. However, having spoken to the extremely pleasant staff, and later the owner, we decided to look at at the only room available. It was very nice and really not expensive. The staff were very helpful about us parking our camper van in their carpark and made us feel at home. We had a really comfortable night and the next morning were surprised by an excellent breakfast. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    69
    40
    21
    8
See reviews for
20
96
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

I have stayed in this hotel 3 times. Might be a total of 5 months. Its a old building belonging to the 13th century, and they still tried to maintain similar ambiance. On entering you will find an old Piano, an old library and very old publications, mostly in French and Dutch. The employees here are some of the most friendliest and accommodating ones. The breakfast serving hall with wooden floor pulls the past memories out of the box. The front office, does guide you about the activities you can do.

Room Tip: Don't take a room in the ground floor, and prefer canal side or front side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

This place was neat, clean, historical and with some of the friendliest and most accommodating people that I have ever met. We arrived late in the evening and the first person we met was Guy (pronounced Gee), who was manning the front desk. He directed us to our room, referred us to a
wonderful restaurant within walking distance. Later, he gave us the history on the building, as well as shared his own life experiences. We had only planned on staying that evening, but wanted to stay another night. Unbeknownst to us, it was "Taste of Europe" weekend and they only had a one person room. We gladly took it. The hotel provided breakfast every morning. On the wee hours of our departure, Guy even took me and my travelling companion to the airport and had coffee and juice waiting for us when we awoke that morning.
The location is perfect for walking to the belfry and city square. This little hotel also has a bar in the evening hours. It's a wonderful place to meet interesting people. The night before our departure, we went in and met the Belgium bunch (you know who u are!) the couple from "the country in England", and the Amsterdam brothers! We will be back. Thank you for a wonderful stay. Remember to stop and smell the roses. It's a fantastic hotel. The history is great. Thanks Guy!

Room Tip: We weren't in the room long enough to make a difference. There is a lot to see in Bruges.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I am sure in its heyday this hotel was beautiful, but is now very tired. Location excellent a short walk to the main square. The staff were extremely helpful at all times. I would love to see it refurbished as it would be stunning.

Room Tip: Room 19 very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

This is a lovely town house tucked away around 5 minutes' walk from the marketplace, so quiet, with charming staff. However, it is in need of TLC and looks 'tired'. Refurbished, it would be a knockout but would then probably be more expensive.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Petherton, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We had stayed [happily] at the Azalea before so when we planned to visit Bruges for New Year we booked well in advance [October]. After a few exchanges of e-mails to arrange parking, the dog and to get help booking a restaurant we were therefore dismayed to arrive and be told that our booking had not been made.
We were found accommodation at another hotel and the Azalea paid the difference in room rates but our visit was very much not as planned hence the rating for the hotel.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

I found this hotel on Booking.com. It is an old brewery converted into a hotel of 25 rooms - 3 superior rooms and the rest are standard rooms. We had a superior room overlooking the street while the other two looked over the canal and garden. The room was surprisingly very spacious- much larger than I expected. The room was styled in keeping with the period of the brewery and each room was individual. It was very clean and for this time of the year lovely and warm. The bathroom was clean with no evidence of mould or peeling paint/wallpaper which is quite often the case with hotels. The staff were extremely polite and very helpful with directions/enquiries - contrary to other reviews. There is a well stocked bar and prices are very reasonable however you must pay for them when you pay your bill on checking out. The location of the Azalea is perfect for a short walk to the centre of Bruges and its many cafes and restaurants - 5 mins.Overall a very charming establishment and as I am very particular about hotel accommodation I have no hesitation in recommending the Azalea Hotel.

Room Tip: If you can afford it book a superior room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Azalea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azalea Hotel

Address: Wulfhagestraat 43, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 101 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Azalea Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Azalea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azalea Hotel Bruges

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Azalea Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.