We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Martin's Brugge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Martin's Brugge to your Saves list
Martin's Brugge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oude Burg 5, Bruges 8000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 101 Hotels in Bruges
london
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Generally this hotel was really good. Great value, great location, very good breakfast. Underground car park very convenient (although 25 Euro is quite steep for a nights parking). The only fault i could find was that the rooms looked a bit tired, in need of a paint, and the bathroom had some cracked tiles. Also doubles were two singles pushed together. All in all for the money and location i would stay again. Bruges is beautiful at Christmas

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    500
    784
    204
    67
    21
See reviews for
174
882
32
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Herne Bay
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

The best thing about this hotel is the location, just behind the belfry meant everything was within walking distance. We had a 'Charming Plus' room which was a good size and in the main part of the hotel at the end where the conference section is and only three rooms on the floor meant little noise. Only issues were we couldn't get in to the room until 4pm but they did open the bar area for us and we had no hot water on the second morning, before we went down for breakfast but it was hot when we returned.
If you are going by car during the Christmas market time do not follow your Sat Nav in if you are arriving on a Saturday or Sunday as they close a lot of the roads due to the amount of people. After driving around for nearly an hour we called the hotel and they guided us in using the following route:
On the ring road take exit 4 Katelijnepoort, follow the signs for centrum, continue straight on to Maria Katelijnepoort, then on to Mariats, you get to Simon Stevin Plein, turn right and you are on Oude Burg, the hotel is just before you get to the end of the road, on your right.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Visited the lovely Xmas market with friends and stayed at Martin's Brugge for 2 nights. The hotel was lovely and staff very pleasant, its central and within a few minutes walk of the main square. It was good value for money and we would definitely stay there again. When we checked in the reception staff gave us a map of the town and were very knowledgeable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cramlington. Northumberland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Right in the centre of the town - this hotel is ideally located for all attractions.

The hotel was lovely & clean - we had a triple room and although it was a little tight it was more than adequate for our 3 night stay.

The food at breakfast time was lovely and the service excellent. The bar in the evening was very pleasant and reasonably priced. The staff were all lovely and very helpful.

Bruges is lovely and very picturesque, the locals all speak several languages and prefer to speak English rather than have us attempt to speak their language!

Delaney's Irish bar is a short walk away and very nice. The food is reasonably priced and the staff are lovely.

Well worth a visit - I'll certainly be going back

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

I spent two nights in this hotel, which is in a great location. It's on the street directly behind the Belfry - so 2 minutes from the square. Everything is walking distance in Bruges, so getting around is easy.
The welcome at Reception was friendly, the staff were helpful with restaurant recommendations and directions. There is a nice bar opposite the Reception area - it's small but very pleasant and has a happy hour 8-9pm as well as various other offers.
The room itself was a good size, comfortable bed, good shower (no bath), good hairdryer, TV. The only thing I missed was tea/coffee making facilities but there are plenty of cafes nearby and it's nice to pick up a hot drink and a waffle in the main square. Also, there is a hair/body wash in the shower but I would recommend bringing your own shampoo etc. The room was quiet apart from the hourly bells from the Belfry but this started at 9am (quite a nice wake-up call!) and finished early evening as well, so it didn't disturb my sleep.
Overall, I really enjoyed staying here and would certainly stay again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

You can’t beat the location! Clean rooms. Modern bathroom. Very efficient front desk. Fun bar at happy hour. Breakfast buffet is ok but we preferred the various café’s, etc. Hard town to get a cup of coffee in before 7am. But, my goodness, what a beautiful city. It is like walking through a postcard! We are so glad we went. The horse carriage through town is worth the money.

Martin’s Brugge was a bargain (and Bruge is not a bargain town!!). We have no hesitation in recommending.

Room Tip: the front desk are great at having a taxi waiting for u when its time to reluctantly leave
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Well to say Bruges is picturesque at this time of year is an understatement! The squares, shops and traditional log cabin market stalls twinkle with festive allure and the smell of mulled wine and scrumptious food fills the air. The sound of the horse and carts making their way through the cobbled streets add to the wonderful atmosphere and the Belfry reminds you when it's time to find a local bar stocked with 400+ Belgian Beers to soothe your weary legs!!

A group of 4 of us made our way to Bruges on 6th Dec for a Christmas Shopping weekend. We went on euro star and the journey there was excellent. The Martins was our hotel of choice and is modern, comfortable and centrally located for exploring. The hotel staff are friendly and there is a lovely seating area with a stunning fire place to take the wait off your feet when you return back from a day around town.

We did not eat in the hotel, however the selection of continental breakfast looked excellent and fair value.

We had a bad experience with the hotel hot water and found on a couple of occasions that the water was stone cold in the mornings. Although a complaint to the hotel manager was necessary, they acknowledged the problem and saw it fit to compensate for the inconvenience.

The rooms are clean, the beds comfortable and furnishings attractive. The hotel is kept clean and has a lovely aroma of scented candles and oils that fill the corridors.

Bruges is not cheap but the hotel is reasonably priced and a very good 3 star rating. I would not hesitate to return!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Martin's Brugge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martin's Brugge

Address: Oude Burg 5, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Bruges
#30 Family Hotel in Bruges
#37 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Martin's Brugge 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Martin’s is situated just behind the famous 13th-century Belfry and 50 metres from the Grote Markt. It benefits from a tranquil terrace, a trendy cocktail bar and all rooms have a flat-screen TV. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. Air-conditioned rooms with a work desk and a minibar are offered at Martin's Brugge. The rooms have a rich décor and some of the rooms boast original features such as wooden beams. Brugge Railway Station is a 15-minute walk from Martin's. The brewery "De Halve Maan" and the Beguinage are both 10 minutes’ walk away. The Arentshuis Museum is less than 300 metres from the hotel.Guests can enjoy regionally inspired dishes prepared with local ingredients, such as fish from the Belgian coast, at Arthie's. During the day a range of light meals and snacks are served. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Otel, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Martin's Brugge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martin`s Brugge Hotel Bruges

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Martin's Brugge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.