We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Azalea Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Azalea Hotel to your Saves list
Azalea Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wulfhagestraat 43, Bruges 8000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 101 Hotels in Bruges
Geel, Belgium
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This hotel is right in the center, very friendly. Good breakfast, comfortable and the service is really friendly and helpful. Nice terrace by the river, next to the bridge. What else can you ask for. We' ve got a very good deal with booking.com
Defenetly I will go back. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: By the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    69
    40
    21
    8
See reviews for
20
96
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wiesbaden, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed here for two nights. The location was pretty neat- in a quiet area, only a few minute-walk to the market square and there were private parking spots available. The interior and the arctitecture of the hotel were old but indeed lovely and the breakfast was pretty decent!! And all of the staff we met there were very kind and nice :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Upon arrival (early) we were met with the most friendly associate who was not only able to give us a two hour early check in but offered us an upgrade to a larger room overlooking the canal because we were celebrating my 50th birthday.

The interior of this hotel is older and well worn in spots but we just Loved all the charm & character it had throughout, I would not change a thing!

The room was clean, spacious and the furniture was comfortable. We were only staying for one night and would be spending most of our daytime hours out walking /seeing the city but it was a very pleasant experience.

The breakfast provided was wonderful with a large selection of fresh bread, cheese, fruit, sliced meet, fruit juice, jams, etc etc - Quite impressive indeed!

We loved the tall ceilings on the main floor and floor to ceiling doors leading into the very charming rooms.

We would not hesitate to stay at the Azalea Hotel again on future visits to Brugge and neither should you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
299 reviews 299 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

A pleasant stay at a formerly elegant hotel that needs a thorough cleanup.

Location is great, between a canal and a quiet street in the centre; would be so much better for mosquito nets on windows, an easy addition that would quickly turn a quiet night into a great night's sleep in summer.

Service and breakfast are good, and price is reasonable. Our room and common areas were clean - much better than others reported - and still quite old and worn out, with 1970 fittings that had been maintained until some years ago and a much older staircase and reading room that keep some hints of what must have been a fascinating hotel decades ago.

It will be great when it will be repaired, hopefully while keeping this atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mur-de-Barrez, France
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Let's start with the great and the good! The staff are lovely, very friendly and very helpful. The hotel is superbly situated and the outside of the building is really cute as is its entrance.
However, that, for us, sadly is where the excitement finished.
We had booked a room overlooking the garden and the canal. The garden is in desperate need of a gardener and being on the canal really needs the hotel to invest in mosquito screens on every window.
The room was warm and therefore an open window was a must, but to get to the next morning covered in mosquito bites is just not acceptable. This particular room was small, and there is a lack of sound insulation between rooms. Poor lady next door to us had a terrible cough all night.
So another room was reserved for us which overlooked the carpark and was much more spacious.
However, what is a complete no-no is that the level of cleanliness was not acceptable at all. The carpets have not only seen better days, but were stained. The sink in our first bedroom did not drain properly, and in the second bedroom the mini bar was not working, and was mouldy on the inside.
In a city which has so many tourists visiting all year round, it is extremely surprising that this should be what lets this hotel down.
When I booked this hotel it was number one on TripAdvisor. Either we had a really unfortunate experience or it doesn't bode well for other hotels.
Would I go back here just for the great location and secure parking? Sadly, and apologetically to Lisa and the other staff, no I would not.

Room Tip: Please do not be tempted to look out over the canal unless on a summer break. You'll be joined b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Our greeting was delightful. The evening porter come barman, a Bruge native was charming and couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. The bar terrace is peaceful and by the river, so lovely for a nightcap. Breakfast is splendid l, rooms adequate.
Well worth it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We absolutely loved our stay at the Azalea Hotel. It was a friendly and comfortable hotel and just ideal for our Bruges stay. The atmosphere and ambience was great. The rooms were comfortable and the experience of eating breakfast in the beautiful dining room overlooking the canal was memorable. The breakfasts were very good.
The room was always kept clean and towels changed every day. The staff were all interested in what we were doing in Bruges each day and when travelling from far away, it is so nice to have this personal contact.
We would definitely recommend this hotel. It may be, as some have said, a little dated, but personally, we found this part of its charm.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the canal and garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Azalea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azalea Hotel

Address: Wulfhagestraat 43, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 101 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Azalea Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Azalea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azalea Hotel Bruges

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Azalea Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.